We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Mas de Baix

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mas de Baix
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabrils
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was my first trip to Europe and the first place we stayed 4-15 & 4-16-2012. The Mas de Baix was one of our favorite experiences of the entire trip. The room was very nice and the bath and shower was large. The room and bath were very clean. The atmoshere and relaxing areas-sun deck, two living rooms, ourtside court yard/pool and three season room/bar made me feel like I was at home. The breakfast was traditional foods and they even served us after the normal eating times due to us sleeping in. You can eat breakfast in there inside quaint dinning area or outside in the courtyard.The host (Francesc) was gracious and very helpful. Francesc also speaks English which was helpful. They have several room options for families, couples or singles. There are serveral excellent resturants with quaint atmospheres within walking distance. All of which were recommended by Francesc. The train into Barccelona is a short drive away (about three miles) and takes about twenty minutes to take you into the main area of the city. My next trip to the Barcellona area will include a longer stay at the Max de Baix.

Room Tip: The website has good pictures of the rooms and the hotel grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mas d, Propietario at Hotel Mas de Baix, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2012

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our hotel. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your journey that much.

Also, we are happy to know that you are going to visit us again in the future.

Best wishes,

Francesc Tarruella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

A very charming place with great hospitality. Beautiful room, lovely breakfast. Francesc, the owner, can give you very good tips for good restaurants! Very friendly owners! You can go by train to Barcelona. Tip for a very nice and good tapas bar in the village: La Bodega: Super!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mas d, Propietario at Hotel Mas de Baix, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Pieter,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our rooms and breakfast, but also the restaurants around. Cabrils is well known for its gastronomic offer, and we always try to let our hosts discover it. It has been a pleasure for us having you at our hotel for a few days. Look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Kind regards,

Francesc Tarruella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

once you entered the garden door you will be amazed about the charming surrounding. nice room, good breakfast and great hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This really is a gem of a place. What can you say about this place that has not already been said? It’s a small (9 room) boutique hotel nestled in a medieval village some 20 kms outside Barcelona. You have to drive up thru the village of Cabrils and then follow a one-way system to get to the entrance. The streets are small and tight turns but you arrive at a large electric gate with a terraced car park.

On arrival you are met by two Golden Retrievers, tails wagging but separated by a large garden fence. They are really friendly, like the owner of the hotel. This was our second stay and it felt like being at home as you could just relax everyone we spoke to made you welcome.
The rooms are a comfortable size with a decent bathroom with shower.

Breakfast is cereal, toast, orange juice, fruit, cheese, hams and a selection of pastries. We had a room at the front and overlooked the main door and swimming pool.
At night we mostly ate in the local restaurants and in your room is a guide to all of them. The owner was very helpful in advising any additional information in relation to the restaurants.

We had a slight problem with the room safe and despite me breaking a key for it there was no charge.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddywaggon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We had a very nice 2 night stay here. Pretty rooms, nice garden en very good breakfast.
The place is a nice place to visit the surrounding areas.

One word of advice to the owner, keep the dogs quiet. They bark a lot.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Nice and comfortable small boutique hotel. Quiet and charming.
Owner very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuka70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We come here two times a year and we already are looking forward to the next stay.
Mas de Baix is a absolutely beautiful little hotel, with an excellent breakfast. It is simply a little jewel.
Cabrils is a quiet village, with excellent little restaurants, ideal after a working day to relax or after a walk through the nice countryside or the very near beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabrils
3 mi away
Mas Salagros Ecoresort & Aire Ancient Baths
4.5 mi away
Hotel Arrey Alella
Hotel Arrey Alella
#1 of 2 in Alella
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal de la Placa
Hostal de la Placa
#2 of 2 in Cabrils
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Atenea Port Barcelona Mataro
3.9 mi away
Llar de Capitans Hotel
Llar de Capitans Hotel
#1 of 1 in El Masnou
30 reviews
6.8 mi away
Aparthotel Atenea Valles
Aparthotel Atenea Valles
#5 of 9 in Granollers
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mas de Baix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mas de Baix

Address: Paseo Tolra, 1, 08348 Cabrils, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Cabrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabrils
Price Range: £97 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mas de Baix 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mas de Baix,is a Hotel with charm, considered as a site of cultural interest by the Generalitat de Catalunya was built in 1648 and is one of the more significant examples of Spanish Mas. Centuries later, the owners have adjusted the site so that, without losing in any case its essence, guests feel welcomed with all the comforts of modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mas de Baix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing