We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our Second Visit!”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We so loved this place last October that with a week or so of returning to the UK we booked again for May! Would it be as good? YES it was! The apartment was great, and the views were amazing. This time we managed a couple of meals in the restaurant in the evenings, which were very good. The local wine is excellent, and the complimentary limoncello to end the meal..... Pitres is an ideal place for a walking holiday and this time we went equipped with "Walk! the Alpujarras" by Charles Davis. Several walks go straight out from Pitres. Already planning the next trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinHussingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2013

La Oveja Verde is the kind of place you arrive at an let out a sigh of relief–you immediately sense that its setup to give you the feeling of having your own little home on the mountainside. Many other reviews here describe the ample amenities with the stand out feature being the spacious balconies in the sun. One day we took a taxi up to Trevelez and hiked back to Pitres–a taxing15 km or more of up and down. Back at La Oveja Verde I jumped in the cold but refreshing pool and made my way back to our balcony and lay down on the sun warmed slab and watched the clouds change shape in the sky as the swallows scythed to and fro before falling into a deep sleep. It's that kind of a place. José Ena is the proprietor and La Oveja Verde mirrors his personality–thoughtful, attentive yet low key, like a friend who happy to let you stay in his house and enjoy everything about the place that he enjoys and cook you a nice meal in his restaurant if you like. Beyond that, when I forgot my iPad in the room José tracked me down in Ronda and ended up arranging for a friend of his who was heading to Madrid to drop it off at our hotel there. Pitres and the surrounding area are a valley beyond the more visited Pampaneira and Capileira. If your looking for a place to feel at home in the Alpujarras you can do no better than La Oveja Verde.

Room Tip: Upper floors have more panoramic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed in the appartment last summer. Had a very good time. Well equipped two-bedroomed appartment with very large balcony. Close to well stocked supermarket. Breakfast on the terrace every morning with fresh orange juice and toast. Would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Our stay here was a holiday within a holiday .. we just loved everything we did during our 4 day stay early Oct with the weather quite perfect too. Interesting drive from Orgiva, with the last few kms to Pitres easy. Our apartment was perfect; generous balcony, more than adequate kitchen, insect screens so slept with windows wide open each night. SO quiet; slept like logs.
B/fast on the balcony, prepared by Sara, watching the sun rise over the valley below. Jose is so passionate about the area, and advised us of walks to do.(Check them on google maps as some of the tracks are not on the guides he has and can cause confusion when you are way up in the hills!) Make sure you do the 5 village walk as he advises .. we mised the start of the track so did it in reverse .... took us 4.5hrs (with pub stops) rather than 2!! We also walked over to Capileira/Bubion (up to 1600m) and caught bus back; amazing day. Market day Thurs, with huge variety of food, clothing, plants.. wonderful atmosphere. Great little supermarket off town square. Check out the local artisans in the area. So talented. Sadly we had to leave on the day of celebrations for the annual wild boar shoot. Heard the brass band practicing as we had b/fast! THOROUGHLY recommend a stay at these AMAZING 2* plus apartments and Pitres. We will remember this haven for as long as we live.

Room Tip: We had upstairs apt at far end from reception, with generous balcony on the end of building (nearest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

La oveja verde was a wonderful hotel. The rooms were spacious and very tastefully
decorated. Kitchen was lovely with all new equipment ,very clean and easy to use. Even the
TV video was easy to use !! Beautiful large private balcony with majestic views down into the
valley below with a little villages twinkling lights at night. Very quiet and romantic. All the staff were so
hospitable and well mannered. The food, wine and music was lovely. All for such a reasonable price. Pitres is quaint with a very well stocked supermarket and beautiful walks all around.
A peaceful refuge from the bustle of Granada and not far in the bus which was easy and comfortable. Go there.

Room Tip: A room above ground floor would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

This was our perfect mountain retreat getaway spot. The owners were wonderfully welcoming, and the apartment had amazing views over the valley. The sunrises were stunning. Pitres was just a great place (ignore the Rough Guide!!!), and we did lots of walks in the area. As we were well on into October the restaurant was mostly closed, but there were plenty of options in town, and the kitchen was well equipped. We definitely want to go again!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinHussingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I went to La Oveja Verde together with my wife, two year old daughter and two friends. The owners were very friendly and helpful, the food was great and it is located in a really beauiful spot high up in the mountains. Highly recommended for families or couples!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitres
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
0.4 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
82 reviews
8.9 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
237 reviews
3.8 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
294 reviews
17.3 mi away
La Almunia del Valle
La Almunia del Valle
#1 of 9 in Monachil
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra

Property: La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra
Address: Paseo Maritimo 14 | La Taha, 18414 Pitres, La Taha, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Taha > Pitres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Pitres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Oveja Verde ("The Green Sheep") has 11 apartments and a Andalusian Tavern in the Alpujarra Alta of Granada, in Pitres, and the Town Hall of La Taha de Pitres, between Barranco del Poqueira (Pampaneira, Bubión and Capileira) and Trevélez, 1245 m above sea level. Situated in the heart of nature, and only 100 m from the village square, with 2,000 square metres of garden to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the countryside, and, at the same time, not having to do without the services in Pitres (doctor's surgery, chemist's, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, ...). We are located just 90 minutes from Granada and 75 minutes from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your La Oveja Verde de La Alpujarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing