We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage: Comfortable, cosy and spotlessly clean.”
Review of Pexton Moor Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornton-Le-Dale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pexton Moor Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have just returned from a very relaxing 3-night stay at 'The Granary' cottage situated right at the entrance to the Dalby Forest.

Peaceful location, spotlessly clean, cosy and very comfortable for a couple or family. The kids appreciated the TV/DVD players which are installed in both bedrooms and allowed for a couple of lazy-lie-ins. Plenty of hot water for bathing/showering and a long-length bath, perfect to stretch out in. My son fell in love with the calves and both children enjoyed visiting the sheep and newborn lambs on the farm.

Spent more time in the cottage than planned as I arrived unwell and it couldn't have been a more comfortable place to potter.

In the forest, 'Go Ape Junior' was a great hit with my 7-year old daughter and my son would have spent all day playing in the play area. If you can walk or cycle the mile or so into the Forest from the cottage, you save paying the £7 parking fee. Easy access by car to the North Yorkshire Moors, Whitby, nearby Thornton Le Dale and Pickering.

Highly recommended accommodation based on our experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just spent a great weekend at Pexton Mor camp site. It is a beautiful location and perfectly maintained. Nice hot showers etc etc.This site is at the entrance to Dalby Forest and an easy walk/cycle ride in so no tolls to pay!! Good real ales nearby at the Buck in Thornton (1.5 miles) or Fox and Rabbit (2.5 miles in opposite direction.
We will be back with our grandchildren as it is so safe and perfect for the children with the added bonus ot calves and sheep.
Bring bikes and walking boots and ENJOY.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roefamilyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

It was our first time at pexton moor farm and was greeted by Wendy who was very friendly and helpful, the facilities were clean.we had two young boys and they loved it x the views were amazing x already booked to go back again x

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We could not have asked for more from this site - perfect loaction into Dalby Forest for cycling, it could not be closer, the staff were extremely helpful & the site was in the most beautiful location

We staying in our tent ad found the pitch was flat, a very generous size & extremely clean. The site is a working farm, so it was amazing to wake up to the spring lambs and the sound of calfs in the barn. The views are either of the forest or the meadows, what a tranquil place to stay

There was not much on the site, no shop or pub, but the village (Thornton Le Dale) is only 3 mins by car so it was not an issue. Pickering is also only a few miles away

On the site there are toilets, showers, drinking water & washing facilities. But what more can you ask for only £12 per tent (and dogs are free!!)

We took our bikes for a few days in the forest. The site is only 2 miles from the visitors centre (which is a lovely ride through the woods). The visitor centre is the heart of where all the tracks start. But just oposite the site is one of the "easier" (green) tracks for the kiddies or a tester run for people like me that have not been out on the bikes for over 12 months (ouch!!)

This site is well worth a visit!! 10/10 for everything!! We will be going again this summer for sure!!

The only negaitive comment that I can make is that the toilets & shower block were a little dated, but they were always extremely clean which made it feel better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Good views over fields for many miles, lovely sunsets. Wendy and Jim are friendly and welcoming to tourists. Great base for Dalby and surrounding area. Stayed here on 3 occasions and have been lucky that there were lovely other families staying too and the children played together. Shower block kept clean by owners - also bucket & mop left so users can give their shower a quick mop afterwards. Will happily go back here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank behappyejp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Stayed on the campsite here recently for Will Young/Plan B concerts in Dalby Forest. The people are lovely - very welcoming. The site itself is great, nice big pitches and fabulous views. Facilities are limited but it is just a small site so we never had a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cropton100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed here with my other half and my 8 year old boy. From start to finish we had a great time and to spend time in this fabulous cottage and awesome grounds just complimented our trip even more.
Upon arrival we were met by Wendy who gave us a tour of the farm and the cottage, she was extremely friendly and very helpful. Later on we met Jim. He gave us some top tips on places to visit and pointed us in the right direction as to keep us busy.
The cottage itself is lovely, the pictures show it well, but they do not do it justice! The interior has a modern but contemporary feel to it, with good quality fixtures and fittings. The underfloor heating wasn't required as the cottage maintains heat nicely. The bedrooms come with tv/dvd combos to keep your little one quiet in the morning should you fancy a lie in. The exterior of the cottage is in keeping with the traditional Yorkshire countryside.
You are within 25 metres from the entrance into the Great Yorkshire Forest (Dalby Forest) so if you want to ride into the trails on your bike it is right on your doorstep. You can also hike straight in. It's a couple of miles in to get to the bike hire place, but it's all road so if you fancy you can leave your car at the cottage and avoid the £7 toll fee for your car.
You cannot go wrong at this place! To stay in a pub at the nearby town of Pickering would cost you £70 for a night, this would be for a room only.
We'll be back.
Obliged

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANDYPERV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thornton-Le-Dale hotels
1.8 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bridgefoot House
Bridgefoot House
#1 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
152 reviews
1.7 mi away
Warrington Guest House
Warrington Guest House
#5 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
High Dalby House
High Dalby House
#4 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
80 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Pexton Moor Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pexton Moor Farm

Address: Low Dalby, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Thornton-Le-Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing