We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great chambre d'hôtel with charming hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Source

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Denis-sur-Loire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Source
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great chambre d'hôtel with charming hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of 3 nights. The room was spacious and comfortable and very quiet The pool was set in a lovely private garfen and was a welcome relief after a full day of travelling or sight seeing. Catherine and Christian were wonderful hosts and on the first evening brought out wine etc as we sat around the pool with them and the other 2 couples who were staying. The breakfasts were good with home made jams etc. Catherine and Christian went out of their way to be helpful making dinner reservations and tea/coffee whenever we needed it. It was a good base for exploring the area as far as Amboise.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
81
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Cathérine and Christian are great hosts and made us feel so welcome as soon as we arrived. We spent the first night having a sparkling wine reception on the terrace with the other guests complete with nibbles. We had planned to go into Blois that evening for dinner but we were made to feel so welcome that we ended up sitting on the terrace eating and drinking and talking the night away (partly in French and partly in English!).

The house, garden and pool are amazing, perfect for a bit of relaxation after a hard day of Chateau viewing! Our room was very big and spacious with a lovely bathroom/shower room.

The breakfasts were the best of our whole trip and some homegrown, there was even a surprise element for each breakfast but I wont give away Cathérine's secrets!

Would recommend this place for anyone going to Blois and the Loire valley.

Room Tip: If you are going to view Chateax make sure you mention it to Cathérine as she may be able to give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dancingbob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

On our first visit to the Loire Valley we discovered this gem. La Source is situated on the edge of Blois in the heart of the Loire Valley. Very well positioned for visiting the surrounding Chateaux, a cycling holiday or for a retreat in their beautiful spacious garden. Cathérine and Christian were the perfect hosts and despite our poor French they guided us to local restaurants, information on the surrounding chateaux and more. Lovely rooms overlooking a spacious garden, heated pool and ample breakfasts sourced from their garden. Take time to walk around the village of St Denis to the river bank

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japoia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lubbeek
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Some years ago Cathérine and Christian Forge bought the house of the 19th century romantic painter Alphonse Muraton: 500m of the border of the Loire, on the bicycle route, very near Blois. They transformed it in a lovely and comfortable B&B. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Cathérine and Christian enjoy it to welcome guests in their house. The weather was bad and therefore they spoiled us with a variation of surprises at breakfast: but I’m sure they do all the time! And when we had one sparkle of sun at noon, they helped us to arrange a picknick in the garden. They also introduced us in the wines of the region. For the nice swimming pool we have to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

You can look at this place from every angle you won't find anything that is not perfect. The rooms are beautifully decorated and super clean. The bathrooms are large and convenient. The place is quiet, the swimming pool is heated and use salt instead of chlorine (your eyes and mother nature will appreciate). The location is amazing, close by the city of Blois, close to most if not all the wonderful "Chateaux de la Loire" and connected to the regional bike itineraries.

The owners are very helpful for anything, they'll guide you towards the best restaurant according to your taste and budget. On top of that, they serve a delicious and creative breakfast, made of homemade marmalades, pastries and fruits.

This is definitely the high-end of "chambre d'hôte" at very good price/quality.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Denis-sur-Loire
3.5 mi away
La Maison d'a Cote
La Maison d'a Cote
#1 of 1 in Montlivault
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
10.3 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Bellagio - Blois
Villa Bellagio - Blois
#1 of 2 in La Chaussee-Saint-Victor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
3.4 mi away
Hotel Anne De Bretagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Source

Property: La Source
Address: 4 rue Muraton, 41000 Saint-Denis-sur-Loire, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois > Saint-Denis-sur-Loire
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Denis-sur-Loire
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
La Source Saint-Denis-Sur-Loire, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing