We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and very attractive hotel”
Review of Hotel La Coma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Coma
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Setcases
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel last September (with HF Holidays). I would unreservedly recommend it to anyone. The setting in the wooded valley is very peaceful, the room was comfortable and well furnished, and the view from our balcony was just lovely. The little village of Setcases (Catalonian for 7 houses) is quiet, and predominantly second homes, but there is a small supermarket and a sort of delicatessen/souvenir shop and several restaurants. Up the hill a few Km is the winter ski resort, and footpaths up into the high Pyrenees, where the vultures circle high in the sky.The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The cooking was done by the family, and felt real authentic Catalonian. If you want a big smile, try the "Whisky Pudding". at least once.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lester Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2011

A fantastic hotel with beautiful view in a fab location. We stayed here while on a short trip to ski at Vallter 2000 and was perfect for our needs. The room was every bit as good as the Barcelona Hilton (better view though),and the staff were friendly. The food was lovely, traditional Catalonian, with a choice of dishes and good portion size. Would recommend to freinds and family and are looking forward to coming back in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MurrayplusFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

From the time we arrived, we were very pleased with our week at La Como.
The staff was very welcoming and pleasant throughout our stay. The meals were great, especially supper, where there was a good variety of choices and the food was very tasty with generous servings. We also enjoyed the baguettes which we ordered for our hiking lunches.
The rooms were clean and spacious with a fantastic view from the balcony. The grounds around the hotel were beautiful with lovely flowers.
Overall, we were very happy with La Como!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinkoLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Like other reviewers I was also on walking holiday. La Coma were very considerate of my vegetarian and gluten free diet, offering me a special menu and providing GF cereals. Would definitely recommend to others. The small pool and jacuzzi were a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMA10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

The hotel is located in the small but pretty village of Setcases close to the French border, so walking the Pyrenees is right on the doorstep. Accommodation is in no way luxurious, but spotlessly clean with acceptable comfort for a 3-star establishment.
Food is perfectly suited to an active holidaymaker; vast quantities and high quality are the order of the day. The family owners give a great welcome, but you need some knowledge of the local language (Catalan first, then Spanish), as just the receptionist, Bertha, speaks English.
Altogether, a great hotel for enjoying the great outdoors!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Stayed at La Coma with a group of 18 people on a walking holiday organised by HF Holidays. The hotel was super and the staff and owners were very friendly and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble including arranging a Mountain Bike for me to ride. Make sure you go prepared to do plenty of exercise as the meals were enormous . The village itself is fairly quiet in September but there are still plenty of bars and restaurants open. A great place to go for a peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jei_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a walking hoilday. The food was excellent even though I could not quite manage to eat the snails! The staff were very helpful. The rooms were pleasant with views down the valley and a veranda to sit on and relax. The beds were a bit hard for my liking. The location is quite remote. Setcases is a pretty village unfortunately it was almost deserted as most of the properties are hoilday homes and are probaly only used in the ski season or Spanish summer hoildays so there was no atmosphere to the place. I would reccomend La Coma as an ideal base for a walking hoilday. I would like to suggest that they have a drying room for wet weather gear as it rained every afternoon!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamwari07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Setcases
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grevol Spa
Hotel Grevol Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanars
337 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Calitxo
Hotel Calitxo
#1 of 1 in Mollo
180 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Vall De Nuria
Hotel Vall De Nuria
#1 of 1 in Queralbs
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
La Trobada Hotel
La Trobada Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ripoll
117 reviews
5.3 mi away
Camprodon Hotel
Camprodon Hotel
#4 of 4 in Camprodon
72 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Resguard dels Vents
Hotel Resguard dels Vents
#1 of 5 in Ribes de Freser
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Coma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Coma

Address: Prat La Coma s/n, 17869 Setcases, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Setcases
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Setcases
Price Range: £67 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Coma 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly hotel. Excellent service with good menus and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Small swimming pool, only criticism was the lack of a drying room; we were on a walking holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Coma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing