We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visiting family for long weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bridgefoot House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bridgefoot House
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Visiting family for long weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The B&B is set in a typical picturesque Yorkshire village. Warm welcome, changed our room to accommodate a recently received injury, I had received. Our down stairs room a recent addition to the other 8 rooms, was clean, and provided all that was required for our stay with a spacious bathroom with a large shower. We were told that they had added this room for such like customers as me and others that perhaps were either unable to make the stairs, or for families as there was an additional single bed in the room. This is such a good addition, my only comment would be for a curtain over the door between the bedroom and the bathroom, as felt that a net curtain was not sufficient, especially as the cars were parked just outside, and for a grab handle to assist those with mobility issues up the step for the shower.
Breakfast, was great, freshly cooked to your order, local butchers provided most of these fresh produce which where extremely tasty. Lovely dining area, over looking the gardens.
Parking was a little tight
Nothing was too much trouble, for the owners, friendly chat and always on hand.
Having taken on this B&B 3 years ago the owners have certainly worked hard to make it what it is today. We can only hope that next time we visit our daughter, that they have spaces.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    21
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a very nice B&B with very friendly owners, an excellent breakfast with good choice, a good location - we couldn't believe how quiet it was bearing in mind it is on the main road through Thornton - very convenient to explore the village, and it has parking which is no bad thing here. Nice comfortable and clean room - no.2. The only down side is the bathroom which is well appointed but very,very small.
I don't give out 5 stars very often and don't really understand why people seem to for places that are not perfect. What I am trying to say is that this is a good review from me as I don't often find places with no faults - in this case the bathroom

Room Tip: Might be worth asking for a larger bathroom if staying more than a night?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank princewobblebottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Lovely and welcoming hosts.who provided a really good full English breakfast. Excellent spot for Dalby Forest with secure parking and bike storage. Not too far from Whitby either. The village of Thornton-Le-Dale is very picturesque and homely.

Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford Notts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here 28th and 29th September. Lovely room very clean and well decorated. Close to Pickering then not too close. Best breakfast tasted for a long time.
The owners are friendly and as it says as you enter "Arrive as strangers leave as friends" is very true.
Well recomended look forward to going back.
Only downside is the shower/bathroom is tiny and takes some maneuvering round.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_Retford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in one of the rooms overlooking the garden. We appreciate your comments as Lindsey does like to produce a good breakfast for our guests. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We live in the village and had to stay somewhere very short notice due to a burst water pipe at home. I was immediately made to feel welcome when I rang the bell and enquired about a room for myself, my wife and two young children. Considering this was 4pm, a room was found and made up and I was given a key and told to come back with the family whenever it was convenient.
Bridgefoot is certainly not London 'chic', but it is definitely warm, welcoming and homely and the owners made us feel as if we were part of the family. Considering they are relatively new at this game I think they are doing a fantastic job. Keep up the good work. You are certainly a credit to the village

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonaire78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
It was a pleasure to be able to accommodate you and your family in one of our large
family rooms. We are glad your burst water pipe is now repaired and we hope to see you around in the village. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

stayed here in June on a biking weekend. The owner was very welcoming and upgraded our room when we arrived. Our room was very large with couch, tv, en-suite etc. Breakfast was excellent. Bike storage was also provided. Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your biking weekend here in North Yorkshire. Thornton-le-Dale is certainly ideal for biking with Dalby Forest only a few miles away. Hope we see you again soon. Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in a lovely room. Immaculately clean if but a little dated. Very traditional. It was lovely and spacious.
The couple that owned it were very welcoming and friendly . The breakfast was delicious .
Situated centrally to the village, idealic and pretty.
Would definately return .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgefoot, Owner at Bridgefoot House, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay and found our location ideal. Thornton-le-Dale is certainly a lovely village with many amenities for the tourist. Hope you can come back and stay for longer!! Regards Ron & Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.7 mi away
High Dalby House
High Dalby House
#3 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgefoot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgefoot House

Property: Bridgefoot House
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgefoot House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgefoot House is a welcoming and charming Visit England Silver and Breakfast Award winning Guest House, situated next to the famous thatched cottage in the pretty North York Moors National Park village of Thornton-le-Dale. This family run B&B offers comfortable non smoking en-suite accommodation for visitors to this outstanding area of natural beauty. Free Wi-Fi and off road parking is provided.The house dates back to the 17th century when it was built for the school master at the grammar school set up by Lady Lumley. The wonderful balcony window was put in place in 1901 and is a familiar land mark in the village.Bridgefoot House now provides spacious and comfortable B&B accommodation for guests, retaining the features and charm of its long history whilst at the same time all of the requirements of the discerning modern traveller have been included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bridgefoot House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgefoot House Hotel Thornton-Le-Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing