We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Pexton Moor Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornton-Le-Dale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pexton Moor Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We could not have asked for more from this site - perfect loaction into Dalby Forest for cycling, it could not be closer, the staff were extremely helpful & the site was in the most beautiful location

We staying in our tent ad found the pitch was flat, a very generous size & extremely clean. The site is a working farm, so it was amazing to wake up to the spring lambs and the sound of calfs in the barn. The views are either of the forest or the meadows, what a tranquil place to stay

There was not much on the site, no shop or pub, but the village (Thornton Le Dale) is only 3 mins by car so it was not an issue. Pickering is also only a few miles away

On the site there are toilets, showers, drinking water & washing facilities. But what more can you ask for only £12 per tent (and dogs are free!!)

We took our bikes for a few days in the forest. The site is only 2 miles from the visitors centre (which is a lovely ride through the woods). The visitor centre is the heart of where all the tracks start. But just oposite the site is one of the "easier" (green) tracks for the kiddies or a tester run for people like me that have not been out on the bikes for over 12 months (ouch!!)

This site is well worth a visit!! 10/10 for everything!! We will be going again this summer for sure!!

The only negaitive comment that I can make is that the toilets & shower block were a little dated, but they were always extremely clean which made it feel better.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hull
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Good views over fields for many miles, lovely sunsets. Wendy and Jim are friendly and welcoming to tourists. Great base for Dalby and surrounding area. Stayed here on 3 occasions and have been lucky that there were lovely other families staying too and the children played together. Shower block kept clean by owners - also bucket & mop left so users can give their shower a quick mop afterwards. Will happily go back here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank behappyejp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed on the campsite here recently for Will Young/Plan B concerts in Dalby Forest. The people are lovely - very welcoming. The site itself is great, nice big pitches and fabulous views. Facilities are limited but it is just a small site so we never had a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cropton100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed here with my other half and my 8 year old boy. From start to finish we had a great time and to spend time in this fabulous cottage and awesome grounds just complimented our trip even more.
Upon arrival we were met by Wendy who gave us a tour of the farm and the cottage, she was extremely friendly and very helpful. Later on we met Jim. He gave us some top tips on places to visit and pointed us in the right direction as to keep us busy.
The cottage itself is lovely, the pictures show it well, but they do not do it justice! The interior has a modern but contemporary feel to it, with good quality fixtures and fittings. The underfloor heating wasn't required as the cottage maintains heat nicely. The bedrooms come with tv/dvd combos to keep your little one quiet in the morning should you fancy a lie in. The exterior of the cottage is in keeping with the traditional Yorkshire countryside.
You are within 25 metres from the entrance into the Great Yorkshire Forest (Dalby Forest) so if you want to ride into the trails on your bike it is right on your doorstep. You can also hike straight in. It's a couple of miles in to get to the bike hire place, but it's all road so if you fancy you can leave your car at the cottage and avoid the £7 toll fee for your car.
You cannot go wrong at this place! To stay in a pub at the nearby town of Pickering would cost you £70 for a night, this would be for a room only.
We'll be back.
Obliged

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDYPERV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Recently returned from this campsite. On our arrival a sign stated ' Please keep noise to a reasonable level between 11.00pm and 7.00am'. This was taken seriously from the site owners. In our two night stay we recieved two visits by the owner, to warn us about noise, and this tainted what would have otherwise been a perfect break in Dalby. We were concerned that the owner would carry out her threat of 'scooping' our tent up with her tractors bucket and evicting us. Both nights we were in bed for 12pm - I have never come across this in 'family sites. I also note we were not the only campers to recieve this threat of eviction. Both nights, we where in bed for 12 pm which for us is an early night on our usual camping trips. As seasoned campers who often use 'family sites' I have never come across such a staunch set of rules. Can I quickly add we are all in our late 30's and 40's, played no music and are respectful of the site and our neighbours. I note that although the owners where quick to reduce noise levels at 11.00 am, that there was no such intervention at 5 in the morning when we could hear a group of campers running through the fields 'whooping' There is minimal hedgerows which I feel is the reason sound carries, also that the pitches are far too close to each other so, much you can hear your neighbours cough in the night. So cross about our treatment that I am the first reviewer on Trip Advisor, We wont return again !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachysnscream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
2.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bridgefoot House
Bridgefoot House
#1 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
High Dalby House
High Dalby House
#3 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warrington Guest House
Warrington Guest House
#5 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pexton Moor Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pexton Moor Farm

Property: Pexton Moor Farm
Address: Low Dalby, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Thornton-Le-Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing