We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of High Dalby House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Dalby House
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

An absolutely gorgeous house in an idyllic setting with the most welcoming of hosts. The gardens are immaculately kept with wonderful features like the lilly pond, water fall and running stream.
We couldn't fault a thing, and breakfast kept us full all day!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thanks for your great review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. As you have found, our house and gardens enjoy an unequalled and truly stunning setting and maintaining them is a labour of love.
We hope it won't be long before we see you up here again soon for some well earned R & R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Excellent location. Really quiet and set in wonderful gardens. One of the few places that I would go back to. Exceptionally clean and wonderful hosts.

Great views, parking in the middle of the Forest and within easy reach of the walks or resting that the forest has to offer.

Room Tip: Garden lake view is super
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thanks for your fantastic review. We do find it very rewarding when guests take the time and effort to advise others of our stunning location, accommodation and our exemplary housekeeping.
We just hope that others reading our reviews recognise that there is nowhere better place to stay and that we are superbly situated to discover the surrounding forest, North York Moors and Heritage Coast.
We do hope that it will not be long before we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just stayed for 2 nights and could not find fault with anything. Accommodation beautiful, breakfast excellent. The hosts were very friendly and would like to thank them very much for transporting us to and from the local pub where we had dinner. On arrival we were offered cake and fizz. The room was comfy and the bathroom stunning. There was a good selection of hot and cold food available at breakfast ( full english was huge). Well worth stopping at High Dalby if you are planning a visit to the area

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We are delighted that you appreciated what High Dalby House has to offer and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Helping you enjoy your stay as much a possible is just part and parcel of the customer care we offer to all of our guests.
Thanks for your great review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Rosedale room which overlooked beautiful grounds. The room was large, clean and comfortable with four poster bed and amazing en-suite bathroom. We chose a Vegetarian fried breakfast which was perfectly cooked and very tasty! lashings of fresh fruit, toast and pastries were also available. The hosts David and Sandra were friendly and attentive. We were sad to leave such a relaxing place. A very well deserved 10/10.

Room Tip: Any room would be lovely I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thanks for your fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed our vegetarian cooked breakfast and we hope it will not be too long before you sample another!
We note that you enjoyed a relaxing stay - it's great to know we are doing things right.
We hope to see you again when the trees are in full leaf.
Happy Easter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

its in the middle of the forest .the property consists of cottages and the main house .we had the main house the bedroom was huge and very comfortable .the bathroom was themed black and with heated floor and smoked glass shower .no expense had been spared . a glass of fizz plus cake was presented on our arrival and served in the huge conservatory.we had info of local eating places given and the choices were first class. if you get the chance pay this place a visit you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: we had a room with ensuite over looking the lake and back gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysareus21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the extent to which we have "pushed the boat out" to provide only the best for our guests. As you have now discovered this is a truly fairytale location so what better way to be introduced to it than sipping an ice cold glass of Cava whilst taking in the magnificent views!
We are delighted you found our great local restaurants to be first class - we are lucky to have so many good choices close by.
We hope to see you again soon - thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed in Pheasant Cottage for a short mid-week 'outdoorsy' break in Dalby Forest. I'd booked it as a treat after moving house... and what a treat it was to stay at High Dalby House! The cottage was well equipped, beautifully decorated, and showed an attention to every detail a visitor might need during their stay. We received information by email before arriving, and were given a warm welcome by owners David and Sandra. The location was perfect for getting out onto the trails with our bikes, and there was a secure shed for bike/kit storage. If we weren't already impressed, we certainly were after seeing the gardens which have been lovingly cared for and a quick look round the main house. Thank you so much for making this a relaxing break away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hanb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HDHowner, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thanks very much for your wonderful review of our cottages. We were delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope it encourages other guests, and in particular mountain bikers, to stay with us in future. It was great to see that you appreciated the hard work we have put into our cottages, grounds and gardens and as you have discovered High Dalby House is still a delight to behold even in winter.
We thank you again for your kind comments and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

David and Sandra have created something wonderful in a peaceful and beautiful surrounding. The public areas feel like home, only better- we felt instantly welcome as we relaxed from our journey. David served us a welcome drink and home-baked cakes, organised dinner at a local eatery- and taught us the backroad short cut to get there!

Our bedroom was thoughtfully laid out, and the bathroom was brand new and fully appointed. The rooms are well proportioned and comfortable, and bigger than most rooms I've experienced in this price range.

Breakfast should not be missed. The produce is all locally sourced. I especially enjoyed the eggs and sausages that come from a local monastery, and are prepared to order by Davis and served by Sandra.

The only downside for us is that we had to leave early on Sunday morning for a convention in nearby Pickering. We will be back, and this time we'll stay a while, and enjoy it even more.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra W, Owner at High Dalby House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

What a wonderful review - thank you very much! We were delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you found "things as they ought to be". We always wanted to create something really special - we had a head start as this is one of the most spectacular locations in the North York Moors and it is gratifying that you have appreciated what we have added to give our guests an unforgettable experience.
We do look forward to your return so that you can properly relax and leave restored in body, mind and spirit.
Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
4.5 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
4.5 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
691 reviews
14.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
254 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
9.5 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Dalby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Dalby House

Address: High Dalby House Thornton-Le-Dale | Pickering, North York Moors National Park, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Price Range: £150 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — High Dalby House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Dalby House is a Country House with 17th century origins located in Dalby Forest in the North York Moors National Park. Our luxury accommodation, good food, breathtaking scenery, woodland walks, fishing lake, stables and a tennis court all combine to create a wonderful ambience in which to relax and unwind. Mountain bike trails, walking trails and "Go Ape" all on our doorstep. Perfect for business meetings and touring the area. We cater exclusively for adults. This is a Dark Skies Discovery Site (Milky Way Class) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your High Dalby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing