We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class stay”
Review of Hotel Mas de Baix

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mas de Baix
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabrils
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We know cabrils well and have known of Mas de Baix for several years. The fact that our local house is being refurbished gave us a perfect excuse to try it out. We stayed for three nights and it was delightful; very well run, breakfasts are excellent and good value. Staff very pleasant. Lots of intelligent touches; lights come on in response to movement, hot water fairly gushes out whenever needed, help yourself spots for tea and the odd drink around the place and a roof terrace with superb all round views of the village and coast. Comfortable large beds in sizeable rooms. delightful well kept garden and pool. We will try and find another excuse to be back. You need a car but a great location for exploring barcelona and the coast with a quiet haven to come back to.

Room Tip: if you are happy with a shower go for one with a juliette balcony overlooking the pool. We wanted b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffn48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    61
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
126
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We just spent a few day in this really quaint little hotel,it is located in a very quite area about 30 kms north of Barcelona, it is a very old building(1700s)which is very well kept,clean and is managed by a member of the original family called Francisco who is always on hand,in the village of Cabrils which is known as a gastronomic village thereis 5 or 6 reasonable restaurants, the Hotel its self is quite hard to find without a GPS,and even when you do find it, it is hidden behind electric gates on a blind bend,it is very well located for access to The Circuit of Cataluna race track for which is what we used it for,while we had a hire car there is a train service at the bottom of the hill to take you straight in to Barcelona
It has all you would need for a chill out time,Pool,sun terraces,sitting rooms,self service bars but as far a catering is concerned there is none,only a basic breakfast consisting Special K ,yoghurt,buns,Croissants,Fruit and very poor quality orange Juice (orange flavoured drink) which for me is not acceptable.
The room we had of which there is only 9 in the Hotel was perfectly adequate, with most things you would expect,this place is really only suited for couples who are content to use it as a base,or just chill out,in the well kept gardens beside the pool.
Would I go back? the orange juice would need to improve big time!

Room Tip: don't think there is a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverDonegalIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeria, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Beautifully restored 17th century home. Very welcoming owner Francisco and his wife. All rooms are individually furnished with antiques and this creates a wonderful ambiance.
Breakfast buffet style was more than adequate to set us up for the day. Small restaurants in the village provided dining out.

Room Tip: If you are going to watch the Grand Prix in Barcelona this is a great hotel to stay in. Only 25 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZandaSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We spent 4 days in Hotel Mas de Baix in October and it appeared to be a perfect autumn holiday: the weather was still very nice so that we could have breakfast outside and enjoy the roof terrace.
We will certainly try to return next year because
- it was such a quiet place
- the rooms as well as the garden were tastefully decorated
- the garden offered lots of cosy places to enjoy the sun as well as the shade
- the host was always friendly and willing to help us with the best advice
- the personnel was very friendly
- the small town of Cabrils offers a lot of good restaurants (we tried every night another one)
- it was close to Barcelona (we visited it twice by train)
- our car could safely be parked in the garden
- breakfast was excellent
- everything was very clean
In short: Mas de Baix is a peaceful little paradise!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Friendly welcome. Traditional building with generous sitting areas on all floors. Smallish room but next to roof terrace with sun beds , chairs and tables and views down to the sea. Within Cabrils centre for restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in the Mas de Baix Hotel for ten days. We experienced the quiet atmosphere as very relaxing. The garden with swimming pool area was beautiful, as well as the tasteful decorated house. The rooms aren't very big, but the beds are good and the bathroom is decorated in an up-to-date-design. What was really remarkable was the high standard in cleaning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanne_boland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taber, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We spent 5 days at Hotel Mas de Bais and had a great time. In a peaceful town away from all the hustle and bustle of Barcelona. The hotel is beautifully decorated and kept extremely clean. All the small town restaurants were went to were very good. This small town hotel may be too quiet for young people but for us middle aged folk it was a beautiful relaxing end to our holiday!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSeb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabrils
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
3.9 mi away
No photo provided
4.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Arrey Alella
#1 of 2 in Alella
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Vilassar
#1 of 1 in Vilassar de Mar
58 reviews
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Can Galvany
#2 of 2 in Vallromanes
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mas de Baix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mas de Baix

Property: Hotel Mas de Baix
Address: Paseo Tolra, 1, 08348 Cabrils, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Cabrils
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabrils
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mas de Baix 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mas de Baix,is a Hotel with charm, considered as a site of cultural interest by the Generalitat de Catalunya was built in 1648 and is one of the more significant examples of Spanish Mas. Centuries later, the owners have adjusted the site so that, without losing in any case its essence, guests feel welcomed with all the comforts of modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mas de Baix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing