We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mas Coquells

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas Coquells
Ranked #2 of 3 Vilanant B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Country Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

A beautiful boutique style converted farmhouse set in wonderful countryside with great views.

Homemade local style breakfast on terrace was a dream, freshly made juices were outstanding. Great hosts Gemma and Jonathan. Gemma was a mine of information on the best places to visit which really made our trip to this part of Spain hugely enjoyable.

Top Tip: The unpaved road is quite good but there is no sign saying Mas Coquells off the road to Cistella. Look for the sign saying “Veinat De Coquells” Resaurant Bado in nearby Cistella is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mascoquells, Propietario at Mas Coquells, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
I heartily thank you for being with us. We thank you for your letter, and thanks again for knowing discover our essence. Good luck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarragona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We are still thinking about our stay at Mas Coquells. There’s quiet, silence and a great family to welcome and take good care of you. Perfect choice if you are looking for a small hotel, with excellent views, great food (wonderful breakfast!), close to Costa Brava main attractions but away from the most crowded areas. Just perfect, no doubt.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoemiTGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Lloc F, Gerente at Mas Coquells, responded to this review, 23 June 2015
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment.
I hope to see you again on another occasion.

Cordially.

Mas Coquells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We loved this "masia", Gemma and her daughter are so friendly and welcoming! Breakfast sitting in the sun was just amazing, delicious local and home-made choices, great quality. The room was comfortable and very quiet, extremely clean. We would love to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunset room, it has a nice terrace and view of the garden and surrounding nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viajeraferoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mascoquells, Owner at Mas Coquells, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you very much for being with us. Thank you for finding the essence at Mas Coquells. Always thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Mas Coquells exceeded our expectations. First of all, you are in the country...and it is wonderful. Serene, scenic and relaxing. You can feel the tension subside. It's an amazing escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, but located not too far from Girona and Figueres. I don't think I've ever felt more welcome any where I've stayed before. Gemma, Jonathan and Tania made us feel right at home. It was like we'd known them for years and we were visiting their house...like old friends. The room was nicely appointed and very comfortable. The food and wine were delicious. While we ventured off to the Dali Museum and Cadaques (both are highly recommended), it was great to come back and relax in the peaceful countryside. They were so helpful...pulling out their maps, giving us sightseeing books to take. We were visiting from the US, so it was off the normal tourist path but it's a great place to visit if you're in the region (we took the train from Barcelona to Girona and rented a car, but you could drive straight from Barcelona easily). Thanks Gemma, Jonathan and Tania -- meeting you and staying at Mas Coquells was the highlight of my trip! I hope to visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Lloc F, Gerente at Mas Coquells, responded to this review, 23 June 2015
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment.
I hope to see you again on another occasion.

Cordially.

Mas Coquells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Immediately upon our arrival at Mas Coquells, our hosts, Jonathan, Gemma, and Tania, extended a warmth and hospitality I have rarely felt in my vast travel experiences. Their incredible friendliness and unique talents as hotel operators made our brief two-day visit to Mas Coquells feel more like we were visiting good friends. The picturesque setting among the rolling hills and the inviting charm of a perfectly renovated, centuries-old building created a relaxing solitude I was not expecting. Had the greater area surrounding Vilanant not offered so much to see and experience, I would have been perfectly content staying at Mas Coquells and soak in all the tranquil beauty and peacefulness!

From our wonderful hosts to the great food and delicious wines to our finely appointed guest room, we could not have asked for anything more! If my travel plans every take me back to this beautiful region of Spain, I would not hesitate to stay at Mas Coquells again. Needless to say, I highly recommend you do the same!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryInDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Lloc F, Gerente at Mas Coquells, responded to this review, 23 June 2015
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment.
I hope to see you again on another occasion.

Cordially.

Mas Coquells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Driving there for the first time, we didn't know what to expect... Once we got there, we knew this is one of those hidden secrets. A wonderful house on a fantastic location with special hosts. Delicious breakfast with excellent juice, freshly made every morning. Pineapple, melon, peaches... Jonathan, Gemma and Tania did everything with a warm heart to make our stay unforgettable. People you want to meet again, where or when... We will be back in Mas Coquells. Thanks friends for this unique holiday! See you xxx

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Lloc F, Gerente at Mas Coquells, responded to this review, 23 June 2015
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment.
I hope to see you again on another occasion.

Cordially.

Mas Coquells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

Wild fantastic location....the food is delicious, staff warm from the heart and the rooms so clean & comfy you just wanna curl up & dream all day...my week there was something out of a fairy story with a 10th century church thrown into the mix....pure bliss all the way...Viva Catalunya Viva Mas Coquells.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atmoparitosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Lloc F, Gerente at Mas Coquells, responded to this review, 23 June 2015
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment.
I hope to see you again on another occasion.

Cordially.

Mas Coquells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilanant
1.0 mi away
Can Clotas
Can Clotas
#1 of 1 in Cistella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
7.7 mi away
El Moli de Siurana
El Moli de Siurana
#1 of 1 in Siurana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.8 mi away
Can Patiras
Can Patiras
#1 of 2 in Cistella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Can Carbo
Can Carbo
#1 of 2 in Peralada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mas Jonquer
Mas Jonquer
#1 of 3 in Vilanant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Coquells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Coquells

Property: Mas Coquells
Address: Veinat de Coquells, 17743 Vilanant, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Vilanant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Vilanant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mas Coquells 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an historic original twelfth century Catalan farmhouse, we offer a full rural experience where you can relax and enjoying nature. We suggest arriving afternoon, in time to explore different walking paths on the farm land or simply to enjoy the tranquillity of the house and its common spaces, chatting, reading, listening music or connecting to the "outside world" via wi-fi. Rates include breakfast, with accommodation in one of 5 double rooms with panoramic views of the Pirineos and the Alt Emporda (private bathroom). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Mas Coquells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing