We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rons, jills, visit to the dales, with denise and dennis..”
Review of Bridgefoot House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bridgefoot House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

we visit bridgefoot house annualy ,in may or june.As usual we were greeted with open arms by ron and lindsay.the en suite rooms are good value for money.The yorkshire breakfast is fabulous ,a great selection of options..thornton is picturesque a focal point to visit scarboro whitby,helmsley, malton,etc.FOR ANY WOULD BE VISITOR TO THORNTON DO VISIT RON AND LINDSAY AT BRIDGEFOOT HOUSE WE HAVE BEEN VISITING BRIDGEFOOT 8 OR 9 YEARS.......the surroundings are idyllic. GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY.......

Room Tip: all rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01011940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have just returned from a relaxing two night visit to the charming village of Thornton-Le-Dale.
On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and were shown to our rooms. These were of a good size, very clean and well presented with all the necessary amenities. We slept extremely well on both nights and enjoyed the hearty breakfast provided. The village itself is a delight and we enjoyed walks around the village following the meandering stream. The village is obviously well cared for and the two pubs offer excellent food. There is also a good fish and chip shop where you can eat in if you wish. A thoroughly enjoyable visit. Thanks to Lindsey and Ron for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Had a very enjoyable few days stay here. Thornton Le Dale is very picturesque, couldn't believe the beautiful thatched cottage just behind the guest house. Welcoming hosts Ron and Lindsey and friendly dog. Room was very clean and comfortable. New Inn a short walk away was a great place for evening meals. Pickering very close with lovely steam train rides. Hope to stay here again. Thanks.

Room Tip: Bit of noise from the kitchen below Room 8 woke us up early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EI60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had a very comfortable stay in a very nice village location. The room was spacious and clean, could do with a new TV. Overall we were very happy and hope to return in the not too distant future. Thanks to our hosts Ron and Lindsey.

Room Tip: Try to get room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnH8792QL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were made to feel very welcome by Lindsey and Ron on arrival.The room was very clean and cozy,nice outlook over pleasant gardens.
The breakfasts are very wholesome and filling,And the service from Ron was top notch.
The Guesthouse is situated ideally in the village of Thornton Le Dale, with plenty of walks available,the village shops are within easy walking distance.
Overall it was a very satisfying and relaxing experiance, I am sure we will be planning another visit before too long.

Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were greeted warmly by Lindsey and Ron on arrival. Our room was spacious and comfortable, particularly the bed. The bathroom was clean and tidy with plenty of hot water, however we would have preferred vinyl lay to the carpet on the floor. The guest house was spotless and the breakfast delicious and plentiful. I would have preferred fresh fruit to the tinned provided. Ron was very attentive to our needs. We were very pleased with our short stay at Bridgefoot Guest House and would stay there again without any hesitation. Thornton-Le-Dale is a very pretty village and an ideal base for touring North East Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sansea2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We had 4 very comfortable nights here in February. It's very clean, very comfortable and breakfast is delicious. As others have noted, there is a very good choice for breakfast. Ron and Lindsey are excellent hosts, very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. It's lovely and quiet, despite being just a short stroll from the village centre with its shops, pubs, etc. Can't fault it! We were lucky enough to be upgraded to Room 8, a family room on the first floor, light and airy and overlooking the gardens; I have never slept in a more comfortable bed. The building is very old and therefore a little quirky - a few odd steps here and there and a couple of slightly-lower-than-usual door lintels - which all add to the general character of the place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pom707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
691 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warrington Guest House
Warrington Guest House
#5 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgefoot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgefoot House

Address: Chestnut Avenue, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Price Range: £78 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgefoot House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgefoot House is a welcoming and charming Visit England Silver and Breakfast Award winning Guest House, situated next to the famous thatched cottage in the pretty North York Moors National Park village of Thornton-le-Dale. This family run B&B offers comfortable non smoking en-suite accommodation for visitors to this outstanding area of natural beauty. Free Wi-Fi and off road parking is provided.The house dates back to the 17th century when it was built for the school master at the grammar school set up by Lady Lumley. The wonderful balcony window was put in place in 1901 and is a familiar land mark in the village.Bridgefoot House now provides spacious and comfortable B&B accommodation for guests, retaining the features and charm of its long history whilst at the same time all of the requirements of the discerning modern traveller have been included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bridgefoot House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgefoot House Hotel Thornton-Le-Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing