We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet and interesting experience in Pantanal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fazenda Baia Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A quiet and interesting experience in Pantanal”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We really enjoyed Baia Grande. The friendly welcome by Alex the owner, the visits around the Fazenda with the peão Adriano who is so enthousiastic about the place and the animals he shows us, the excellent food and the quiet environment, where we really feel like house guests and not just tourists
No doubt we recommend and we would like to go back for another stay !
Maria santa & Carlos from Portugal

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria Santa M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    19
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
43
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We were on the Fazenda in Nov. 2012 and enjojed the whole time.
Alex, the owner of the Fazenda and Adriano, the Guide leaded us to their places in the nature.
Alex explained everything very detailled and gave us a good view about nature, the pantanal and their life on the farm.
The big room was clean with a big bathroom and aircondition.
There was a double-entrance to avoid the mosquitos entering the room.
We also had funny evenings with Caipirinhas made by Alex (speaks english)
Meals are served in an open room. Hot food is kept hot by a fire below. really nice.
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner - everything was delitious and typcal.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_Knopf_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

Special place where you see lots of wild animals. The people who are working there are kind and helpfull people. The rooms are air conditioned and fine, allthough you will not spend much time there. Breakfast, lunch and diner are good like all food in Brasil

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjef1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovensmilde, NL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We visited the fazenda end of may 2012 and enjoyed our stay very much. The atmosphere is very relaxed, we enjoyed all the meals and the pool is refreshing. Alex (the owner/manager) and the guide are very nice and relaxed persons. You can get your drinks out of the fridge yourself, write it down and pay when you check out. It's all a matter of trust, which gave us a good feeling. The rooms have airco and are large and clean. The guide took us out three times. Once for bird watching in the late afternoon, a morning trip watching kaymans, capibari's, emoes ans lots of beautiful birds. The guide knows and explained a lot and he showed us animals we would never find and see by ourselves. On our last trip he took us out fishing piranya's, which we fed to the kaymans. A beautiful experience we will always remember. All and all a very beautiful experience in a beautiful fazenda with beautiful people. A highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here 2 days in juli. Alex spoiled us by serving good food and company.
It has a very relaxt atmosphere and the blue parrots, toukans and all kinds of birds come even at breakfast.
We ware lucky to see an anteater. The trips by Adriano will we never forget. So near to all kinds of animals.
You can make the most beautifull pictures here. The rooms are simple but effective. Most of the time you live outsite.
We will certainly recommend this place to our friends, and hope to come back once!!

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The rooms are basic but fine, the food is simple but good. The owner and guide really try to make your stay a great one. The owner, Alex, took us to a lasso competition, which was great to see. For us the amount of animals you see was a bit disappointing, but you can't control the wildlife. Adriano is a great guide who goes out of his way to show you stuff. Take a lot of repelent, mosquitos are there 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BartMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Fazenda Baia Grande is a large working cattle farm with a small pousada. Two excursions (fishing, horseback riding, day safari, night safari) are offered each day but still leave much time for drinking caipirinhas and reading in the hammocks scattered across the property. Alexander, the owner, was traveling at the time of our visit, but the guide he brought in was hugely knowledgeable and a great storyteller (in English).
The rooms are simple for the price, but this is standard across the Pantanal and one does not come for luxury. The true differentiator of this fazenda compared with others in the region is its small size (in number of rooms, it giant in terms of land). When we visited, there was only one other couple, which made for a very peaceful and relaxed stay.
I would have preferred to stay even deeper in the Pantanal, where the wildlife is even more abundant, but these lodges typically entail an additional flight or 4x4 transfer, and cannot as easily be combined with Bonito, which is well worth a visit. Plus, in the end, we were lucky enough to see many of the notable animals of the region.
In terms of practicalities, I would recommend staying 2-3 nights. Any less and you might miss out on some excursions, any longer and the same excursions become repetitive. We rented a car and drove from Campo Grande, which is certainly do-able, but make sure you get detailed driving directions because once you hit Miranda, the route gets tricky and GPS is no help. We were able to get some pointers from a local gas station, but it only helps if you can speak Portuguese.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venustar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miranda hotels
City Center
Hotel Querencia
Hotel Querencia
#1 of 1 in Miranda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Pantanal Ranch Meia Lua
#4 of 23 in Miranda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Pousada Nativos
#2 of 3 in Miranda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantanal Hotel
#7 of 23 in Miranda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Fazenda Santa Ines
#8 of 23 in Miranda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fazenda Baia Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fazenda Baia Grande

Property: Fazenda Baia Grande
Address: Fazenda Baia Grande 20, Miranda, State of Mato Grosso do Sul 79380-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Mato Grosso do Sul > Miranda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Miranda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fazenda Baia Grande 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baia Grande Inn is located in the Heart of South America - Brazil. Wildlife, bird watching, horse back riding and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Fazenda Baia Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fazenda Baia Grande Miranda, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing