We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Accomodation”
Review of Hotel can Garay

Hotel can Garay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel can Garay
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stylish Accomodation”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed overnight whilst cycling the greenway to Girona. The Hotel is only a minute ride off the cycle tack and is situated on the main road through the village. We found the hotel to comfortable, friendly with good evening meals and breakfasts which are normally taken outside.
The gardens have longers and hammocks plus a outhouse in which your cycles are locked up.
Breakfasts start at 9am with the interior of the house being in semi darkness until that time.
If you want a earlier coffee then go down the road for a minute to the Bar Cafeteria which is situated at the crossroads where the cycle track crosses the main road. The woman on the bar is super friendly and took time out to show us the photos on the wall of the last train to go through the village. We would recommend Hotel Can Garay to others

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    23
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
32
84
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Architecture afficionados will love the sober Modernista style of this pretty early 20th century building, and anyone with a soft spot for art deco will love the myriads of fine details in the interior and furniture. Great English, Spanish and German-speaking hosts, always ready to offer useful information. The food was absolutely delicious, and breakfast in the lush gardens just the perfect way to start the day. We would have loved to stay longer but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked for the remaining days - not surprising given the standards.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trotter-Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophiehowes, Gerente at Hotel can Garay, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for all your kind words. It was a real pleasure having you to stay at our little hotel.....it was a such a shame you couldn't have stayed a bit longer as your good company was all too brief. If you are ever in the area again we would be delighted to see you. Breakfast and dinner in the garden, next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed overnight in Hotel can Garay, and enjoyed the warm welcome from the friendly hosts Sophie and Luis. The weather was great, and we were able to have breakfast outside in the lovely garden full of spring blossom.
The hotel has only a few rooms, each carefully decorated with many modernist original features, and quirky light fittings. It was a perfect quiet trip away from the city.
It´s very centrally located to see the Garrotxa sights and we got plenty of tips from the hosts. Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Fantastic place to cycle, walk and generally enjoy the spectacular countryside. The hotel itself is small and cosy, with huge breakfasts included and lovely evening meals. The hosts speak English, Spanish, Catalan, etc and are enormously helpful with everything! I couldn't recommend this hotel enough! We'll go back one day!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent 3 nights here in October half term, and enjoyed fabulous weather in beautiful surroundings. The hotel is in it's own grounds with a lovely garden for eating / drinking outside, and an outdoor bar. The rooms are beautiful, all with original turn of the century furniture, and all the original features are intact and enhanced by tasteful period pieces. There are 7 bedrooms, all ensuite, all beautifully reonvated. The main staircase has a fabulous stained glass window, the ceilings are high, all the floors are dark wood with rugs, and everything feels traditional. The rooms are all very spacious. All the bedroom windows have the original shutters which keeps heat in during cold weather and heat out in the sun! It's not a glitzy hotel - don't come if you expect a spa and 24 hour room service! Having said that, the bathrooms are excellent with modern fittings and lighting.
We went cycling along part of the green way which is a disused railway, a nice gentle track up to Olot and back. The hotel has some bikes you can rent out or there are rental places nearby. Also enjoyed two waterfalls with natural swimming pools, both within walking distance from the hotel.
The food was lovely, breakfast a nice leisurely 9 - 11, and a traditional late Catalonian dinner at 8.30pm, cooked by Luis. Sophie was the ideal host, giving us ideas for our visit and making our stay extra special. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMR12SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed for one night (two adults and two children) while biking Carrilet, September 2013. We arrived after long day of cycling and felt immediately at home and restful in a beautiful garden with friendly cats, inviting sling and a trampoline. The room - actually two connected rooms were perfect for our group and the decor is very special and tasteful. Sophie makes her guests to feel very welcome and the dinner was great either. Lovely experience, it is a pleasure to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We only stayed one night at this great little hotel but really wishes we'd had longer there. The house is a beautiful Art Nouveau mansion which is Luiz's family home. He does the cooking (tasty traditional fare very reasonably priced) while his wife Sophie looks after the guests and is very helpful with regard to the interesting sites of the Garrotxa area (full of dormant volcanoes and spectacular scenery). Bedrooms are stylish and comfortable and the house and garden are extremely relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandSteve470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Planes d'Hostoles
4.0 mi away
No photo provided
Finca El Ventos
#1 of 1 in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
67 reviews
7.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Vall de Bas
#2 of 2 in Joanetes
45 reviews
10.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
No photo provided
Cal Sastre Hotel
#1 of 1 in Santa Pau
178 reviews
6.1 mi away
No photo provided
Can Jepet Rooms
#1 of 1 in La Cellera De Ter
22 reviews
8.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 6 in Olot
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel can Garay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel can Garay

Property: Hotel can Garay
Address: Avgda Narcis Arnau, 6, 17172 Les Planes d'Hostoles, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Les Planes d'Hostoles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Les Planes d'Hostoles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel can Garay 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Can Garay is a large heritage, Art Nouveau house built in 1906 and is a listed building. The small family-run hotel is situated in Les Planes Hostoles in the foot hills of the Pyrenees , 16 km from Olot, 32km from Girona and 60km from the Costa Brava. It is on the edge of the Garrotxa Volcanic Park and only 80m from the Via Verde , the disused railway track now converted in cycling and walking track that runs from the Pyrenees to the Costa Brava.Hotel Can Garay has six spacious double rooms and one suite on the first floor. All the rooms, decorated with art nouveau furniture, look out onto beautiful centenary gardens and they all have double beds, en-suite modern bathrooms, hairdryers, makeup mirrors, central heating, plasma T.V/radio, wireless internet access, desk and room serviceOn the ground floor, the hotel has two dining rooms, and a lounge with open fire and collection of books specializing on La Garrotxa.We also offer free, private parking for our guests and safe storage for bikes and facilities for cleaning and repairing bikes.ServicesWe serve breakfast, dinner, picnics and drinks in the garden bar Special breakfast for walkers and cyclistsFree private parking Tourist information on walking trails and cycling routesSafe storage bikes and facilities for cleaning and repairing bikes Mountain bike hireFree WiFi, newspapers, fax, photocopier Luggage transfer serviceActivitiesSelf-guided, local walks to the ruins of the Hostoles castle, the beautiful waterfalls around the village, the mountains and Park of Special Natural Interest, Collsacabra.Walking in the Volcanic Park of La Garrotxa.Cycling on the Greenways (Vias Verdes) and mountain bikingHot-air balloon rides over the volcanoes of La Garrotxa.Paragliding and rock-climbing 7km from the hotel.Art Nouveau “modernismo” in La Garrotxa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel can Garay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing