We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good Experience”
Review of Eagle Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eagle Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Our reservation in a nearby resort having been cancelled; we (3 friends and myself) went to the Eagle Point Resort as Walk-In Guests.

Intimidated by the bad reviews on tripadvisor, we requested the receptionist to show us the facility before renting the rooms and she had no objection in doing so. After touring the place, we decided to book four deluxe cottage rooms for an overnight stay [and we were granted a 10% discount ].

The rooms were clean [i did not notice any particular problems with the bed sheets / linens], air conditioned, with LCD TV, phone, fridge, wifi (for a fee) and a safe (couldnt figure out how to use it though). There were few insects in the room (ants, mosquitoes etc ...), but i think that these can't be avoided since the rooms are in the middle of the forest. The rooms had an incredible view.

The resort is relatively big, since it stretches over more than 300 m; it had two fresh water swimming pools and a salt water pool (with sharks) . The pools were not overwhelming however we had no problem swimming in them. The Pool Bar closes at around 11; however, the pool remains accessible till the wee hours.

The food was correct, we went for the breakfast (included in the fare), lunch and dinner buffet [we did not try the a la carte menu]. There was a relatively good variety of food; the meal costing +/- 500 PHP per person was a fair value for the food served. The staff was attentive and ready to serve. Some of my friends were disappointed by the drinks (which they found tasteless);i personally didn't try any. It's worth mentioning that the restaurant has a very nice set-up whereas the view while eating was amazing.

As most of the resorts in Mabini, the shore is rather rocky; we snorkeled in front of the resort and there were some very nice corals just few meters away. Some part of the beach is dirty and the hotel management should consider cleaning it more often.

We took a boat ride to their exclusive island (Sepoc - with white sand); however, we were disappointed since we were mainly looking for snorkeling spots.

The overall experience was good as the four of us enjoyed our stay. This facility is a good value for money. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were at Eagle Point last May 11 to 12 for a family get together with my balikbayan parents and siblings. First the location is really very far and there were very few signages going to the resort. There is also a very narrow road that you have to negotiate before you can reach the resort's parking area. Service was bad at the front desk, when we got there I was given the keys to the rooms but nobody was there to help with the bags or at least direct us to the rooms. The cottages could use some updating but were at least clean and there were pullouts in some of the rooms so it could actually fit three people and beddings can be requested from room service for free. The hotel rooms were a little newer and the 2 that we got had lofts so it could easily fit 4 to 6 pax. sad thing is there are no elevators in the hotel so if you get the 4th floor it will be a good climb. There are 3 swimming pools - 2 for kids with slide and another one which is at the other end of the hotel about 5 feet deep. The resort is really for snorkeling and diving, the beach is quite rocky. There is a "pool" about 12 feet deep where you can snorkel if you don't feel safe going out. the pool has baby sharks, i counted about 4 and other marine life. Meals are buffet style and very tasty, dining staff are also very nice. If there is one thing I'd like the resort to really improve on is the service at reservations. The reservations manager has also this habit of making side comments that are a little off and gives me an image of a cheap, low class resort.

Room Tip: If you have issues about walking and climbing far, get cottages no farther than 205. For hotel rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlsandwine63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

The receptionist at the front desk, very inexperienced. She doesn' t know anything. I don't know if she's confused, dazed or just doesn't know what I'm saying. The room we checked in had a cockroach on the bed. Bedsheets had blood stains. Dirty towels. Shower had a very small amount of water coming out. It will take you an hour to finish showering. Food was very expensive, very bland and not good at all. Their ala carte menu was in xerox copy,you could hardly see the menu. Our order took 45 min. They have a 10% hidden charge on their food. Beware. Their beach was dirty, it had cracker wrappers and the water had bubbles.Their pool even more. I could go on forever. . .

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Our first visit to Eagle Point was way back 2004 or 2005 and since then I just love going back there. Food is great (buffet Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner), Rooms are clean and the Staff... very accommodating. Trip to Sepoc Island is definitely what I am looking forward to every time we visit the resort..... Have to book soon my 5th...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ph2AAguilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

we stayed here expecting that the family would enjoy this get away. By far, this was the unsatisfactory hotel i have stayed on. Following reasons are:
1. The road to this hotel is a one way narrow steep path leading you to the hotel.
2. The so called shuttle they use is a jeepney which will take you to main reception of the hotel that was fine though no issues.
3. We approached the male receptionist who has no clue of what he was doing and i had to explain all that was included on our package.they could not grant us an early check in as the hotel was full,but not a big deal. we were waiting on our welcome drink,(which was included on our package)which they never served.
4. The most disappointing about this hotel was their food! You are not allowed to bring any food. So you have to rely on the sole restaurant managed by the hotel which by the way is Extremely expensive! The cheapest on the menu was the rice which was 50 pesos for a tiny tiny serving. the food ordered will have 10% vat , ofcourse the drinks would have separate 10% vat to get more money out of you. Since the buffet was 395/head(tax and drinks not yet included) with very minimal choice,we decided to have the ala carte and was very surprised about how little the serving was, and the taste, not so good at all!
5. They booked us on 2 separate cottage. The cottage looks to be old,which felt like breaking whenever i walked across the room.
The aircon was emitting hot air not cold. The cable tv had only 5-8 working channel, even abs-cbn and gma channels are very blurry. The toilet had a funky odd smell maybe because there was no exhaust built on it. The water pressure was very very low and it would take you hours to finish your bath! Wait there's more, the flush is also not doing its job well maybe because the water flow was very low.
6. We had a snorkelling package each, which they were charging us at checkout because they said that the ensogo voucher is only entitled per room not per voucher. Imagine the case, all 6 of us purchased the voucher each and is clearly stated that the voucher is for entitled for 1person, it does not in any way state that snorkel mask had to be shared per room! So they were charging us the extra 4 snorkel mask at 150-each.
7. At checkout we had a remaining bill of 9k which i am aware of, but upon seeing the bill, the 9k amount was crossed out and replaced by 12k. No details as to why they were charging us more, when i showed the email of the reservations agent that i only have 9k balance, they decided to revert it back to 9k.maybe for some reason they thought that they could cheat me into paying more.

The only good thing about this hotel is their polite and corteus staff. Otherwise everything is about money.

I dont recommend you to stay on this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manlaiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was our second visit in 2012. Rather disappointing weekend indeed.

Still good:
- nice isolated beach on Sepok islaland, although their boat rent went up to PHP 2,000
- delux Terrace room is of reasonable quality

Bad:
- huge disappointment in food - how can you manage spoiling a simple omelette. Twice in one breakfast.
- pool - disgusting, had to refuse kids getting into it, no further comment

All in all, very disappointing. Rapid decline in management. We are not going to go there any more.

Stayed: May 2012
2  Thank Gabit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This is my third trip to Eagle Point and I can't get over the fact that it keeps on getting better. The facilities and water quality is nice and clean. They renovated and improved on the rooms at the Terraces Building. I didn't get to check out the cottages to see if there were any changes there. Hot and cold running water, no hairdryer and tea making facility in the rooms though. Mattress and linens were decent. The outdoor bar closes at 10pm, but the bar at the main lobby/restaurant is supposed to be open 24 hrs (didn't check to see if this was true) with limited food options. The beach at Sepok Island is clean and very relaxing since you need to hire a boat to take you there, so there are very limited people around. Bring surf shoes there though since the sand is very rough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweeney_teng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabini
2.7 mi away
Sea's Spring Resort Hotel
Sea's Spring Resort Hotel
#9 of 10 in Batangas City
78 reviews
23.7 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
201 reviews
23.4 mi away
Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Solana
Solana
#2 of 7 in Mabini
53 reviews
37.3 mi away
Pico Sands Hotel
Pico Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Nasugbu
429 reviews
27.2 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Point Resort

Address: | Barrio Bagalangit, Anilao, Mabini, Luzon 4202, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Mabini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Price Range: £66 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Point Batangas Beach Resort and Hotel, a nature's wonderland situated in Anilao Batangas Philippines, offers a luxurious and yet affordable getaway for couples, family, and groups; a favorite destination of scuba divers from around the world. The resort owns part of Maricaban Island, popularly known as Sepoc Beach Center with longest sandy shore in the area of Anilao Batangas. This place is also famous for company outing and team building venues which is 15 to 20 minutes boat ride from the main resort. This Batangas beach resort is also famous being a dive resort in Anilao Batangas which is in the middle of a network of 30 Anilao dive spots, bursting with underwater life and blessed with clear visibility. Scuba Diving in the Philippines is possible throughout the year particluarly in Anilao Batangas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eagle Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Point Hotel Mabini
Eagle Point Resort Batangas, Philippines - Mabini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing