We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mas de Baix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mas de Baix
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabrils
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This really is a gem of a place. What can you say about this place that has not already been said? It’s a small (9 room) boutique hotel nestled in a medieval village some 20 kms outside Barcelona. You have to drive up thru the village of Cabrils and then follow a one-way system to get to the entrance. The streets are small and tight turns but you arrive at a large electric gate with a terraced car park.

On arrival you are met by two Golden Retrievers, tails wagging but separated by a large garden fence. They are really friendly, like the owner of the hotel. This was our second stay and it felt like being at home as you could just relax everyone we spoke to made you welcome.
The rooms are a comfortable size with a decent bathroom with shower.

Breakfast is cereal, toast, orange juice, fruit, cheese, hams and a selection of pastries. We had a room at the front and overlooked the main door and swimming pool.
At night we mostly ate in the local restaurants and in your room is a guide to all of them. The owner was very helpful in advising any additional information in relation to the restaurants.

We had a slight problem with the room safe and despite me breaking a key for it there was no charge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddywaggon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    59
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
124
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We had a very nice 2 night stay here. Pretty rooms, nice garden en very good breakfast.
The place is a nice place to visit the surrounding areas.

One word of advice to the owner, keep the dogs quiet. They bark a lot.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Nice and comfortable small boutique hotel. Quiet and charming.
Owner very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuka70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eurasburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We come here two times a year and we already are looking forward to the next stay.
Mas de Baix is a absolutely beautiful little hotel, with an excellent breakfast. It is simply a little jewel.
Cabrils is a quiet village, with excellent little restaurants, ideal after a working day to relax or after a walk through the nice countryside or the very near beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

It was a real pleasure to come back from the exhibition after a full working day and find a beautiful and relaxing hotel. A very quiet oasis near Barcelona and the seaside. The owners were so helpful and courteus. The rooms were very nice, very clean and with a beautiful sight on the garden, swimming-pool and sea. Cabrils is also a little town with excellent restaurant and ancient houses.
Our staying was really wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmt187830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Sadly, we had only one night at the Mas de Baix. It was absolutely beautiful, and the host/owner was so helpful making dinner reservations at restaurants nearby. The rooms have gloriously tall ceilings, and ours had double windows that opened overlooking the pool and courtyard. The bathrooms are modern with a shower my 6'4" husband pronounced the best of the trip. Breakfast was also fabulous, wtih an assortment of offerings and fabulous coffee. We will definitely stay here again. One thing to be aware of - this is in he heart of a little medieval town so it is a bit tight to get into, but there is secured off street parking available (there are signs but we missed the sign pointing toward the parking the first time around).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph8586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Beautiful house filled with lovely antiques, a very quiet oasis inside the gates from Cabrils.
Small attractive garden with everything you need to relax. Pool, loungers, bar. All immaculate. My only niggle was the bed was very hard.
Some great restaurants a short walk away and coast a short drive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katepots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabrils
3.9 mi away
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro
3.0 mi away
Mas Salagros Ecoresort & Aire Ancient Baths
1.6 mi away
Hotel Vilassar
Hotel Vilassar
#1 of 1 in Vilassar de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Can Galvany
Hotel Can Galvany
#2 of 2 in Vallromanes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Porta d'Alella
Hotel Porta d'Alella
#1 of 2 in Alella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ibis Barcelona Mataro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mas de Baix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mas de Baix

Property: Hotel Mas de Baix
Address: Paseo Tolra, 1, 08348 Cabrils, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Cabrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mas de Baix 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mas de Baix,is a Hotel with charm, considered as a site of cultural interest by the Generalitat de Catalunya was built in 1648 and is one of the more significant examples of Spanish Mas. Centuries later, the owners have adjusted the site so that, without losing in any case its essence, guests feel welcomed with all the comforts of modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mas de Baix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing