We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for local walks”
Review of Hotel La Coma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Coma
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Setcases
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Like other reviewers I was also on walking holiday. La Coma were very considerate of my vegetarian and gluten free diet, offering me a special menu and providing GF cereals. Would definitely recommend to others. The small pool and jacuzzi were a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMA10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2010

The hotel is located in the small but pretty village of Setcases close to the French border, so walking the Pyrenees is right on the doorstep. Accommodation is in no way luxurious, but spotlessly clean with acceptable comfort for a 3-star establishment.
Food is perfectly suited to an active holidaymaker; vast quantities and high quality are the order of the day. The family owners give a great welcome, but you need some knowledge of the local language (Catalan first, then Spanish), as just the receptionist, Bertha, speaks English.
Altogether, a great hotel for enjoying the great outdoors!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Stayed at La Coma with a group of 18 people on a walking holiday organised by HF Holidays. The hotel was super and the staff and owners were very friendly and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble including arranging a Mountain Bike for me to ride. Make sure you go prepared to do plenty of exercise as the meals were enormous . The village itself is fairly quiet in September but there are still plenty of bars and restaurants open. A great place to go for a peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jei_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a walking hoilday. The food was excellent even though I could not quite manage to eat the snails! The staff were very helpful. The rooms were pleasant with views down the valley and a veranda to sit on and relax. The beds were a bit hard for my liking. The location is quite remote. Setcases is a pretty village unfortunately it was almost deserted as most of the properties are hoilday homes and are probaly only used in the ski season or Spanish summer hoildays so there was no atmosphere to the place. I would reccomend La Coma as an ideal base for a walking hoilday. I would like to suggest that they have a drying room for wet weather gear as it rained every afternoon!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamwari07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

What a lovely hotel in a beautiful location. The restaurant serves large portions of food of excellent quality. Bedrooms are comfortable. The extraction system in the ensuite spacious bathroom is quirky. Really enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The villages of Setcases is very attractive but sadly most of the houses appear to be holiday lets and were closed in June. I also saw Chamois, Lion Salamanders and Griffin Vultures when out walking

The staff were brilliant really cheerful and caring. I will long remember to peaceful evenings chatting with friends around the wood fire in the lounge. Thanks to all the staff for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

My wife and I stayed as part of an HF Walking Holidays group in late May. The room with balcony was comfortable and had a good view down the valley. Breakfasts and dinners were excellent with local produce and plenty of choice; the service was also very good. There are outdoor and indoor swimming pools plus a jacuzzi. These were great at the end of a long day's walking in the valleys and mountains of the Ter Valley. It would be possible to take a different walk each day for a week straight from the hotel; our group went further afield and on one day walked from a nearby ski station across into France with 360 degree views. This was the most picturesque walking country I can recall. We had a hire car with us and on our free day drove to Ribes for the rack railway journey up to Nuria; more spectacular views! The village of Setcases itself is very attractive though quiet in May (off season between skiing and summer holidays). There is one shop but several restaurants and hotels. It is a bit remote so a car is a definite plus although taxis and buses do exist.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

This hotel is ideally located for a walking holiday, with access to both high mountains of the French border and rather lower hills for easier walking. Flora & fauna vary according to the time of year, but this is a very attractive area with a wide range of species. The hotel rooms are spacious & clean; the service is first class (with a relaxed family atmosphere prevailing at all times); and the meals include a wide variety of local dishes, leaving no-one hungry at the end. But don't expect much local activity. The village of Setcases has few permanent residents, and you need to provide your own entertainment, which should not be difficult after a good day's walk. Enjoy the tranquility and attractive environment.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lochlinnhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Setcases
4.3 mi away
Hotel Grevol Spa
Hotel Grevol Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanars
312 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Calitxo
Hotel Calitxo
#1 of 1 in Mollo
174 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Resguard dels Vents
Hotel Resguard dels Vents
#1 of 5 in Ribes de Freser
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Els Cacadors de Ribes
Els Cacadors de Ribes
#2 of 5 in Ribes de Freser
281 reviews
5.3 mi away
Camprodon Hotel
Camprodon Hotel
#4 of 4 in Camprodon
71 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#1 of 4 in Camprodon
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Coma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Coma

Address: Prat La Coma s/n, 17869 Setcases, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Setcases
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Setcases
Price Range: £67 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Coma 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly hotel. Excellent service with good menus and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Small swimming pool, only criticism was the lack of a drying room; we were on a walking holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Coma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing