We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort for diving and more”
Review of Eagle Point Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eagle Point Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Highly recommend this resort whether for a diving excursion or not. Loved their shark pool. Great for snorkeling! Diving was wonderful. Both dive and hotel staff very helpful and accommodating. Resort itself very nice with good food, even if you have the preplanned menu option. I did not know that this is what I had arranged until I got there, but we ended up very pleased with all the food they served us. Could have upgraded to a more varied buffet, but it wasn't necessary. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CountessP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I stayed at Eagle Point. I only chose it because all my other options were fully booked for the weekend. But the moment I arrived, I really felt like my mini vacation had begun. The staff were really friendly, the cottages well-maintained, and the other amenities certainly did not disappoint. I would go back if I wanted to go diving.

AMENITIES
I'm gonna state it right now--if you're looking for a beach vacation, don't stay at Eagle Point. It doesn't have a beach outside the hotel; only rocks and coral. They do have a private beach, but it's in another island and you have to rent a boat for P2,240.

I really love their rooms though! We got the seaview cottage with a terrace that's really overlooking the sea (no misleading claims here). The bathroom was clean, spacious, and stocked with basic toiletries. None of those shared toilet-shower spaces, thank God. The airconditioner worked fine, and they even provide you with bottled water (non replenishable though). The room has a flat screen TV and decent channel options. There's even a closet for you organize your clothes.

There are two pools, one at each end of the resort. They're great, with the bigger one even featuring a slide.

If you're having big group activities, you can rent function rooms.

The dining area is very well furnished, and overlooks the sea. It is honestly a pleasure to have meals at Eagle Point.

PRICE
We paid around P3,400 for the seaview cottage, booked with a discount via Agoda. Pretty good deal, considering the quality of the room. But while we got a good deal with the room, Eagle Point charges you a lot for almost everything else. Want to snorkel? Rent a mask for P250. Want a life vest with that? That'll be P325 total. Kayaking? Sure, if you can fork over P450 per hour. Not to mention the charges for scuba diving lessons.

The price for food was not that bad; you'll probably spend around 300-500 per order. Sometimes they have buffets, which cost P600.

STAFF
The staff are all very courteous and friendly. They'll really go out of your way to help you out.

ACCESSIBILITY
Eagle Point is a little hard to find, being way off the beaten track of a tiny barangay. Once you get there, there's space for parking. A van will bring you from the parking lot to the actual resort, since the resort is at a much lower altitude than the parking area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eleanor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Getting There:
I drove from Manila and getting to Eagle Point Resort was very straight forward. You simply follow the same route for most all the Anilao resorts. There are signs that provide distance to the entrance.

Arrival and Check-in:
Once you arrive at the parking area, you will be met by a mini-van that will drive you and your luggage to the check-in reception.down a steep, winding road to the reception area. The area you check-in is in the same building as the restaraunt. Check-in was efficient and soon we were taken to our room.

Room:
We booked a Superior Room in the Terrace Hotel. The list price was Php 6,000 but we recieved a 30% discount and it included free breakfast. The room was very nice, well appointed with air-conditioning, satellite TV and a small refrigerator stocked with drinks. The bathroom was nice, clean and had a large shower. While it took a while, there was hot water for the shower. Unfortunately the water pressure for the shower was pitiful. It was limited to the shower as the water from the sink had plenty of pressure. It is a shame that such a great room experience was ruined by the shower pressure.

Resort:
Eagle Point is one of the few resorts I have experienced where the pictures on the Internet match reality. The pool and facilities were clean and working. Drinks and food can be ordered near the pool and there is a poolside bar available also. The pool area restrooms were large and clean. Overall a very nice pool area.

Food:
Overall I would rate the food very good. There was only one dish I was disappointed with. The staff were very good a meeting special requests (stuffed grilled squid with extra chili peppers, keeping a coconut in the refrigerator to ensure every order of fresh coconut juice was cold, etc.) The service and the willingness to meet your special requests were excellent. The inclusive breakfast selections and portions were very good. In fact, all food portions were very good. My only complaint is how long it took to get the food after it was ordered. Dinner and lunch orders never arrived quicker than 30 minutes after the order was placed.

Dive Shop:
I was told that less than 10% of guests at Eagle Point Resort go diving. Perhaps that explains why the dive shop has been utterly ignored by the Resort. The condition of the dive shop does not match the rest of the resort, the rental gear looks like it should be scrapped. Overall, the diveshop is an after thought and that is a shame. The dive staff were very helpful and Eagle Point Resort house reef is beautiful with nice coral and some giant clams. I brought my own equipment, so weights and tanks were all I needed. A boat was arranged for a day of diving and once on the banca, it is standard Anilao diving. If you have your own equipment, I think Eagle Point Resort is excellent. I think the house reef has a lot to offer and if they could get more guests to use the dive shop perhaps it would be given the same level of treatment and care as the rest of the resort.

Cost:
Like many Anilao resorts, there are few options outside the resort...and they know that. Prices are high and a 10% service charge is included on all food orders. Prices do not include the 12% VAT, that gets added on at check out. So the php 400 meal you order in the restaraunt is actually a php 488 meal. Eagle Point Resort is not cheap a cheap stay.

Conclusion:
Eagle Point Resort is a nice resort. The facilities match the pictures you see on the Internet and if you can get a room with decent water pressure, you will not be dissapointed by the accomodations. The diving is nice as long as you bring your own gear. I would not advise renting anything. Food is good but a little expensive when service charge and VAT get added to the cost.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in the Terrace Hotel. Check shower water pressure before accepting your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sevenrider860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The resort is difficult to get to due to the steep drive going to the resort. There is an armed guard at the gate. The armed guard is to keep people in the resort until they pay. They are not to keep people out. The price was high for the service we received. The rooms were dated. The food was pretty good. We snorkeled in a shark tank and that was fun. The diving was good although we took a boat to the dive site closer to other resorts. The view from the boat is a beautiful picturesque mountainous landscape.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We left Makati just after noon hoping for a 2.5 drive to Eagle Point but it burned into 4.5 hrs due to rain and traffic, also you end up going down this crazy driveway to get to the resort which feels like you are driving into the middle of nowhere. The resort in its self seems to be in the process of getting renovated but let me stress its in the process of getting renovated. Back in the day I'm guessing it was a great spot but now its a little tired. The meals were nice, the staff were really nice, we asked for a kettle for our room as we have 10 month old babies and we were not able to have one which was a bit of an pain as we had to keep going to the bar to get boiling water. If you do end up at Eagle Point i'd suggest getting over to sepoc island it costs P2200 but its a nice outing. On a final not the baby cots we got were pretty poor and a bit dirty :-(

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendonford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This place is just 1.5 to 2hours away from manila. Easily accessible thru the South luzon expressway then Star Tollway. This resort was recommended by a friend who is into diving. I am not into diving... yet :) But want to go to a place where I could relax, near Manila, and could snorkel. The rooms are nice, place is clean, staffs are hospitable, and with a very sunset view :). They also have a small saltwater pool with live sharks (2-3.5ft long - baby sharks), big groupers (lapu-lapu), sea turtles, etc. You could swim with them and not be afraid. Regarding the food we recommend ordering ala carte than eating buffet. The BBQ squid is good. The price is just right. You could also go to a private white beach - sepoc island that is ran by Eagle point Resort too. But need to pay P2000 for a round trip back to resort (good for around 6 to 10 people - I think) So you can divide the charge between you guys. Overall - I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our stay at Eagle Point Resort was simply a spectacular experience. This resort, which is located at the foot of the mountain covered with lush vegetation, is facing the picturesque seascape. The whole scenery as its major attraction gives every guest the isolation they want from the hustle and bustle of urban life.

The wooden cottage house we got was just perfect enough to capture the day-to-day scenery: captivating sunrise and gorgeous,romantic sunset over the water; the view of colorful sailing boats and the impeccable horizon that cuts the marvelous sky and crystal blue water.

We love the interior of the room and the triangular wooden beams that support the ceiling.This adds more space and air to the clean room. The bathroom is big and cozy. The veranda is an awesome part of the room to relax and chill with some wine.

The resort has all the amenities to keep all the guests in activity.The manicured garden surrounding the cottages and pathways is very relaxing for eyes and mind.

Since the location is far from other establishments, the restaurant and bar in this resort are the only places to dine and chill out. The included breakfast buffet is far more than the average and the list in the menu for other meals is just fine for local and foreign guests alike.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Cottage area has a quieter ambiance than in the main building (most especially during peak/high seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mabini
23.7 mi away
Coral Beach Club
Coral Beach Club
#1 of 4 in Lian
198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea's Spring Resort Hotel
Sea's Spring Resort Hotel
#9 of 10 in Batangas City
77 reviews
23.4 mi away
Matabungkay Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.2 mi away
Club Balai Isabel
Club Balai Isabel
#1 of 2 in Talisay
585 reviews
30.8 mi away
Canyon Cove Hotel & Spa
22.4 mi away
White Castle Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Point Resort

Address: Barrio Bagalangit, Anilao, Mabini | Batangas, Philippines, Mabini, Luzon 4202, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Batangas Province > Mabini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Mabini
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Point Batangas Beach Resort and Hotel, a nature's wonderland situated in Anilao Batangas Philippines, offers a luxurious and yet affordable getaway for couples, family, and groups; a favorite destination of scuba divers from around the world. The resort owns part of Maricaban Island, popularly known as Sepoc Beach Center with longest sandy shore in the area of Anilao Batangas. This place is also famous for company outing and team building venues which is 15 to 20 minutes boat ride from the main resort. This Batangas beach resort is also famous being a dive resort in Anilao Batangas which is in the middle of a network of 30 Anilao dive spots, bursting with underwater life and blessed with clear visibility. Scuba Diving in the Philippines is possible throughout the year particluarly in Anilao Batangas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eagle Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Point Hotel Mabini
Eagle Point Resort Batangas, Philippines - Mabini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing