We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome by the owners”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bridgefoot House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bridgefoot House
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A warm welcome by the owners”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for my sisters wedding in the area, warm welcome by the new owners who were very accommodating to all our needs as we booked out all rooms. We were in the larger family room, beds very comfortable & even though on the front the road noise wasn't noticed. The bathroom was small with a bath & not a proper shower ( this wasn't a real problem) would be nice if the carpet could be taken out of bathrooms.

Everything clean & nothing too much trouble so i would stay here again. Breakfast pre-ordered day before & cooked to order as you arrive at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithysmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    21
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
87
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We returned to Bridgefoot House after a gap of several years.Ron And Lindsey have taken over since our last visit and they made us so very welcome.Our room was spacious and very comfortable and everything was to our liking.Breakfast.-It would take some beating.We will definately return.That says it all.

Room Tip: Tell them what appeals to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Superb place to stay, accepts dogs which is a bonus..
Fantastic hosts, good hearty breakfast, plenty of choice. Lovely clean accommodation. The room we had was spacious with a seperate entrance due to our four legged friend
Definatley recommended.
Lovely area to visit and sight see from as a base!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DylanDogLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatteris, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We would recommend this lovely guest house. It was in a lovely location, the hosts were friendly and they did all they could to make our stay perfect. The room was spacious and the beds lovely and comfortable, the breakfast was absolutely fantastic! Thornton-le-Dale is a little gem, it is very pretty with walks to go on, a couple of pubs that served lovely food and the people are very friendly. We had a fantastic time and we are hoping to go again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

great welcome.accomodation matched the setting - fantastic. I needed a break before going into hospital we got what we wanted nice accomodation,great breakfast, good service and to enjoy yorkshires hidden gem thornton le dale.all the boxes were ticked i would definately return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for the 2nd time in June 2014. Again, it was after a mountain biking trip to Dalby. We arrived quite late but that was no problem. Parked up and put our bikes in the secure storage. Quickly checked-in and had a chat with the owner then headed out to watch the 1st game of the World Cup in a pub in Thornton-le-Dale.
The room we were in had a seperate bathroom en suite and was on the ground floor. Very spacious and with lovely bed linen. Nice and quiet.
Breakfast was served the next day and it is one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Delicious. We sorted our stuff out, checked out, got the bikes and headed off.
The hosts make everything so easy and are very accommodating. Very friendly people who show an interest in what their guests are up to. There was a very good vibe in the breakfast room.
Thanks again for a lovely stay. If you want somewhere with good access to North Yorkshire, not too far from Whitby, really close to Dalby, then look no further than Bridgefoot House!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

An excellent place to stay in a beautiful location - the room was very comfortable and the location was absolutely tops. The hosts are very friendly and the food very good - we'd highly recommend this stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton-Le-Dale
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Forest & Vale Hotel
7.6 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#1 of 4 in Malton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pickering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
11.4 mi away
Burythorpe House
Burythorpe House
#1 of 1 in Burythorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bridgefoot House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgefoot House

Property: Bridgefoot House
Address: Chestnut Avenue, Thornton-Le-Dale YO18 7RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Thornton-Le-Dale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton-Le-Dale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bridgefoot House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgefoot House is a welcoming and charming Visit England Silver and Breakfast Award winning Guest House, situated next to the famous thatched cottage in the pretty North York Moors National Park village of Thornton-le-Dale. This family run B&B offers comfortable non smoking en-suite accommodation for visitors to this outstanding area of natural beauty. Free Wi-Fi and off road parking is provided.The house dates back to the 17th century when it was built for the school master at the grammar school set up by Lady Lumley. The wonderful balcony window was put in place in 1901 and is a familiar land mark in the village.Bridgefoot House now provides spacious and comfortable B&B accommodation for guests, retaining the features and charm of its long history whilst at the same time all of the requirements of the discerning modern traveller have been included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bridgefoot House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgefoot House Hotel Thornton-Le-Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing