We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, very friendly and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Engelhard - Das Landhotel Garni
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel was one of the best we have stayed in throughout our trip through Germany. The hotel staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you in any situation. The rooms are really big and superbly furnished and i would recomend anyone stay here if they are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank itsari16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

Frau Englehard runs her lovely hotel with pride. We were welcomed like old friends and shown to our huge suite (complimentary upgrade). Everything is bright, clean and very well cared for. As previously mentioned, there's nowhere much to eat, however we were recommended a number of restaurants in the nearby town. Breakfast was amazing, we couldnt believe the selection on offer - all in all, a dellightful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mawdesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The room was huge and very comfortable. The hotel is in a very quiet location. Good for someone who wants to rest, but not for someone who wants to party. Also there is not a lot of restaurants nearby (within walking distance). The breakfas was great: Fresh and with good options.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tihane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We booked a double room and a suite. Both rooms were outstanding! Our double was spacious, very clean and had a nice bathroom. The Suite was an apartment that was huge and had a patio attached. The owners made us feel very welcome. There is a pizza place near by that will deliver--pretty good food and massive salads. The breakfast the next morning was also very good. It's off the path a little bit, but well worth your time. Lots of space, very quiet and good people.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrMoose581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel is really worth the effort - the effort only involves taking the time to venture slightly further on than Nordlingen. On arrival we were met by our delightful hosts who advised us we'd been upgraded to a Suite. Our room is superb - a huge living area with lounge and kitchen, a desk for those on business, a roomy bedroom, beautiful bathroom and more storage than you'd find in most apartments. The owners are a youngish couple and clearly take the whole hospitality thing very seriously. Everything is new and sparkling clean.
There's a small box Lindt chocolates, a packet of chips and everything in the bar fridge is €2, whether it’s a small bottle of spirits or wine, a juice or a huge bottle of beer. Never have bar fridge prices been so cheap! There's a lovely verandah out the back, overlooking a garden waterfall and a lovely colourful backyard.
A walk around the village brings many enjoyable surprises and the church just up the road is small but magnificent.
Our host, Alfred, has recommended Sonnenwirt Restaurant, in nearby Bopfingen, for dinner. The restaurant is part of a hotel complex and full of locals. Our waitress is wonderfully friendly and recommends the Sawabian pasta, with a wine that complements the dish. The pasta is ubelievably good. The night is topped off when we stop on the crest on our way home to take in the sparkling lights of the plain (crater if you read the history) below us. Amazing.
We enjoy the most peaceful sleep.... it is so quiet. Just when we think things can't get any better.... there's breakfast!
The breakfast room is an artwork, with beautifully laid out tables, with touches of rose petals. Just gorgeous. The food is scrumptious - cheeses and cold meats and the best ever Bircher muesli, along with fresh blueberries, strawberries and blackberries. There’s also a selection of breads and pastries. Husband orders scrambled eggs and they are done to perfection, along with thinly sliced and crisply cooked bacon.
This place is the one that other B&Bs should visit before they go into business. They have everything down pat.
On our departure our hostess asks if we'd like to take some food, maybe some fruit or pastries. What a lovely touch.
There is so much to see in the area and this property is one where you can comfortable settle in for a few days to enjoy the surrounds.
One of the best properties we've ever stayed in and certainly the hosts have ensured that their guests are number one.
If you're planning a stay in the area, stay here.... you will love it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlexGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Plusses:
-Very attentive landlady, very helpful, so is her husband, who have operated this hotel since 1992
-Thanks to continous upgrading and expansion the rooms are very up to date and very nice. As it is a Landhotel, no spa, swimming pool or gym.
One can also opt for a small apartment with an extra sitting room, we don't know of the extra costs since it was a free upgrade due to leg problems (normal rooms up one stair).
-The rooms have big (46 inch?) 1080p full HD tv screens, cable or satelite televison with hundreds of channels, and a Hifi receiver and DVD player with switchable speakers in the room and in the bathroom.
-Free Wifi works fine.
Minusses:
None, be it a bit (about 15 kilometers) off the Romantic Street and has no restaurants, but in nearby Nordlingen they have many good restaurants, the landlady will be glad to recommend some to you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Haje1946_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We were so fortunate to choose not to stay in nearby Nordlingen but wanted a rural experience and selected Kierchheim and it was here we met Manuela. What a great person to promote Germany and also to provide first class accommodation and service. We were made to feel so welcome, beautiful home baked treats on arrival, suggestions of where to go the see the view and sunset, and an amazing room. The room was enormous, beautiful inclusions,, a huge flat screen TV, bottled water, snacks, a mini bar with great prices. There was a stylish leather armchair with a footrest. We had a small problem with wifi and Manuela ensured it was resolved. The breakfast was the best we have experienced anywhere and we have been traveling for two months. The staff even wore traditional German costume. There was smoked salmon, an enormous array of meat, every fresh berry you could ask for, bircher muesli as well as many other cereals. There is just too much to mention in one review but if want to receive a wonderful taste of Gman hospitality and have the most wonderful restful night sleep you must stay here. Mauela even offered to get a ladder to enable us to pick pears from her garden. STAY HERE IT IS A MUST!!!

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Racandtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirchheim am Ries
4.5 mi away
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
NH Kloesterle Noerdlingen
#1 of 6 in Nordlingen
772 reviews
4.9 mi away
Arthotel ANA Flair
Arthotel ANA Flair
#4 of 6 in Nordlingen
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landhotel Osswald
Landhotel Osswald
#1 of 1 in Kirchheim am Ries
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engelhard - Das Landhotel Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engelhard - Das Landhotel Garni

Address: Schulgasse 1-3, 73467 Kirchheim am Ries, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Kirchheim am Ries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirchheim am Ries
Price Range: £68 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Engelhard - Das Landhotel Garni 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome!We are an attractive and comfortable 4 stars hotel located in the middle of an interesting nature park close to the "Romantic Road". We are based only 10 minutes to the historc town Nördlingen und 25 minutes tio Dinkelsbühl and 35 to Torhenburg o.T. by car. You could enjoy a personal service in a pleasant, informal atmosphere. Rooms have undergone extensive renovation in 2017 and now offer air-conditioning, LCD-screen TVs, a hi-fi centre, DVD player and much more.Enjoy our breakfast buffet including delicious home-made specialties and produce fresh from the marketplace. A large garden with a terrace and barbecue area invite you to relax and linger a while. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Engelhard - Das Landhotel Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing