We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rainy days in Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Camino de Santiago
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A 3 star in hotel in a 1 star location? The sat nav was right, I was wrong. the hotel is not really situated in the village of Castrillo del Val, but on the main drag out of Burgos, which can be very busy. The location looked very strange, in a "business park" looking area. there is a lot of parking for guests at this hotel and is free, unless you choose the undercover area. There is both ramp and step access to the hotel. We entered the hotel and were gobsmacked at the interior decoration. Really extravagant looking décor which made it. The check in was quick and efficient. The room was really nice with all the facilities you would hope to have. Ensuite bathroom with bidet and enough towels for us. the café seemed to be deficient of food/snacks, but the drinks were reasonably priced for a 3* hotel. the main meal was very good, reasonably priced and taken in the "basement" dining room with limited views. We had intended to make use of the laundry facilities as we could carry limited clothing on the bike, but this was not going to happen as it was too late for laundry service?.
Checkout was a bit of a farce. having booked this room at discount price, we were surprised to be charged the normal room rate and not the discounted rate. We opaid and then sat down to complain to the agent. But the hotel relented and refunded the difference - so be aware!
Other than this, itb was a very nice hotel and would probably use it again on our travels

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gskevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Camino de Santiago
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed here for one night during the Olympics last year and again for one night this year on the way down to southern Spain. It is not in the most attractive of locations - well outside of Burgos and in the middle of nowhere really. But..it is a real gem of a place - I almost don't want to tell you about it. The rooms are large, clean and have the best wifi connectivity in all of my trip through France and Spain. The evening set menu was really good value with local cuisine and an okay bottle of wine included. Breakfast basic but really good.

The staff are very hospitable and they deserve great praise. Overall, you feel that you are not being exploited and that this is genuine value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moonpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This hotel is a distance outside of Burgos but we had a rental car so this was not a problem for us. Paid parking is available on the hotel property but we parked for free on street since we felt is was completely safe. A ramp leading to set of automatic doors into the building and an elevator to upper floors makes this a very accessible building. Upon entering one quickly notices the baroque decor and the several altars from churches. But then again this hotel is located on the St. James Way from Irum to Santiago and so the altars fit, as far as we were concerned. The staff is very friendly and helpful. After registering we had trouble turning on the lights in our room so one of the staff came up and showed us how to put the key card in a slot in the room to turn on the rooms electricity (very green!!!). The room was large and roomy with a desk and large closet. The bathroom had a tub. The beds were very good. There was a lot of variety offered at the 6.50 Euro breakfast and you can have all the coffee and tea you wanted. We got the room via a special on the internet. We felt it was great value for what we paid.

Room Tip: Had room on the south side which allowed for very little outside noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGTravelingseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We used this hotel as a staging post on the way to and from the Algarve from France. Our first visit was in mid-January when we were the only guests. The room and facilities were excellent and the hotel represented very good value. We had the set evening meal which was served to us in the bar, as was the very good breakfast.the following morning. On our return in mid-March the hotel was much busier including a party in one of the function rooms. As a result we felt the service was not quite as good, but that was not the problem. The real disappointment was the evening meal, the service was not as good as before, perhaps because they were very busy, but there is no excuse for serving food which was only lukewarm. Moreover we were charged over 10Euros for our dog which changed a rzeasonably priced hotel into one comparatively expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertW852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Talk about value for money? This is the place! For the price of a cheap French hotel chain a clean deluxe room in barok style. Perfect beds.
Dinner for E12.50. What more do you want. Easy to find on the no toll road from Burgos to Logrono. Hans from Amsterdam

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

My family and I stayed there in September. I booked the rooms online, relied on the reviews I read and was not disappointed. It had free internet access although intermittent at times. The front desk staff spoke excellent English and was very helpful with the places to see around Burgos, which was less than 20 min. by car. The rooms were spacious, very clean and bathroom upgraded with modern fixtures. The hotel is situated along the main road but despite this, we had a good night's rest - no highway noise to keep us awake. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for its good value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ermarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed one night here on a trip around Northern Spain. It was easy to find with a GPS and is very close to Burgos by car, without being in the city. The room was clean and comfortable with an excellent bathroom and for 38 Euros on the Internet it was a real bargain. We didn't eat any meals there but the dining room looked inviting. The reception staff were very pleasant. Although the hotel is by a main road we heard no traffic noise. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a decent room at a really fair price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castrillo del Val
0.0 mi away
Hotel Camino de Santiago
Hotel Camino de Santiago
#32 of 50 in Burgos
45 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Burgos
4.3 mi away
Las Vegas Hotel
Las Vegas Hotel
#22 of 50 in Burgos
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Cordon
Hotel Cordon
#9 of 50 in Burgos
293 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Luisa
Hotel Maria Luisa
#15 of 50 in Burgos
287 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Camino de Santiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camino de Santiago

Address: Calle Santiago 37 | Los Tomillares, 09198 Castrillo del Val, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Castrillo del Val
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Castrillo del Val
Price Range: £31 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Camino de Santiago 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Camino de Santiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing