We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely May Break”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Thornton-Le-Dale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Easthill Farm House
sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely May Break”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Just returned from a 5 night break at Easthill. We stayed in Beeches which was absolutely lovely, by far the cleanest accommodation we have ever stayed in with every comfort provided. The weather was cold for May but this didn't deter us from doing everything we intended, biking part of the cinder path from Whitby to Robin Hoods Bay and also from Easthill into the Dalby forest via Ellerburn - truly delightful. We ate in the little cafe at thornton chippie and the cod was the best I've had in a very long time. We probably spent more time in the apartment than we would have if it had been warmer but this just added to the total relaxation of the holiday in such a cosy home from home. This is a huge credit to Diane and her family and staff - not forgetting the delicious eggs from the farm!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Shields
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A colleague and myself were put up here last week and were expecting single rooms, not a chance the offering were given was an attic room with two single beds and a fold away bed in a room with no locks on the door and no shower curtain around the bath with a shower pipe come tap attachment that had no water pressure when standing and no hook on the wall to attach the shower head to. I had to sit in the bath in order to get the water to flow out of the shower. Neither of us took shower gel or shampoo as we were expecting a fully kitted bathroom , just as well we have little or no hair as there wasn't a hair dryer that women would expect. The only toiletries in the bathroom were antibacterial hand wash and a body lotion, both of them as much use as a one legged man in an butt kicking contest. The first room we looked at had two single beds cosied up next to each other, due to lack of room space and as much as I like working with my colleague I have no desire to sleep next to him. The roof beams were a big issue to both us being tall and we kept hitting our heads on them and the dormer style window was awash with running condensation. The only tea or coffee making facilities were in a communal kitchen with nothing in the room. Towels were supplied but that was all.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grousebeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dstenton, Owner at Easthill Farm House, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
We are sorry that we did not meet this customer's expectations but at no time did he voice his concerns to us. We would however like to clarify the situation. We offer 4 star awarded SELF- CATERING accommodation. This is where the misunderstanding must have occurred. This man was part of a team of paramedics who were in the area at the time and this large apartment was booked by the Director of PTS and Transport for the paramedics to sleep in when off duty. He was obviously under the impression he would be staying in serviced accommodation where you can expect a full range of toiletries and extras. I had no control over which rooms were allocated to whom and my only role in this reservation was to provide room only,self catering accommodation, to clean the rooms and do the bed linen changes.

This country gentlemen's residence has many period features, which we feel add to the character of the property. The apartments' bedrooms are on the second floor and have lots of charming old features some of which are beams and Dorma windows. The bedroom his Director had allocated him was a twin room but he chose to stay in a family room where the elevation allows us only to use a ‘telephone shower' over the bath. The extra bed in the room is a proper full sized single bed and not a fold up bed as he stated. Keys are available for all bedroom doors but were not requested by the Director, these are not normally necessary as it is a self contained apartment, used mainly for family holidays.

Please remember this is a self catering HOLIDAY apartment and we provide tea and coffee in the kitchen as a good will gesture and thought this would be appreciated by the hard working paramedics who work for the good of us all.

Our sole aim is to provide accommodation which is of a very high standard and meets everybody's expectations. If you read all our other reviews you will see we achieve this and sadly this situation has occurred due to a lack of communication within their own systems, they were not informed this was self catering and not a hotel or B&B. Please do not judge our wonderful accommodation by this one review as we have many very happy customers who return year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Pines log cabin for 3 nights, February 13 to the 16th. Arriving in a snow blizzard captured the ambience of the surroundings. As we settled in, the cosiness and the warmth inside the lodge contrasted sharply with the snow blowing around outside. Diane was a very helpful and friendly host, and the cleanliness of the cabins was excellent, and really well equipped.
The village is very friendly, and the surrounding walks are breathtaking, surely some of the finest views in Yorkshire. We will certainly be returning soon

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed at Pines Lodge this Summer - our 6th visit! Wonderful spot and the owners, Diane and James, can't do enough to make your stay perfect.

The Lodges and grounds are immaculate and there's plenty to do - tennis court, woods to play in, bikes, gocarts , table-tennis in the Games Room etc.

An easy walk into Thornton-le Dale which is beautiful with lots to do in the surrounding area.

Would thoroughly recommend Easthill farm.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Booked this short break at last minute an was so very happy that we discovered this little gem of a place.

Customer service was outstanding, friendly, warm & welcoming - really going that extra mile for their guests.

Accomodation was spotlessly clean (and Im very fussy when it comes to hygiene!)

Accomodation really well equipped - especially the kitchen.

Beautiful grounds with lots to occupy children. So nice that the farmer & his wife included the children in caring for the animals.

Great hot tub! Kids loved it! (And there was no extra cost for use of this).

Would highly reccomend & definatly will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spanner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We just got back today from a week at easthill staying in Paddock. We decided to stay here to have a week in the summer as we are heading to Florida for all of November.
We certainly where not disappointed what a great week.
The accommodation is fantastic Diane and James really have thought of everything to make your stay easy and enjoyable. We have 2 kids, daughter is 3 and son is 17mths and they both loved it.
The facilities are fantastic, swings, slides, tree houses,covered sandpit, cars and bikes to ride round on we had a struggle getting our 2 out during the day.

The accommodation was very clean and nicely laid out. My wife insisted on stopping at a shop to buy things like dishwasher tablets and bin liners and other bits only to find they were all provided in the chalet.

So a great week in a great location with great accommodation that had views over rolling fields.
Definitely recommend this place to everyone we know and we will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed at Woodlands with friends, 4 adults, 3 children what a great place. Really well equipt, clean tidy, very homely, we did not want to leave! The children were free to explore with tennis courts, pool, ping pong, bikes and modern climbing wall and giant swing what more could they want. A big bonus for my 11 years old was all the animals, farm dogs, pigs, chickens and they even looked after some tadpoles. It was a really relaxed atmosphere and we had a chilled out weekend even taking advantage of the hot tub. A 10 minute walk into the village and the dales within easy reach it is an ideal location. We enjoyed a visit to Whitby and nearby Pickering and ate at The Hall resaurant in the village 2 nights, then enjoyed Thornton-le-dale fish and chips. We will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxiReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
3.2 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
3.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
3.6 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
3.5 mi away
High Dalby House
High Dalby House
#3 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easthill Farm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easthill Farm House

Property: Easthill Farm House
Address: Wilton Road, Thornton-Le-Dale, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton-Le-Dale
Hotel Class:4 star — Easthill Farm House 4*
Number of rooms: 123

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing