We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel
Reviewed 16 September 2013

After a long journey up to the Lakes we had a very warm, friendly greeting by Phil and Sam the new owners. The family room on the front was perfect with outstanding views to the lake. It was a good sized room, very clean and decorated nicely. The staff were lovely and very accommodating. We had such a relaxed time where nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing; everything was fresh and of good quality. Even the coffee was lovely which is a must for us! Situated in a very convenient location to travel around and see the sights with a very warm welcome on your return. We can't give Phil and Sam at the Sun Hotel enough praise for the welcome and service they gave to us while we were there. We have already recommended to friends and family and will continue to do so. It won't be long before we return! Thank you from Pete and Rach Evans

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesunhot5l, Manager at Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you, We're glad you enjoyed your stay! its really encouraging to read that we are creating the right impression & achieving what we set out to do.

You will always receive a warm welcome at the Sun and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Booked this short two day break at the last minute. Very warm welcome. With regard to the staff - nothing was too much trouble at all. The décor is superb - a mixture of old & new but works very well. We dined at the Hotel on both nights and the evening meal as well as the breakfasts were absolutely wonderful. A great deal of choice too. Very relaxed atmosphere but extremely well organised. Rooms - very well refurbished. Hairdryer, Bottled water, shower and shampoo gel, Cotton wool and buds. Didn't really need to take anything with us except our clothes and personal effects. We usually stay in Premier Inns, simply for convenience.However in comparison this break was far cheaper and offered much more facilities in the rooms. Even the tea / coffee tray offered biscuits and a huge variety of beverages. Well done to Sam & Phil. You have only been there 3 weeks but you are certainly not only well on your way to an impressive quality of services and facilities but also a real threat to your local competition. Well done. We look forward to returning in the future and certainly have no hesitation whatsoever of recommending you to our friends and family. Irene & David Farrington

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reflexology1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesunhot5l, Manager at Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you, your response is so greatly appreciated. Its is really important to us that our customers are happy and your response reminds me of why we decided to take on this venture. We strongly believe in quality and service as well as value for money! Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope we will see you again the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel was the nicest I've stayed in in the Lake District. The hotel has so much character yet has modern furnishings which complement the decor. We were given a stunning room with a beautiful view. The attention to detail makes the customer feel special. You can see they want to leave a good impression. Not only were the staff helpful and friendly but the food was OUTSTANDING. Breakfast is included in the price but I strongly recommend you stay for an evening meal. I am looking forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickytori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesunhot5l, Manager at Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you, we always welcome feedback and it is so good to read that we are creating the right impression. We take a lot of pride in the presentation of our accommodation and want every customer to feel special when they visit the Sun Hotel, it pleases me to know that we have achieved this.

We're looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here at the end of August and discovered that the hotel had just changed hands and was now owned by a very pleasant, friendly couple who were very helpful and obliging.

The room we had wasn't large but it looked freshly decorated with excellent new toilet facilities and a powerful shower and it was equipped with a very comfortable bed. Everything was sparklingly clean. Although it overlooked the road which was busy by day the window was double glazed and there was no noise at all at night so we slept soundly on both nights we stayed..

The excellent quality of the food came as a pleasant surprise and we found the table service to be very friendly, prompt and efficient despite the fact that there were a lot of customers. We had an excellent three course dinner the night we arrived and the full cooked breakfast was very satisfying indeed, so much so that we could only manage soup for lunch on both days.

All in all a very pleasant stay and very handy for both Ambleside and Bowness on Windermere.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Edinburghjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesunhot5l, Manager at Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for such a positive response, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to continue providing our customers with great hospitality. We are encouraged to read that we are creating the right impression especially as we are so new to the business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Sam and Phil - we stayed during your handover... which we appreciated was a stressful period for you working under the watchful eye of the previous owner. Thank you for welcoming us and doing all you could to make our short breaks to the Lakes a comfortable one.

The food at breakfast and dinner was very good quality and extremely generous portions. As others have said, the room/ensuite was modern and clean although the bedroom in room 10 was showing a bit of wear and tear. We found the noise of the road hard to sleep through, so recommend a room at the back of the property if you are a light sleeper. We stayed on the KGB dinner/B&B deal for 2 nights for £129 which was really good value - we appreciated this opportunity as it is hard to find somewhere so decent at a reasonable price in the summer in the Lakes. I think there is a niche market there - better than back packers but less than £70 a night!

For the future- PLEASE re-write the 'Welcome Pack' in the rooms as it is anything but. Reading it made us feel like we were an inconvenience by being there - it was a list of instructions/rules which were written in a very dictatorial tone eg a guest must 'phone down and arrange to pay for a towel change' if they would like fresh towels each day. This was justified by saying 'this is how we keep our room rates cheap' .... all it ends up doing is giving the impression that the cheap rates are a favour given begrudgingly .... people are still paying to stay in a hotel - therefore fresh towels should be a given if required.

There are a number of things that could be tweaked to the running of the hotel/restaurant/bar that would make your job easier (from my own experience working in hospitality) but I am sure you will figure these out with time. We wish you every success in your new venture!

Room Tip: Choose a room to the back of the hotel - the road is REALLY noisy and its not pleasant to have the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WitneyUKKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesunhot5l, Manager at Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your feedback and appreciating that we were in the process of changing hands. As the new owners we do value your points of improvement and will certainly bear these in mind when developing the business. We are also confident for the future of the Sun Hotel!

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Long time since i've done a review... but this place deserves it! The beautifully refurbished Sun Hotel was a great experience on many levels. Very friendly staff, including the new management who only took over 2 weeks ago! Amazing food, (Great chef) in the beamed & beautiful restaurant, complete with open fire. The rooms are modern and v stylish... With great attention to detail. Power shower, beautiful bathroom, contemporary natural wood furniture (& slept v well for 2 nights, even with our 4 year old in the room!). Gr8 TV, quiet at night & lovely views of the hills from the room. I was even shocked by the bill at the end of our stay, as up to 6 of us at a time, had dined like kings! Thanks to the new managers Phil & Sam!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayAddict88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesunhot5l, Manager at Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for such a positive response! We pride ourselves on our service and quality so it is appreciated when this is recognised. We value your feedback and hope that this will encourage more people to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed for one night at Room 10 few days back, after failing to find suitable hotel for our budget and preferred location in Windermere town. Was lucky to find last minute promotion on their website for £65 inclusive of breakfast. A bit sceptical when we parked the car next to the hotel, but boy it was so lovely on the inside. Totally surprised. Here's the pros & cons;
Pros: classic+modern feel room, very comfy bed, nicely decorated+very very clean. 5 star bathroom, power shower n ear buds :), generous complimentary tray & bottled water, very kind hosts walk us to the room, generous & hearty breakfast, 5 mins drive to windermere town, bus stops in front of hotel
Cons: road noise (room facing the busy road, but got used to it including my baby)not a big problem.quality sleep nonetheless
Summary: we really had a great stay, felt welcome n appreciated by the hosts. Highly recommended!
Suggestion to owner: change your listing to windermere town, am sure you will be a hit.
Tq

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmasut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thesunhot5l, Manager at Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your response, we really value your positive and constructive feedback. Its important we understand what our customers think as it helps us improve our business.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck Bridge
2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
607 reviews
1.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,756 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
10.5 mi away
The Glenridding Hotel
The Glenridding Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenridding
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel

Address: Troutbeck Bridge, Troutbeck Bridge LA23 1HH, England (Formerly The Sun Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Troutbeck Bridge
Price Range: £86 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pedro's is on the A591 (the main road between Windermere & Ambleside. Originally an 18th century coaching inn fully refurbished by present owners in 2009, now a 10 bedroomed hotel providing high quality, affordable food, drink & ensuite accomadation.You can walk to the edge of lake windermere via a private footpath in 10 - 15 mins.An ideal location to explore the lake district. Please note the bar is only open unitl 10pm Sunday to Thursday & 11pm Friday & Saturday. This is to ensure oure residents have a peaceful nights rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Hotel Hotel Troutbeck Bridge
Sun Hotel Troutbeck
Pedro's Restaurant, Bar & Hotel Troutbeck Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing