We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better!”
Review of Bridgefoot House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridgefoot House
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here, although the first time was under different ownwership, however we will be back for a third stay! We stayed during the Dalby Forest concerts weekend, the B&B is ideally located to use as a base to travel to the forest, the surrounding area or even just to stay and explore the lovely village of Thornton-Le- Dale.
The owners Ron and Lindsey were very welcoming and hard working!
We had a twin room which was large with comfortable beds, clean and fully equipt. The building is an old 17th century house with lots of nooks and crannies and plenty of character, but with all modern day facilities.
Breakfast is a selection of fruit, cereals, toast and full cooked breakfast, delicious and freshly cooked to order by Lindsey.
The parking is a little snug but manageable, but what do you expect as this house was built in the 17th century when parking wasn't an issue!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WGreen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are glad you had good weather for the evening open air concert at Dalby Forest. The house certainly does have character and we are lucky to be in such a lovely village. We are pleased you enjoyed the choice and quality of Lindsey’s breakfast. Come back and see us soon. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    22
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
95
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I booked this b and b after reading glowing reports. Sorry, but I tend to agree with one of the reviews given; regarding bleach smell in the shower room, there are a couple of tiles at the lower part of the shower, loose,needing re-grouting, which may account for the damp smell. The shower head holder needed a clean, it was brown. The shower door; when opened outward dripped water onto the carpet; which accounted for the dark stain. Also, the expelair fan needed a clean, also the back of the T.V. skirting. The door to the shower room had stains on it, from the splashes of water from the sink next to it. Looked as though it had been there a while.

This was room 4, no view only onto the yard, parking area. The room is tired looking, quite dated, but not in a charming 17th century way. The positive for the room was a comfortable bed. Sorry, the inside of the kettle needs a clean out, limescale build up.

Attractive dining room, with view to garden and traditional style furniture.The breakfast would have been okay, but spoilt because they had run out of tinned grapefruit, the only other option was tinned fruit cocktail, not a particularly wonderful option. Surely fresh fruit salad would have been a better option. Breakfast well cooked and tasty. Tea, certainly not of the best quality, not Yorkshire tea bags for certain. My daughter wanted skimmed milk, but there was none available. What I noticed were the dead flower petals on the side, in the breakfast room and the dying flowers in the vases, also dead flower petals on the piano in the entrance hall. Perhaps that's what we were paying £5 extra for that weekend. The owner was pleasant enough and apologetic, but for the price, I have certainly had better accommodation.

Room Tip: Avoid room 4 and 3, both have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for posting your review. The breakfast choice on the dresser consisted of a variety of fresh fruit, grapefruit, fruit cocktail, seven cereals and a choice of three fruit juices followed by your choice of cooked breakfast. We are sorry we ran out of grapefruit and we did actually serve Yorkshire tea that morning. We always like fresh flowers in the dining room and in the hall. On the breakfast tables were spray carnations. The flowers on the side table and the piano in the hall were lilies and these are prone to dropping their petals. The issues with your room have been addressed. We are pleased you found the bed comfortable and appreciated the dining room with the view to the garden. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebburn
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Have just returned home after staying at Bridgefoot House, we really,really enjoyed our stay there. Ron and Linsey made everybody feel welcome. Our room was quite large, with the biggest bed ive ever slepted in, breakfast was as much or as little as you requested. Our views from our windows where of the village and the great garden. We would stay again.
Gary and Julie.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the space and views of one of our superior rooms with the superking sized bed. We are also pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts. Hope we see you again soon. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We wanted somewhere which was comfortable and within walking distance of places to eat in the evening to stay for three nights. We also like somewhere with a bit of history. Bridgefoot House certainly ticked all these boxes. Ashton le Dale is s pretty village with a bec running through and is really idyllic. Bridgefoot house dates back to the 16thc and there are lots more historic buildings to see there . The rooms are comfortable and the breakfasts are great. Even got gluten free bread for me, which was much appreciated. Ron and Lindsey are lovely hosts. There are a number of places to eat within a few minutes walk and all were fine. There are also gift shops and a bakery. Well located for site seeing . Highly recommended !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and we are glad you all enjoyed your stay. Thornton-le-Dale is a pretty village with pubs serving real ale and good food which we believe was important in your choice of location. Hope we see you again soon on your next trip to the North. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

having stopped at many b and bs and guest houses this certainly comes out as one of the best the room was large the bed very comfy and the breakfast first class the owners were very helpful and friendly and Im sure if anyone wanted anything they would be happy to help.we look forward to returning soon keep up the good work

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Many thanks for your review. We do appreciate your kind comments – It makes it all worthwhile!
Lindsey does put a lot of time and effort into providing a good breakfast. Come back and see us soon. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the end of May '13. Charming 17th building now used as a B & B. Rooms small (as you would expect in the 17th Century) but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Quality full English breakfast cooked to individual order, and served in delightful dining room furnished in keeping with the building. Good value for money and is ideal for older travelers ! The house is in the centre of the picturesque village, and is ideally located for the North York Moors.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilerkevin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. All our rooms are different sizes from double/single to large family rooms sleeping 4, so we hope to cater for all requirements. We are pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts as we do use quality ingredients from local suppliers. Hope we see you again soon. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Having read rave reviews we had high expectations. Our room was small. There was a strong smell of bleach yet fungal growth in the shower. On three occasions I was given badly stained cups. Another occasoon no milk for tea/coffee in room. Felt more like a guest house than a B&B. Breakfast was good but you had to order the night before.
Location was excellent and despite being on the main road, there was no problem with traffic noise

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popscallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are sorry you were unhappy with some aspects of your stay. The size of the room you chose was displayed on the internet when you booked. If you had asked we could have allocated you another room. We are surprised you say you had badly stained breakfast cups on the three mornings, as Ron personally sets the breakfast tables. We are however pleased you found the location of Bridgefoot Guest House ideal and that you enjoyed Lindsey’s breakfasts. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
2.3 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
676 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
222 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
3.7 mi away
High Dalby House
High Dalby House
#3 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgefoot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgefoot House

Property: Bridgefoot House
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgefoot House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgefoot House is a welcoming and charming Visit England Silver and Breakfast Award winning Guest House, situated next to the famous thatched cottage in the pretty North York Moors National Park village of Thornton-le-Dale. This family run B&B offers comfortable non smoking en-suite accommodation for visitors to this outstanding area of natural beauty. Free Wi-Fi and off road parking is provided.The house dates back to the 17th century when it was built for the school master at the grammar school set up by Lady Lumley. The wonderful balcony window was put in place in 1901 and is a familiar land mark in the village.Bridgefoot House now provides spacious and comfortable B&B accommodation for guests, retaining the features and charm of its long history whilst at the same time all of the requirements of the discerning modern traveller have been included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bridgefoot House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgefoot House Hotel Thornton-Le-Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing