We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Richard A”
Review of Casa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Ana
Ranked #1 of 4 Pitres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Richard A”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The accommodation was good and the hospitality great. Ferreirola was an excellent centre for walking and Anne was particularly helpful in advising on good routes to take in the Alpujarras with plenty of useful tips. This is an ideal place to crash out and relax with the opportunity to do plenty of great walking and sightseeing with Granada only just over an hour away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
45
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were a party of 5 adults including an aged Uncle and Aunt spending a week in Southern Spain in May 2012. We had 2 nights with Anne in her wonderful B &B in the Alpujarra area and couldn't fault it in terms of overall holiday experience. The location is perfect for both walking and for touring the area and the accommodation and relaxed environment together with a wonderful breakfast and general well being was just perfect.

We'll definitely return soon.

Thanks Anne

Room Tip: My room overlooked a stunning gorge - fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookies-Dribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We found Casa Ana accidentally while trawling the internet for something far more mundane than a walking holiday. It was a serendipitous find, because this small guesthouse in the village of Ferreirola proved an ideal base for our first (of many, we hope) visit last April to the Alpujarras Mountains and the magical Taha Valley. Anne Hunt, its owner arrived there in 2003 and fell in love with the tiny village (population 34). The stone house, which is 400 years old has been stylishly restored and converted by Anne into a comfy B&B with all mod cons. It has balconies and terraces and shady nooks and crannies looking out over ravishingly beautiful mountain scenery. Even our bathroom had a shower with a view. A second house nearby is let out for groups or families. The whole place is perfect for relaxing after a ramble in the surrounding hills – and the walks start right at the front gate.
Breakfasts (and sometimes other meals) are served in a spacious dining room, where guests are free to use the large fridge to store their own cold drinks etc. Much of the food is freshly produced locally – including some from Anne Hunt’s own garden. There are maps and well-thumbed guide books on a table together with a folder containing Anne’s advice about local amenities and suggestions for walks. All in all, this place is a real find – but be warned, you might unwind so much that you won’t want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBDUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I had an amazing time at Casa Ana - it was a lovely retreat spent writing, walking and sampling the fresh local food. The room was cosy and quiet, but if you fancied a cup of tea and a chat, there was always someone around to speak to.

Ann was warm and welcoming, always ready with suggestions about walks and hiking routes or local shops or restaurants to discover.

The writers' retreat was great value for money - I'm already planning next year's visit!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Where to start?
This place is amazing! Our room was really nice and homey, I liked the interior very much!
The breakfast was delicious and before breakfast we usually had a nice chat with Anne.
She has great suggestions about walks, hiking routes - short or long one, with really clear instructions. There is also a lot of information in the dining room about things to do and see.
Casa Ana is a superb location if you want to escape stressful city life - surrounded by mountains and nature. If you feel too lazy to walk there is a garden and terraces where you can relax with a glass of wine and a book. That's the life!
And Anne herself - great host and a person. You won't regret coming here 100%!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceRiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I think Ann does an excellent job creating a place to get away but be well looked after . Ann is so welcoming and warm her simple but tasteful interiors are high quality, the beds are wonderful the showers excellent and the food is delicious! I highly recommend and will be back!!
Casa Ana is surrounded by the most ancient and beautiful foothills to the Sierra Nevada wonderful walking.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelliedee582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

So many places try to overdo things and fall short. Casa Ana takes the opposite tack. What it does it does excellently. You want a clean and comfortable room, perhaps with some outside space? Check. You want a breakfast that's healthy and tasty at one and the same time? Check. You want good food in the evening? Check. You want the opportunity to grab a coffee of prepare your own meal? Check. You want to walk the hills, write a book, meet real people, or just sit in the fresh mountain air? Check. Above all, you want to stay in a unique house set in a unique place run by a unique woman? Check. Anything else you want? Check.

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the main house, some are individual units across the courtyard. Whichever suits y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreandanOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitres
0.6 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.2 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel los Berchules
Hotel los Berchules
#1 of 1 in Berchules
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rural San Roque
Hotel Rural San Roque
#1 of 1 in Pitres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
3.4 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ana

Property: Casa Ana
Address: Calle Artesa 7 | Ferreirola, La Taha, 18414 Pitres, La Taha, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Taha > Pitres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pitres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ana is a historic village house in the mountainous Alpujarra region of Andalucia. Once a family home, with a wine press, olive store, barns and a goat shed, the property was lovingly restored between 2005 and 2013. It provides comfortable, quiet accommodation with 8 en suite bedrooms, dining room, sitting room, a Moorish courtyard garden and several south-facing terraces. The style is simple and traditional - chestnut roof beams and terracotta floors - but with modern comforts, including underfloor central heating in winter and rain showers. At Casa Ana we provide delicious breakfasts using local produce - fresh oranges from village growers, local honey, eggs, bread, hams and olive oil. Picnic lunches are also available. The house is located in the mountain village of Ferreirola (population around 28), near Pitres. The village has fantastic views of the Trevelez river gorge, and is a wonderful base to go walking, explore the Sierra Nevada National Park, visit the traditional white villages of the Alpujarra or take a day trip to Granada or the Mediterranean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing