We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel am Schlosspark Zum Kurfurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Excellent hotel if wanting to visit the Munich area but not stay in the city. Also, very close to Dachau (20 mins drive away).

Hotel is well located just off the motorway but in a secluded and quiet residential area right next to the Schleissheinm Palace. At check in there was a problem with our booking it seemed (they said it was cancelled!, but after about 20 mins was given keys to the room and found we had been upgraded to an executive room. Very large and comfortable but not sure I'd chose to pay the extra in order to get a sofa and kettle which were the only differences. Swimming pool was a nice addition.

Options for eating are limited with only the hotel owned restaurant over the road within walking distance, and although nice food was pricey by comparison.

Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice.

Munich only 20mins by train and hotel offers a free shuttle to the station which is a great bonus.

Would certainly choose to stay there when next in the Munich area

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witneytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

I got two doubles, one in the annex, the other in the main building.
Plentiful breakfast, available both on terrace and in breakfast room.
Very nice swimming pool.
Friendly staff.
Great access to Castle and lovely location, considering short distance from Munich centre and Allianz Arena.
On the minus side, the room in attachment was a bit small and smelt stuffy. No lift to rooms there.
All in all a great stop.

Room Tip: See hotel site they maight beat search engines. Main building is more practical, annex rooms are mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinedaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We arrived in Munich at 10:30 in the morning and had requested ahead for early check-in at the hotel which they granted with no problems. The hotel is located outside of the metro area of the city in a very quaint and quiet village just outside of a beautiful palace which grounds are directly across the street. It was a perfect location for very weary U.S. travelers just getting off the plane. The grounds of the palace were a perfect area for walking, biking, rollerblading or quiet contemplation while enjoying the gardens or the peaceful swan-filled lake. It also has a beer garden on the grounds run by the famous Hofbrauhaus in Munich. All within walking distance of the hotel.

Our room was clean and quiet and the beds very comfortable. All the staff was warm and friendly and most spoke English. The breakfast bar and choice of foods on it was outstanding with your own coffee pot at each table with excellent coffee. We had also enjoyed lunch at the hotel restaurant which was prepared like a 5-star restaurant and was delicious!

Our room was not located in the main hotel but was above the restaurant. The main hotel had an elevator but our building did not so had to lug our suitcases up a couple of flights of stairs so keep that in mind if you have to have an elevator. The internet, although free of charge, did not work in our room but we had no problem getting it in the main hotel lobby which had tables and a bar so we enjoyed a glass of wine while checking our emails.

The one problem we encountered was in the parking garage and trying to get our car out in the morning. It had a garage door at the top of the exit which, after about 15 minutes of attempts, someone who could read German and push the right buttons, was able to let us out. A suggestion for the hotel would be to put the instructions in English as well for foreign guests.

We would definitely stay here again and we highly recommend it to anyone staying in Munich who don't want to be in the traffic and bustling city.

Room Tip: If you need an elevator, request the main hotel or the first floor. If you park in the parking gara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We spent one night here after our visit to the camp at Dachau. We had a family room with two twin beds and a fold out sofa. Even for early June and a chilly weather pattern, the room was too warm. We opened both windows and got two fans from the front desk, but all-in-all it was warmer than we would have liked. We would NOT stay in that room in July or August, even for free!

The facility is visually appealing and I found the staff helpful. Their English was not much better than my German, but we got by fine. We ate dinner at their restaurant across the street and enjoyed the food, although we seemed to be "low on the totem pole" for service, compared to other diners who arrived before and after we did. We also ate the hotel breakfast the next morning and found a wide (and tasty) variety of a basic German breakfast. Adults enjoyed it, teen boys a bit less! This is pleasantly off the beaten path of hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: If you want cooler temperatures at night, get a room that does not face the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSSGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stay in this hotel once a year to break up my annual drive from Prague to Italy to ski. It's in a quiet, forested area a few steps away from the grounds of the Schleissheim Palace and not far from Dachau concentration camp. It's a 10 minute detour off the main highway going past Munich. The rooms are fairly basic. The breakfast offers a wide selection of eggs, pastries, meats, breads, yogurts, and a nice coffee machine.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We (family of 2 adults + 2 teenagers) have spent 2 nights at the Hotel. The rom was, clean and very comfortable. The berakfast was super with a rich choice of everything . The staff was always firendly and helpful. Great hotel and, great service. This was an excellent place to see the stay to see the Schloss or the Deutches museum. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavel62100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

My wife, son and I liked everything in the hotel. Very clean, efficient, courteous service. Nice large room with third bed and quality bedsheets. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rivano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberschleissheim
1 mi away
Hotel Blauer Karpfen
Hotel Blauer Karpfen
#2 of 2 in Oberschleissheim
43 reviews
3.6 mi away
SOULMADE
SOULMADE
#1 of 8 in Garching bei Munchen
208 reviews
2.5 mi away
INFINITY Hotel & Conference Resort Munich
INFINITY Hotel & Conference Reso...
#1 of 4 in Unterschleissheim
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Muenchen Garching
Ibis Muenchen Garching
#4 of 8 in Garching bei Munchen
381 reviews
2.3 mi away
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Munich
Victor's Residenz-Hotel Munich
#2 of 4 in Unterschleissheim
231 reviews
4 mi away
Golden Tulip Olymp Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel am Schlosspark Zum Kurfurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel am Schlosspark Zum Kurfurst

Address: Kapellenweg 5, 85764 Oberschleissheim, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberschleissheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oberschleisshe...
Price Range: £88 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel am Schlosspark Zum Kurfurst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the castle park Schleissheim within walking distance of the castles Lustheim and Schleissheim. The airport and the Marienplatz in Munich can be reached by a direct train connection in 20 minutes. The comfortable leisure area with sauna and pool bar is also available for free, such as Wi-Fi and free shuttle service to the subway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel am Schlosspark Zum Kurfurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing