We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Contessa Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Contessa Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Szilvasvarad
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

La Contessa hotel is a very romantic wellness hotel not far from Budapest (only 150 km). Perfect for a romantic hideaway! The hotel is situated in a fully refurbished castle + a courtyard building. The entire place looks brand new in May 2014. Rooms are spacious and clean. The service is absolutely alright: the reception staff is helpful and the waiters are supernice too. The vine selection is excellent...you should trust in the recommendations they make (especially the young Mr. Miklós Jenei head waiter - super cool guy). The spa section is okay too but rather small. There are very nice excursion possibilities nearby.

La Contessa is truly worth a visit! We will be back for sure.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shabba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    24
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
38
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dunakeszi, Hungary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our third stay at the hotel, but the first at spring time. The garden surrounding the casstle is perfect maintained, we missed only a few flowers. The catering was nearly perfect, we missed only some fruit at breakfast, but to be honest they were offered for dinner. The spa is still amaizing an mainly clean, only the huge oval deckchairs shuld be cleand a bit more. The forest is very close to the hotel. There is a rail in the forest for tourist as well.

Room Tip: Stay in the main - castle - is more romantic and practical then in the newly build manor house. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esztergom, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

For the first time we were there with a 1 year old in the summertime. The wellness area was too busy, steam room didn't work, kids's pond is ridiculously small even for 2 toddlers, but the outside pool, live guitar music, and the closeness of the forest kind of made up for it. Food was great, white glove service was glamorous. An older headwaiter always brought pommes frites with home made ketchup and red, green, yellow tomatoes for our picky daughter. We decided to go again, for 5 days, with our 2 year old daughter and a 2 month old baby. The previous time we were in a standard room with a spare bed. When I asked for an offer the second time, I was told they can only accomodate 4 people in deluxe rooms. I said I'd only need a spare bed, as I always sleep with my kids beside me, so a superior room would be sufficient, I didn't want to pay extra for a deluxe room. But the receptionist told me in a strange voice that only deluxe rooms were available. Of course I did not believe her. However, the next day I talked to another receptionist and managed to book a superior room. Later it turned out there were very few guests at the time after the national holidays, on weekdays in November. They just tried to sell a more expensive room in a very unclassy and outrageous way. Anyway, we enjoyed having the wellness area to ourselves most of the time. Food was fine again. Members of the staff were polite and understanding. Except for the receptionists who were rather unfriendly, totally indifferent. We might go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agneserdelyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUNGARY
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was my third stay at the hotel with family. It has a wonderful location, perfect for a long weekend away with family (including children). In summary:

Positives
1) Location. Wonderful walks etc surround the hotel.
2) Family. Works for couples, but also families with children.
3) Pool/Sauna. Well laid out, good to unwind at the end of the day. Should be noted it gets very busy so hard to find somewhere to sit at times. Hotel was extended but no additional space available in the pool area, so something that is hard for them to address. Can be annoying though when you just want to relax there for a hour or so.
4) Rooms are clean, plenty of hot water and basic amenities.
5) Food is adequate. Certainly nothing "special" when considering the prices, but certainly adequate and sufficient choices for children. Hungarian style cuisine. Good breakfast selection.

Negatives
1) Customer service could be better. Restaurant was good (although they added a 12% service charge for bringing me drinks at the dinner table!), but reception was poor (I asked for a mattress to be changed due to poor quality, the answer being none were available due to hotel being full). The reception appear to be indifferent, no urgency or desire to find a solution.
2) Spa area does get very busy in terms of finding somewhere to sit/rest.
3) Rooms were a little aged (this time we stayed in the main building as we didn't want to walk over to the new building after using the spa). The new building has modern rooms.

Overall this is a well laid out complex in a great location. But for the prices charged, they could certainly refresh the main building & improve the customer service.

Room Tip: New building better rooms...more spacious & modern...but you have to walk 1-2mins to the main (o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPHILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel/castle is well renovated, well maintained. In a beautiful location. Spa is great, restaurant beautiful. However staff is not very professional. We met ~15 staff, 4 of whom smiled, the rest just did their job. There is a lot more potential in the place than currently harvested.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank csasze77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neusiedl am See, Austria
Level Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Well, a wonderful castle, nicely renovated with a wellness and a confetence center added. Almost perfect. But the attitude and friendliness of the personal of the hotel remains the same as thirty years ago: below average.
The food is ok, the waiters also, but the reception...
:(

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I visited as external guest this hotel, that is, I didn't stay overnight, so no experience about rooms.
But, during this day I had the opportunity to use the spa and the restaurant of the hotel.
The restaurant was excellent, finest service, super delicious meals. The spa is quite an average one, with three saunas (with different temperature), a Turkish bath and an interior and outer pool. Here the staff wasn't very kind, at times they had to be asked to switch on the sauna or steam bath that weren't functioning constantly.
The hotel building itself looks fascinating, renovated about 5 years ago and the environment is calm and green.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Szilvasvarad
0.3 mi away
Szalajka Liget Hotel
Szalajka Liget Hotel
#1 of 2 in Szilvasvarad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Palota
Hunguest Hotel Palota
#1 of 1 in Lillafured
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
14.4 mi away
Imola Hotel Platan
Imola Hotel Platan
#1 of 22 in Eger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Bambara Hotel
Bambara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Felsotarkany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Eger & Park
Hotel Eger & Park
#3 of 22 in Eger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
16.6 mi away
Calimbra Wellness Hotel
Calimbra Wellness Hotel
#2 of 18 in Miskolc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Contessa Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Contessa Castle Hotel

Property: La Contessa Castle Hotel
Address: Park utca 6, Szilvasvarad 3348, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Szilvasvarad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Szilvasvarad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Contessa Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since February 2009, reborn into its earlier magnificence, situated only 25 kilometers from Eger, La Contessa Castle Hotel**** awaits its honored guests in Szilvásvárad.The neo-barock castle, situated in a 7-hectare botanical park offers the elegant and relaxing atmosphere of old times.The hotel consists of 45 double rooms providing palatial pomp; the comfort of modern ages is represented by a wellness division of 650 square meters and by two conference halls that are perfect venues for smaller training sessions and presentations. The constantly updated wellness packages of the hotel and the local sights and programs offer a relaxing experience you will always remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your La Contessa Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Contessa Castle Hotel Hungary/Szilvasvarad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing