We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old house..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Craigsanquhar House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigsanquhar
Certificate of Excellence
Fife
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful old house..”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked one night B and B for last night. We based our choice on the strength of reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is set in beautifully manicured gardens, surrounded by woodland and rolling hills. It is somewhat off the beaten track, but that adds to its charm. There are a couple of luxury lodges and a large converted stable block used as a function suite. The public areas in the house are bright, clean and decorated and furnished in a manner that compliments the house well. The sweeping staircase takes you up to the large rooms/suites on the first floor, some of which look out over the gardens and countryside beyond. We had asked for an upgrade and were given the Garden Suite. The room was spacious and bright with a huge ornate bed. The en-suite bathroom was small, but perfectly adequate. However, when showering this morning, we felt the flow of water from the shower head was poor and on closer inspection, it looked as if it some of the jets were blocked. The decoration in the bedroom was quite ornate, but added to the grand feeling of the room. But there were areas where the wallpaper was scuffed or tearing slightly and the bedroom door showed signs of wear and tear, with chipped paintwork. We did find the room quite warm and opened the window a little...it wouldn't stay open, but we did manage to prop it up. In the evening, we went down to the bar/lounge area and enjoyed a drink while looking out onto the lovely gardens, We did ask if there were snacks for sale behind the bar, and were advised by the young lady, who was also the receptionist, that she would go and ask in the kitchen if there were any hand made crisps.. she came back to let us know that there weren't. As food was served until 9pm, we asked for a panini with salad and crisps (as stated on the menu) at around ten past eight. The panini duly arrived with a little dried out garnish (not a salad as we know it) and no crisps. There was a wedding taking place at the same time, so perhaps certain foods were in short supply, but we weren't offered any alternative side dishes. We arrived for breakfast and shown to our table. We were a little disappointed at the choice of "continental" breakfast foods..there was museli, 3 or 4 cereals, a couple of small pastries, some small tubs of yoghurts and a fruit platter that consisted only of strawberries or pineapple. We felt that the options for continental breakfast was somewhat limited for a hotel, and was perhaps more akin to what you might find in a top end B&B. The choices for cooked breakfast were fine and the food was hot. However, the coffee was luke warm. All the staff we met were friendly, professional and attentive, without being intrusive. All in all, a lovely house hotel, that with a little TLC in certain areas and perhaps attention to detail in others, would merit it a five star review in our eyes.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view room to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emcraig1, Owner at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you choosing to stay at Craigsanquhar on your recent visit to the area. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to see you return soon. Some TLC is always needed in such an old house and we are working our way through the house room by room to make sure the Mansion House always stays as grand as it was built to be. Thank you for the comments on your meal in the bar and breakfast. We take all criticisms as constructive so we can constantly improve our service. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    22
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
50
68
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed one night in the luxury villa 4. It all mod cons and decorated in quintessential Scottish hunting lodge fashion. Absolutely stunning! There was a coffee machine, smoothie maker, dishwasher, microwave, oven etc. The beds where enormous, the en suites utterly beautiful! It was so wonderful. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was flawless. Absolutely delicious. We had a wedding the next day. It was flawless! As the maid of honour I had to make sure everything was perfect and Laren the wedding co ordinator did just that. She was wonderful. We stayed the night in the house. Very 'country house chic'. Very beautiful. We had a family suite, room 1. It was lovely. The breakfast was lovely except the waiters said they had run out of pastries and white sugar and I would have preferred a teapot, instead of it being poured as we asked, but minor niggles and easy to fix. We had a wonderful time, it was all lovely. Definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 for a good size family room\suite. Room 4 looks over the stunning landscape! If you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emcraig1, Owner at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Craigsanquhar House Hotel. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed our villas, restaurant, and the wedding you attended the following day. Thank you for your comments about breakfast as well. We are always looking for honest feedback so we can improve our guest's experience. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Best day off our lives topped off with an amazing venue. As my family were over from ireland I booked one of the private lodges on the friday night, it was amazing, very clean,spacious and just beautiful. Lara the wedding co-ordinator was fantastic. She ensured everything was done and done to a very high standard. She ensured our day ran smoothly from start to finish even when we arrive 45 mins earlier than planned. The meal was delicious and all our friends and family were more than happy. Staff were very very friendly andcouldnt do enough. Louise on reception was lovely, she couldnt do enough for us, nothing was a problem.

Huge thankyou to lara, louise and the rest of the team :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciara20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emcraig1, Owner at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Craigsanquhar House Hotel for your wedding day. We are honoured to have been a part of it and so glad we were able to make your wedding day so memorable. Thank you for the wonderful comments and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel, essentially a converted Scottish manor house, is in the middle of nowhere which is half it's charm. Very quiet, fantastic views, very relaxing. Rooms not bad & I had a good nights sleep. Staff very friendly, bar good and restaurant very good-fresh, different, reasonably priced. Definitely my place to stay again when next in the area on business

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CHG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emcraig1, Owner at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your recent stay in June at Craigsanquhar House Hotel. We are delighted to have met your expectations and very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are coming to the area next. Thank you again for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We went here last night 6.6.2014, recommended by a friend. Evening real for my husband and I. Welcomed in by staff, we were early asked if we wanted to have a drink at the bar first or straight to our table, we opted to go have a drink at the bar. It was a beautiful evening and the views were stunning. The house itself was old and new and was spotless. Our meal was faultless. We asked for a rates brochure which unfortunately they did not have however we were offered a tour of rooms. We were shown 3 styles and given the different prices for each room. Absolutely amazing, gorgeous and unique and staff were exceptional. We will definitely come back and have a stay over. Price value for our evening was exceptional.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MojoAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emcraig1, General Manager at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant, Nathaniel's, and the the hotel. We value our guests comments and strive to deliver excellent quality and service and all times. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Craigsanquhar in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

No-one in reception to welcome or seat us despite a reservation having been made, then to be told dismissively sit where you like and oh, give me your jacket once seated. Bread was sweet and could have been a supermarket special, starters were ok and "crispy belly pork" was inedible - a grey, fatty, re-heated piece of meat. Very kindly, the waitress advised that she had removed the cost of the main meal as we had eaten one mouthful - such generosity and attention to customer service. The radio talk show blasting out when they wanted us to leave at 9.10pm was a fitting finale to the mediocre and poor meal. Avoid this place - there are many other superior restaurants in the locale.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emcraig1, General Manager at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your experience in our restaurant. Our apologies that you were not greeted as promptly as perhaps you should have been. The receptionist is often seating guests, showing guests to their rooms upon check-in, and dealing with many hotel guest requests. For instances such as these we have provided a bell at the front desk so that you may be seen to as quickly as possible. When guests are taken to the restaurant we do often offer them the option to 'sit where they like' for their own comfort as some guests prefer certain tables to enjoy the view while others prefer to have a more private dining experience. Bread is offered to tables while waiting on their starters and is a different flavour each day and it is made fresh daily. The pork belly dish has been described as fatty but that is precisely the description of pork belly. It is the belly of the pig that is marbled with fat which also allows the dish to become crispy when its cooked. However, as this was the only dish we were made aware you were unhappy with we did offer another dish, which was declined, and then removed the item from your bill. We do feel that our offer for another main course without charge, and the removal of the item from your bill was showing our attention to customer service and was an equal compensation to the complaint. I am unsure of the radio talk show in which you refer to as we do not have a radio in the restaurant or any of the public areas. We also take table bookings up to 8.45pm meaning the tables will not be finished until well after 9.10pm. We do not ask our guests to leave at any specific time as they are also welcome to sit in the bar until closing which is 12 midnight. Thank you again for your review and high remarks for our beautiful location and the cleanliness of our restaurant and hotel. Our standard of service is always high and we are confident in the quality of our food as you will see in our other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Was here in March for an overnight stay whilst on business. You will find this hidden gem a bit off the beaten track, but the location in peaceful rolling Fife countryside is quite simply stunning.

The property itself is a beautiful country house that has a long history. I was only there for one night but all credit to John and the team for making me feel almost Laird like.
Rooms are in keeping with the house décor wise, all traditional chintz and swags but anything else would be completely out of place. It was quiet mid week when I stopped so I ate my dinner in the bar area and was lucky enough to have a chat with the chef and discover that John the Hotel manager could be possibly the only Wigan Warriors fan in the Kingdom of Fife. I opted for the Rabbit starter which was stratospherically good. Breakfast was equally tasty, using fresh locally sourced produce (Haggis was excellent).

Only niggle was a bit of a wafty wifi signal but then again what would you expect when you are in the middle of nowhere in a 600 yr old house with 4 foot thick walls!! Overall - Very Good!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MH4Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emcraig1, General Manager at Craigsanquhar House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your overnight stay with us. It is always great to hear how much our guests have enjoyed their experience with us. Your interest in the age and the history of the building (not to mention the sometimes difficult use of technology such as wifi through 4ft stone walls) is very much appreciated. We really hope to see you return again for business or just for leisure in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Craigsanquhar
10.4 mi away
Lomond Hills Hotel
Lomond Hills Hotel
#1 of 1 in Freuchie
552 reviews
10.3 mi away
Old Manor Hotel
Old Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lundin Links
503 reviews
5.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St Andrews
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,264 reviews
12.2 mi away
Balbirnie House
Balbirnie House
#1 of 1 in Markinch
815 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigsanquhar House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigsanquhar House Hotel

Property: Craigsanquhar House Hotel
Address: Craigsanquhar Mansion House By Logie | Cupar, Fife, Craigsanquhar, Cupar KY15 4PZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Cupar > Craigsanquhar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Craigsanquhar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigsanquhar House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigsanquhar Hotel is a Scottish country house located 6 miles from St. Andrews in the rolling countryside of Fife. The Hotel is situated within 36 acres of gardens and woodland. Nathaniel's Restuarant & Bar has recently opened at Craigsanquhar with the goal of bringing "Scotland's Larder" to the table. Craigsanquhar also offers extensive catering facilities for weddings, receptions, and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Craigsanquhar House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigsanquhar House Hotel Craigsanquhar
Craigsanquhar Hotel Cupar
Craigsanquhar House Hotel Fife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing