We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounding beautiful but resort run down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Complejo Turistico Tajo del Aguila
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Algar
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The surrounding is breathtaking and you feel totally at peace and in twine with nature. However the whole resort is run down and requires much needed maintenance!Rural houses are lovely but requires updating and a whole lot of spring cleaning! Though the place is so magical that nothing seems to bother you

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammycaetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stunning Lake Views, they were totally amazing and it seems that every rustic cottage has a perfect view, especially of the sunset.

A relaxed and friendly atmosphere, nothing seemed like to much trouble, great customer service, and the little white town of Vejer was pleasant too (1.5km away), although I didn't find any great restaurants, perhaps I missed them, check if their own restaurant is open again, I believe it is now.

The lovely rustic cottage was private and comfortable. Recently refurbished, it had a terrace with bench and table to look over the vista and eat, a fireplace, TV and good new bathroom. Two points the lighting was very bright and it would be great to have secondary lighting or even a dimmer and the fireplace was smoky, possibly just needed a sweep? We loved wondering down the steep private road to the lake and messing about by the water. They have great hiking routes, canoes, horses (a little to tame for my liking), possibly the yacht might be chartered again, and archery for kids really. I recommend bringing binoculars or you may be able to hire the powerful set from reception. They are dog friendly too and have two little ones of their own. Overall thoroughly enjoyable, romantic and I cant wait to visit again. In May we had perfect temperatures mid 30's, it felt quite hot and we swam in the lake, there are lots of trees for shade too.

Room Tip: Log cabins are cheaper than the stone cottages, check if you have a clear view of the lake as its st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheUniversal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This hotel complex is set in the middle of beautiful contryside in Algar which is in the middle of the Serrania de Cadiz it is set on a gorge and it has self catering stone houses and bungalowes. The complex has a swimming pool and a resturant that opens on weekends but the town of Algar is opposite has has lots of classic supermarkets and tiny shops the bakery makes traditional bread which is absolutely delicious and the butcher will supply you with the right cuts for barbequeing. the place lends itself to outside evenings and bbq and the open air pool is well maintained and there is a kids pool too. In the height of the tourist season they are archery lessons, pedalos (in the manmade resoevoirs at the bottom) and of course trecking they have set out different courses for different levels. There are also nice resturants in town. But in the out of season the place is a romantic getaway. Dogs welcome. and there is a campsite at the top and a youth hostel great place for experiencing the out doors. the flats are basic so be prepared to take stuff with you like washing up liquid and tablecloths. The toiletpaper soap and towels are supplied. no internet access and not a good coverage for mobiles. A/C in the living room a fridge a tv and a two ring hob available

Room Tip: Go for the stone houses the bungalows are too crowded together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celticmystyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

I had to enter a review date, but actually haven't returned for two or even three years. The location is beautiful and there is the huge lake / reservoir and superb views of Griffon vultures. The village of Algar is nearby and you can buy bread and other local products there.

The canoes and other boating facilities were inadequate despite this being the greatest potential. Walks, etc. not highlighted when these could also be an asset.

Although meant to be rustic 'Rural Houses' there is no excuse for old blankets, frayed or torn sheets, particularly with the prices being charged. Also, if going away for a few days, you don't want to have to take a car-load of domestic products such as tea-towels, washing-up liquid, etc., etc. for use in the self-catering kitchen.

I would love to go back, but not until or unless the value for money improves, as I can find excellent 4-star hotels at half-board in the same province for a similar outlay.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertiebirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Juanjo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Manuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank famillega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algar
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa de Algar
Hotel Villa de Algar
#2 of 2 in Algar
35 reviews
10.3 mi away
Marques De Torresoto
Marques De Torresoto
#11 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
56 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
Hotel Fuerte Grazalema
#1 of 4 in Grazalema
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
377 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cortijo Fain
Cortijo Fain
#16 of 28 in Cadiz
24 reviews
10.2 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Complejo Turistico Tajo del Aguila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Complejo Turistico Tajo del Aguila

Address: Finca Tajo del Aguila S/N | Sierra de Cadiz, 11639 Algar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Algar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Algar
Price Range: £19 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Complejo Turistico Tajo del Aguila 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Complejo Turistico Tajo del Aguila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing