We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set's the standard!”
Review of La Source

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Denis-sur-Loire
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Source
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Spent 2 nights at La Source in October 2012. One of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed at! Delightful hosts Catherine and Christian. New, roomy accommodation with luxury fittings in beautifully converted historic building. Superb breakfast. Close to Blois, Chateaux and lots of restaurants. Hightly recommended!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ski_bum2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for La Source
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

A smiling, friendly greeting with a charming mix of French and English . A house, garden and swimming pool ideal for a quiet and relaxing holiday - just try to stay for a few days to make the most of the Loire Valley and all the magnificent chateaux.
We were lucky and had the choice of 3 spacious rooms, all beautifully decorated with luxurious showers - difficult to decide but another reason for coming again!
After enjoying many special B&B's in France we must congratulate Catherine and Christian for their hospitality and their superb breakfasts - definitely THE BEST in France.

Room Tip: Book early, only 3 rooms, all excellent .
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

It was a delight to stay with Catherine & Christian at La Source, their charming B&B in the village of St.-Denis-sur-Loire. We spent 5 days there while exploring the chateaux in the surrounding areas. We enjoyed staying in a village (as opposed to the larger city of Blois nearby), not only because it was quiet & peaceful, but also because we enjoyed exploring St.-Denis on the banks of the Loire (there are lovely shaded walking trails all along the river.) Our room was spacious & immaculate with a view over the swimming pool and the gardens beyond. Our hosts gave us a comprehensive list of restaurants nearby for dinner, but served breakfast every morning. And what a breakfast it was! There was always fresh juice & coffee/tea, croissants & rolls with butter & jam, fresh fruit, absolutely DELICIOUS yogurt made by Catherine, and a surprise warm dish that changed each day (eg. crepes or french toast) - and most everything was organic! We would definitely return to this French haven!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms on the property, but the larger one on the second floor with fireplace &...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay of 3 nights. The room was spacious and comfortable and very quiet The pool was set in a lovely private garfen and was a welcome relief after a full day of travelling or sight seeing. Catherine and Christian were wonderful hosts and on the first evening brought out wine etc as we sat around the pool with them and the other 2 couples who were staying. The breakfasts were good with home made jams etc. Catherine and Christian went out of their way to be helpful making dinner reservations and tea/coffee whenever we needed it. It was a good base for exploring the area as far as Amboise.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi-Traveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Cathérine and Christian are great hosts and made us feel so welcome as soon as we arrived. We spent the first night having a sparkling wine reception on the terrace with the other guests complete with nibbles. We had planned to go into Blois that evening for dinner but we were made to feel so welcome that we ended up sitting on the terrace eating and drinking and talking the night away (partly in French and partly in English!).

The house, garden and pool are amazing, perfect for a bit of relaxation after a hard day of Chateau viewing! Our room was very big and spacious with a lovely bathroom/shower room.

The breakfasts were the best of our whole trip and some homegrown, there was even a surprise element for each breakfast but I wont give away Cathérine's secrets!

Would recommend this place for anyone going to Blois and the Loire valley.

Room Tip: If you are going to view Chateax make sure you mention it to Cathérine as she may be able to give yo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dancingbob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

On our first visit to the Loire Valley we discovered this gem. La Source is situated on the edge of Blois in the heart of the Loire Valley. Very well positioned for visiting the surrounding Chateaux, a cycling holiday or for a retreat in their beautiful spacious garden. Cathérine and Christian were the perfect hosts and despite our poor French they guided us to local restaurants, information on the surrounding chateaux and more. Lovely rooms overlooking a spacious garden, heated pool and ample breakfasts sourced from their garden. Take time to walk around the village of St Denis to the river bank

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank japoia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Some years ago Cathérine and Christian Forge bought the house of the 19th century romantic painter Alphonse Muraton: 500m of the border of the Loire, on the bicycle route, very near Blois. They transformed it in a lovely and comfortable B&B. The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Cathérine and Christian enjoy it to welcome guests in their house. The weather was bad and therefore they spoiled us with a variation of surprises at breakfast: but I’m sure they do all the time! And when we had one sparkle of sun at noon, they helped us to arrange a picknick in the garden. They also introduced us in the wines of the region. For the nice swimming pool we have to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Denis-sur-Loire
2.8 mi away
Hotel Mercure de Blois Centre
10.1 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
275 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Blois Centre Chateau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Bellagio - Blois
Villa Bellagio - Blois
#1 of 2 in La Chaussee-Saint-Victor
324 reviews
3.6 mi away
ibis Styles Blois Centre Gare
2.1 mi away
First Inn Hotel Blois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Source? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Source

Address: 4 rue Muraton, 41000 Saint-Denis-sur-Loire, Blois, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Blois > Saint-Denis-sur-Loire
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Denis-sur-Loire
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
La Source Saint-Denis-Sur-Loire, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing