We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Contessa Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Szilvasvarad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel/castle is well renovated, well maintained. In a beautiful location. Spa is great, restaurant beautiful. However staff is not very professional. We met ~15 staff, 4 of whom smiled, the rest just did their job. There is a lot more potential in the place than currently harvested.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank csasze77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    24
    11
    8
    2
See reviews for
27
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Neusiedl am See, Austria
Level Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Well, a wonderful castle, nicely renovated with a wellness and a confetence center added. Almost perfect. But the attitude and friendliness of the personal of the hotel remains the same as thirty years ago: below average.
The food is ok, the waiters also, but the reception...
:(

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I visited as external guest this hotel, that is, I didn't stay overnight, so no experience about rooms.
But, during this day I had the opportunity to use the spa and the restaurant of the hotel.
The restaurant was excellent, finest service, super delicious meals. The spa is quite an average one, with three saunas (with different temperature), a Turkish bath and an interior and outer pool. Here the staff wasn't very kind, at times they had to be asked to switch on the sauna or steam bath that weren't functioning constantly.
The hotel building itself looks fascinating, renovated about 5 years ago and the environment is calm and green.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were in Autumn at La Contessa, and it had a very nice ambient, watching the yellow leaved trees from the luxurious wellness department.
They manage the hotel very professionally. We were late for check-in, and for our dinner, but they waited for us exclusively, and let us have our lunch at 9.30 pm.
The hotel rooms shed mediavel ambient. You feel like prince/princess amongst the beautiful fretworked furnitures.
You may take a walk at the near forrest. In October it was covered with beautiful yellow and red leaves all over the place.
As well, a few minutes drive away is the Szalajka Valley, with the veil waterfall.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have the mediavel ambient, still feels new and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopron, Hungary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

It was our second hotel in the vacation. The hotel and the garden is very nice, perfect. Only the food is little pure. We have tried more hotel in Hungary with 4*, but the food could be better. To have a choice in a breakfast you must weak up early.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glaskatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

4 nights in a beautiful castle hotel with luxury circumstances in green hilly position

Details speak about meeting high standards and managerial care. Recommanded both for couples looking for a relax or ready to make excursions and for team building company events.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pzs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunakeszi, Hungary
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Nice recently renovated casstle hotel with very nicy wllnes area, frendly rooms and a great cousine with lokal specialities. The staff is frendly, polite,but some professional training is still required. It is strongly recommended make excursions in to the mountins and try local food - traut and pálinka - outside of the hotel as well:-)))) There are freindly family run restaurants in the villige too.

Room Tip: Some rooms do have sauna as well. I suggest to stay in the old part and not in the modern. The feeli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Szilvasvarad
0.3 mi away
Szalajka Liget Hotel
Szalajka Liget Hotel
#1 of 2 in Szilvasvarad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Palota
Hunguest Hotel Palota
#1 of 1 in Lillafured
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
14.4 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Bambara Hotel
Bambara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Felsotarkany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harmonia Wellness Villa Szilvasvarad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Contessa Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Contessa Castle Hotel

Property: La Contessa Castle Hotel
Address: Park utca 6, Szilvasvarad 3348, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Szilvasvarad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Szilvasvarad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — La Contessa Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since February 2009, reborn into its earlier magnificence, situated only 25 kilometers from Eger, La Contessa Castle Hotel**** awaits its honored guests in Szilvásvárad.The neo-barock castle, situated in a 7-hectare botanical park offers the elegant and relaxing atmosphere of old times.The hotel consists of 45 double rooms providing palatial pomp; the comfort of modern ages is represented by a wellness division of 650 square meters and by two conference halls that are perfect venues for smaller training sessions and presentations. The constantly updated wellness packages of the hotel and the local sights and programs offer a relaxing experience you will always remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your La Contessa Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Contessa Castle Hotel Hungary/Szilvasvarad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing