We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Douglas Valley Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parbold
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Douglas Valley Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Parbold B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel very recently. Booking by phone was easy, the welcome was very suitable, the room perfect for the price paid - just £49.00 including breakfast, yes £49.00! We were recommended to a selection of pubs in the village - we went to them all - and had a great breakfast, cooked by the proprietor who again couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Quiet room by the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikepowell29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This hotel provided a fantastic base from which to take part in the Parbold Hill race. The service was extremely friendly and went far beyond reasonable expectations: we were able to use the dining facilities for takeaways, and even to come back to shower after the race, late in the afternoon. The cooked breakfast was excellent, fuelling us up nicely for a long muddy run.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psmt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We were really well looked after with a great breakfast and allowed to shower after our cross country race at Parbold in the afternoon.

We were provided with a space to eat our dinner from a good local takeaway after arriving late in the evening.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank EdwardMoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in room on top floor a family room.plenty of room clean however the carpet was well worn and ill fitting for room.Stayed with my wife and step children .The owners had placed a further put me up bed in with main double bed decided to place this bed where settee was on moving the settee it was quite obvious it had not been vacuumed for ages .Saying that overall the B and B was good value for money excellent breakfast and staff present very helpful.A little updating required on carpeting throughout !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevintaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The ground floor twin room was poorly maintained and appointed. Damage had not be repaired and although clean was far from adequate. The room was extremely hot and only one window opened. One of the two beds was directly under the window which was next to the main road, 100 yds from the railway and had a pub directly opposite. The smells from the tandoori take away next door where overwhelming. The property is up for sale
When we asked for a change of room we were told that the manager was out for an hour when we came back in two hours no one was available and no message had been left for us.
Totally unacceptable. We found somewhere else to stay. Avoid.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 2_us2dewsmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Susan & Philip & Jack,
We have stayed at this hotel on three occasions, chosen initially because they offered a friendly welcome to our little Jack Russell...oh and to us too! Warm welcome and clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfasts and although they are not currently doing evening meals, the village has a good choice of pubs and restaurants and takeaways.The area around is lovely. To sum up good honest value for money, and we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 206susanneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Jeff and Liz made us feel very welcome and the breakfast with locally sourced bacon and sausages was lovely. The room was clean and comfortable with good quality furniture and fittings. Bed very comfortable. Slight niggle was there was no hairdrier and I had forgotten to pack mine! Nice touch was the additional heater as we stayed during a very wintery spell and the room got quite cold once the central heating had been switched off for the night. Please can we have skimmed milk too with the complementary tea and coffee! We will definitely stay again as this hotel is ideal as it is only 100m from our relative's home and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Take your own hairdrier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneH746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Douglas Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Valley Hotel

Address: 8 Station Road, Parbold WN8 7NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Parbold
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Parbold
Price Range: £39 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parbold is just over 3 miles from Jnc 27 M6 & M58 Jnc 4. Parbold is within easy reach by rail of Southport, Wigan & Manchester + Airport, making Parbold a great location to stay if you want a cosy village feel when visiting some of the North Wests most popular places and attractions. We are also 8 mins from Wrightington Hospital. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing