We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
22
32
49
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
32
49
15
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2017

Hotel is in an excellent location. Front desk staff was very helpful. Room is a tad bit small but is clean and sufficient. Seems like you won't find lots of bigger rooms hotel in this area. The pool was not great...waterfall not working and the elevator is still not working. There seems to be a maintenance issue at this hotel as there are clear visibility of lack of maintenance. Although they try to practice sustainable tourism, seems like this is not translated to staff as housekeepers still change all towels. If going to Ixpanpajul, just go to bus stop in town and take a bus for Q5. Also, purchase transport to Tikal in Flores for Q80 and they will stop you to buy Tikal tickets at the airport....this allows you to avoid long entrance line.

Room tip: choose even numbers for rooms...those face the lagoon
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Khidbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

My friend and I stayed at Peten Esplendido during our weekend Tikal/Yahxa trip and it was amazing! The room was very modern with a large TV, mini fridge, and nice shower. There was hot water and reliable wi-fi.

They offer free airport transportation and the staff at the front desk was always very friendly and eager to help. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay. It almost felt like staying at a western beach resort!

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raccoon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Our room at this hotel, although clean and comfortable, was relatively small and so was the bathroom. There were no chairs in the room - only outside on the balcony in the heat. There was not much in the way of surfaces to put anything. The lift was not working. The breakfast was fairly basic. But the staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 632pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

Fantastic and friendly service, felt like family, hotel general manager arranged for a complimentary tour of the lake because we stayed a month, discounts on all restaurant items and tours booked through them!! An amazing experience and highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank CJRoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petén Espléndid... H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Peten Esplendido Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear customer, we value and appreciate your opinion, your stay has been satisfactory is our greatest reward. We hope that on your next visit to serving you again. We are under your command. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

The room was nice and clean. There was hot water and good wi-fi, and it was an easy walk to Flores. Breakfast was good, and there is a complimentary shuttle to the airport. Nothing spectacular, but it served my purpose well. And there is a nice view from the room of Flores.

Room tip: View of the lake
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OttawaCanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petén Espléndid... H, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Peten Esplendido Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Dear customer , we appreciate your comments , we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope your next visit to serve you as you deserve .

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews