We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat!”
Review of High Dalby House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
High Dalby House
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed in Pheasant Cottage for a short mid-week 'outdoorsy' break in Dalby Forest. I'd booked it as a treat after moving house... and what a treat it was to stay at High Dalby House! The cottage was well equipped, beautifully decorated, and showed an attention to every detail a visitor might need during their stay. We received information by email before arriving, and were given a warm welcome by owners David and Sandra. The location was perfect for getting out onto the trails with our bikes, and there was a secure shed for bike/kit storage. If we weren't already impressed, we certainly were after seeing the gardens which have been lovingly cared for and a quick look round the main house. Thank you so much for making this a relaxing break away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDHowner, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thanks very much for your wonderful review of our cottages. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope it encourages other guests, and in particular mountain bikers, to stay with us in future. It was great to see that you appreciated the hard work we have put into our cottages, grounds and gardens and as you have discovered High Dalby House is still a delight to behold even in winter.
We thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

David and Sandra have created something wonderful in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The public areas feel like home, only better- we felt instantly welcome as we relaxed from our journey. David served us a welcome drink and home-baked cakes, organised dinner at a local eatery- and taught us the backroad short cut to get there!

Our bedroom was thoughtfully laid out, and the bathroom was brand new and fully appointed. The rooms are well proportioned and comfortable, and bigger than most rooms I've experienced in this price range.

Breakfast should not be missed. The produce is all locally sourced. I especially enjoyed the eggs and sausages that come from a local monastery, and are prepared to order by Davis and served by Sandra.

The only downside for us is that we had to leave early on Sunday morning for a convention in nearby Pickering. We will be back, and this time we'll stay a while, and enjoy it even more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

What a wonderful review - thank you very much! We were delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you found "things as they ought to be". We always wanted to create something really special - we had a head start as this is one of the most spectacular locations in the North York Moors and it is gratifying that you have appreciated what we have added to give our guests an unforgettable experience.
We do look forward to your return so that you can properly relax and leave restored in body, mind and spirit.
Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed at High Dalby House for our tenth wedding anniversary and we couldn't have enjoyed it more. We knew we were in for a treat as we drove through the stunning postcard scenery of Dalby Forest to find High Dalby House tucked into a little corner of forest heaven.

We were greeted by the most thoughtful hosts I have ever encountered. Sandra and David are warm, friendly and welcoming and have thought of every detail so you don't have to. We were served drinks and cake in the beautiful orangery that overlooks a stunning lakeside view, and had champagne perfectly chilled ready to serve having had it sent as a surprise by a friend.

The room (Fountains) was absolutely stunning with a luxurious bath and more amazing forest views and the most comfortable bed I have slept in! We were spoilt with all the little extras, sparkling water, fresh milk for the great selection of teas and coffee, lovely toiletries and huge soft towels. The whole place was absolutely immaculate.

For our evening meal we went to the Fox and Rabbit which is just a short drive away and enjoyed a hearty first class meal in front of a roaring fire.

In the morning Sandra and David welcomed us to breakfast where we were presented with a feast of fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, a choice of cooked breakfasts, tea, coffee, juice (and probably more, I can't remember it all but it was fit for royalty!). Our cooked breakfast was perfectly cooked and was made with fresh local produce.

We finished off our morning with a lovely walk around the grounds in what is a truely breathtaking place.

Overall a superb experience. A perfect romantic retreat in one of Yorkshires most beautiful places. We will definitely go back and would recommend High Dalby House to anyone who wants to escape, relax and enjoy a little bit of heaven!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJPel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review - "...escape, relax and enjoy a little bit of heaven!" what a wonderful summary of this special place - it just about says it all. We are delighted you found High Dalby House to be the perfect place for your celebration and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at High Dalby House for our honeymoon. It was such an idyllic place to stay. Our room was the rosedale which was beautifully decorated and immaculate. The en suite was lovely and modern. The owners where extremely friendly especially considering we didn't arrive until 11.30pm. Breakfast was high quality both for meat eaters and vegetarian. My husband and I couldn't have asked for anything better for our honeymoon. We will hopefully be retuning for our 1 year anniversary. Worth every penny you do pay for quality here, could not fault the owners. Thank you

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly06ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDHowner, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you both for your super review. We are delighted that we 'ticked all the boxes' and that you left us thinking that you could not have found or asked for anywhere better to stay for your honeymoon. High Dalby House is truly a special place and we only hope that your independent review persuades other prospective honeymooners to book with us too.
We look forward to your return when you celebrate your first anniversary and hopefully you will return for many more years to come.
Good luck and best wishes to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Idyllic position in the heart of the forest, we have just had three days of peace and quiet at this lovely secluded retreat. Hosts David and Sandra were welcoming and very helpful, we were greeted after a long journey with the offer of tea and cake, shown to a luxurious room with a perfect view of the gardens and forest beyond. Yes as other reviewers have said our bathroom was 2 steps across the corridor but this was never a problem and fluffy dressing gowns and slippers were provided, the bathroom was sparkling both in cleanliness and style. We were spoilt for choice with the breakfast, and when I telephoned in advance to speak to Sandra and David about arrival times etc, I was given information on where to eat and times available for our evening meals. We found several places within 10 mins car journey that served good fare and arranged our days accordingly. The actual location is ideal for walkers, cyclists and people who enjoy the wildlife the grounds are extensive and you can easily lose an hour watching the birds in the garden. We have had a perfect break thanks to this lovely house and its hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybird67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you very much for your superb review and very kind comments. We really do appreciate it when guests give up their valuable time to prepare a review and we thank you for perfectly summing up what guests can expect at High Dalby House. In particular we are delighted that you have put the "problem" of our private bathrooms to bed (hopefully once and for all) for anyone considering staying with us. We know that you recognised the benefits of having the facility of having both a large bedroom and a large bathroom rather than having a small en suite bathroom crammed into the corner of your bedroom - and 99.9% of our guests have also been delighted with these rooms.
We know that your stay with us completely recharged your batteries and we hope it will not be too long before we see you at High Dalby House again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This small hotel is pure luxury in a beautiful and peaceful setting. The rooms are beautifully decorated, immaculate and have views over the gardens and lake, we have stayed here the same weekend two years running, both times in the Rosedale room complete with four-poster bed and wooden floor. The bathroom is amazing with bath and separate shower cubicle. The hosts Sandra and David cannot do enough for you, the service is exceptional from the welcome cava and cake, recommendations for places to eat for evening meals and their attention to detail. The breakfast is all cooked fresh and there is a vast amount of choice and again a meticulous attention to detail. We have travelled all over the world and this is without doubt one of the best places we have stayed. Cant wait to return again

Room Tip: All the bedrooms have fantastic views over the lake and gardens, you really are spoilt for choice, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Reviews do not come much better than this especially from guests as well travelled as yourselves. It was a delight to have you both here again for your celebration and we hope to see you here again soon. We always do our best to ensure have that perfect break 'away from it all" and we are glad you enjoyed yourselves. You are, of course, right - High Dalby House and its grounds is a real gem and we look forward to even more guests sharing your fantastic experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

If it is pure luxury you are looking for then look no further. My husband and I have stayed at some lovely places over the last 10 years and this beats them all hands down. I booked this as an anniversary treat and for location as enthusiastic walkers this was the perfect place within Dalby forest. On arrival we were immediatly upgraded to the Fountains room by a very welcoming host Sandra. The room was beautiful and tastefully decorated with everthing you could need, the bathroom was massive and had that wow factor. We was then invited down for a glass of bubbly and cake which was very welcoming after a 20 mile walk! Sandra and David then helped by recommending somewhere to eat for tea and explaining a little about the house and grounds. The gardens with the stream and lake are a piece of paradise. The honesty bar is a lovely touch and we was made to feel very welcome. In every other place we have stayed we have always come away saying if this was done, or if they did that it would have been better, not here we honestly could not find one thing to fault and can say this is a credit to Sandra and David. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

What a fantastic review! Wow! We are ever so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated everything we have to offer at High Dalby House. We always aim to maintain the highest possible standards so that our guests experience something genuinely special. It is therefore very rewarding to find our aims have been achieved and recognised by discerning guests such as yourselves.
It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope it will not be long before you stay with us again. In fact, you need to get yourselves back here as soon as possible so that you may experience the unbelievable Autumn colours in the grounds and valley sides surrounding us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
4.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
4.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
14.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
254 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
9.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Dalby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Dalby House

Address: High Dalby House Thornton-Le-Dale | Pickering, North York Moors National Park, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Price Range: £150 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — High Dalby House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Dalby House is a Country House with 17th century origins located in Dalby Forest in the North York Moors National Park. Our luxury accommodation, good food, breathtaking scenery, woodland walks, fishing lake, stables and a tennis court all combine to create a wonderful ambience in which to relax and unwind. Mountain bike trails, walking trails and "Go Ape" all on our doorstep. Perfect for business meetings and touring the area. We cater exclusively for adults. This is a Dark Skies Discovery Site (Milky Way Class) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your High Dalby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing