We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel Shrikand, A 5 star hotel value in budget rates”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarahan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Srikhand (HPTDC)
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarahan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had 12 days trip to Himachal Pradesh, coveing Shimla & Kinnor dist., Throught our holiday, we have stayed in HPTC hotels, except Raksham

Major plaus point of HPTC hotel that they provide Heater complimentary (Which is must for travellers)

Amazing location of Hotel Shirkand, A fantastic view from balcony of shrikand mahadev peak.

Never expected a government manage hotel to be efficient, neat & clean.

Hotel has located at beautiful location

All the rooms are having good view with attached balcony.

All HPTC hotels are having same menu card and prices available throughout all guest houses across HP.

Room Tip: A 5 star hotel value in budget rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayshreerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Wonderful location, very near to the Bhimkali temple. Offers a majestic view from the rooms. From just next to the hotel you can get a wonderful view of the Shrikand Mahadev peak. Nice clean rooms with all amenities and quite spacious too. They even have made a nice storage area in your rooms for your luggage. Heater was available at the room and hot water was always available in the Geyser. You can order food over the phone and once it is ready they call you to the dining area. Good food with quite a good choice in the menu. Overall a good place to stay at Sarahan. Really worth the money. Rooms can be booked over the net through HPSTDC website. They even courier you the receipt to your home. So you can be sure of your reservation. Ample parking space. Staff were very co-operative and the room service was also excellent. So if one is travelling to Sangla valley or coming back from/to Shimla, this is a nice stopover.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murali_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel has the best location in Sarahan and the view from the room is great. The rooms were clean. The service was super quick. Get any room with balcony. The main difference between a cozy deluxe and a deluxe is mainly about its size. So if that doesn't matter to you, you can go with the cheaper one. But a balcony is a must. The hotel has ample parking space. Good staff and the usual awesome Himachal food. :)

Room Tip: Get any room with balcony. I found the rooms better than cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshishGoyal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed here for a night during our Kinnaur trip in March 2014. I would say this would be the best hotel to stay in Sarahan with ample parking space and the Bhimakali temple at walking distance. We opted for a room on the top floor and it turned out to be the best part after waking up to the magnificient views of Shrikand Mahadev and other snow covered mountains/peaks - we had reached the place after sunset in the dark. The size of the room is huge and we were impressed with the cleanliness and service provided apart from getting a good 35% discount due to off-season. The balcony was also huge and we had sumptuous and very tasty breakfast sitting in the balcony. The dinner was also very tasty and freshly prepared and the room service was very good, with the staff very courteous and helpful.

The checkout time is also very convenient at 12 noon - you can get up early to the magnificent views of the snow covered peaks, go to temple for prayer and darshan, come back and have breakfast and then checkout.

Room Tip: Select the rooms on the top floor for huge rooms with huge balcony and excellent views of the valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AarEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We booked in this hotel through HPTDC internet site, had reluctance while booking because is govt hotel but once we reach, the views from the rooms, location, courtesy of hotel staffs, the simplicity of the small village & the best place to live in that village proved us right to choose this hotel. Rooms are good, spacious & clean. Considering Sarahan is small village, 10 km off the NH, remote location, etc, the facilities provided by this hotel is priceless

Room Tip: ask for valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shyamankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We took the ‘road less travelled’ the Basantpur – Kingal road and then onwards through Rampur to Sarahan. For most of the way, River Sutlej kept us company. Then as we were ascending towards Sarahan from Jeori , the weather became heavy and the chillness turned into real cold weather when we alighted at Hotel Srikhand , Sarahan.
Wow ! What a view even from the lawns. The view of the majestic icy Mahadev peak range looming in front of us.
Sarahan is at the height of 9000 feet . And surprisingly the Hotel run by HPTDC is good for being run as a State run enterprise. We had taken two dbl cozy deluxe rooms with attached private balconies. The rooms are large and have a great view of the icy mountain range. But as luck would have it, there was no power when we reached the hotel late afternoon. The temperature gauge read 3 deg. C. We moved into the restaurant and asked for some coal-warmers to keep us warm. With no electric supply there was no question of any room heaters of use. We found the rooms much colder and dark then the restaurant.
Late evening the rains came and soon this turned into a hail and then a full blown snow fall. The room temperature guage showed nearly 0 deg. C. We were shivering inspite of three pieces of cardigan on us and wearing our gloves . We kept asking the care-taker Manager Mr Shiv kumar about power supply, and he in turn was calling up the local electric supply station for an update on power restoration. Finally around 7.30 pm we got the lights and room heaters to function. What a relief !
The restaurant has a captivating view of the Himalayan range. But all the peaks were cloud covered the first afternoon.
Being the only tourist, the entire hotel staff including the manager were attentive to our needs. In fact the Chef came out to ask us for our choice of dinner. Here the Srikhand special – a sweet hot dish made of milk is highly recommended.
The next morning at day-break the view of the Peaks was simply awesome , majestic and mesmerizing. We had a clear view of the entire Mahadev range – and all our travails to reach Sarahan and of the earlier evening was worth every discomfort.

The Bhimakali temple is just a few feet from the hotel. Parts of the temple date back to the 8th century. The temple is one of the Shaktipeeths . Its Kali deity is also the revered Goddess of the erstwhile rulers Virbhadra Singh and his ancestors. The architecture of the temple is unique – a mix of Hindu and Buddhist . The temple precincts are well maintained but the climb to view the deity is rather steep . My wife almost suffered a frost-bite walking up bare foot.
Sarahan is a must both as a stop-over for those proceeding to Kinnaur or even as a destination.
Unfortunately, the weather was such that we could not venture out to see the town or the bird sanctuary breeding pheasants and the state bird Monal.
Off-season we got a good discount for the rooms. A special mention should be made of Mr Shiv Kumar who was incharge of the hotel. He went out of the way to make us comfortable . For those planning a visit to Hotel Srikhand , his mobile no. is 08894335975. The hotel Telephone no. is 01782- 27423 ; Hotel Srikhand is by far the best option in Sarahan.

Room Tip: The super delux and cozy delux rooms are the best with balconies attached. Rooms are large but the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurenKaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Do not expect a Taj in the mountains.

Location - In front of the Bhim kali temple. The balconies face the mountain range. So you have best of both that can be offered

Food - Food was good. At 9000 feet it was unexpected

Rooms are huge, fully carpeted with good heaters. Bathrooms were big and clean with clean linen.

The balconies could have a bit more security as a fall would mean a straight 200 feet fall down the mountain.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in a group choose semi-deluxe rooms. They are much bigger. Be careful about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmbarC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarahan hotels
0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Snow Flake
#2 of 7 in Sarahan
1 reviews
0 mi away
Bushahr Heights
Bushahr Heights
#3 of 7 in Sarahan
3 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Snowview
Hotel Snowview
#2 of 7 in Sarahan
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Srikhand (HPTDC)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Srikhand (HPTDC)

Address: | Distt Shimla, Sarahan 172102, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Sarahan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sarahan
Price Range: £13 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Himachal Tourism's Hotel Shrikhand is named after the majestic mountain that faces the hotel and 5,536m high Shrikhand peak. The building's architecture has drawn inspiration from the fascinating forms of the famous Bhimakali Temple. The rooms of the Shrikhand hotel over looks the majestic view of the Shrikhand peak and apple orchards. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing