We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from it all in Casa Ana!”
Review of Casa Ana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Ana
Ranked #1 of 4 Pitres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in March 2014, using the picturesque village of Ferreirola as a base for exploring the Alpujarras.

Casa Ana is tucked away in a quiet lane, overlooking the deep gorge of the Rio Trevelez. The rooms are arranged around a central garden. Our bedroom was a converted food store: comfortable, warm and quiet.

The breakfasts were varied and filling. Anne and her team of helpers were good hosts - nothing was too much trouble.

Ferreirola and Casa Ana were the ultimate "get away from it all" destinations. We'd recommend strongly and hope to return!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Casa Ana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

I went to Casa Ana on 5, October, 2013 for a course. I have never been to such an Inn, but I remember being instantly captivated the moment I arrived to the quiet village. The owner: Anne Hunt cheerfully welcomed us at the Village entrance near a Church and led to us to the residence.

The village is everything one would expect from a small, semi- secluded village with small population and beautiful, breathtaking scenery as the village itself is located on a green mountain, facing another green mountain, with a green valley in between. On our walk from the Church to the inn, the Owner Ana told us about the Walks and Hikes one could do here.

At the Inn you will be welcomed with a refreshing breeze with a neat garden and comfy terrace overlooking the valley and the mountain. You'd be led to your room; an intimate space. Plus a newly renovated cabin where you can spend a warm time at.

The crew there was beautifully supportive and helpful, with knowledge of the area and insightful tips. And the food they cooked for us there, well, it's simply divine! The Chef there makes exceptional meals that became an important part of the overall experience.

The Inn supplied the very basic needs I was looking for: clean room, fresh food, excellent wi-fi, endless supply of coffee and tea, and quietness.

In terms of geography, the village is surrounded by other four villages, and they complement each other, as those villages provide shopping stores and restaurants. And the higher you go, the more auspicious the view becomes.

The Owner would supply needed information: Taxis, near by restaurants for reservations, the tours around the area, as you can choose any random path you please and nine times out of ten you will satisfied with the destination you arrive at.

I only can conclude by saying that I was captivated by the Inn and its charm, and I know I will revisit it one day in honor of the great times I spent there.

Regards,

A. Safar

Room Tip: To me rooms where just a place to keep my baggage safe and to sleep at at night (or whenever a sies...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdulrahman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The place is literally the end of the road. Unless you bring your own mule you have to cover the last 200 meters on foot as the village roads are too narrow for a car, let alone a bus. (But you can park at the church).

In our case, the owner Anne Hunt came to the bus stop to welcome us, a nice gesture. Most people have said plenty about the house and the location, so here more personal impressions. I was there in the first week of October for a writers' workshop and everything about the place exceeded expectations by far.

Anne seems to have a special skill in finding the right people as staff: in our case it was largely Maria (an American) and Christof (from Germany). There was no feeling of 'us' and 'them': they ate with us and talked with us. And Canadian cook Wes, who comes into the house, is simply a sensation. His largely vegetarian cooking (but meat he does too occasionally) was supreme. All conjured up in a tiny kitchen. As if that wasn't enough: you can talk to him about art, about philosophy, about a whole range of topics.

Our study sessions were exclusively in the garden - even in October it was pleasantly but not excessively warm. If necessary, a new lounge has been added on. You can make tea or coffee there as you wish. The rooms are fine, and very individually equipped: modern showers (a bit 'Spanish' - they tend to be generous in distributing water all over the place...) and under floor heating.

If Ferreirola is too quiet for you: there is nothing at all in the village itself but a bar/restaurant 15 minutes walk away. Good fun. they claim to have invented the pizza there: a dastardly Italian stole the recipe and the rest is history... Just behind it a vegetarian restaurant of exceptional quality. If you have a car, Anne has further recommendations in the area. You think you are at the end of the world but there are excellent resources hidden all around.

All in all: this is not a place for everyone but if you love good food and brilliant scenery and are happy to walk extensively in the hills and do little else, then this is the place for you. Shoes will do in the village but do bring trekking boots if you are more adventurous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPMAllg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at Casa Ana for a week recently and thoroughly enjoyed it, everything was perfect. The location is beautiful and peaceful and the welcome provided by Anne was very warm. Our room was very comfortable and well thought out, the food both at breakfast and evening was excellent and the packed lunches were varied and filling. We walked most days and found the scenery to be stunning and local villages welcoming. Casa Ana was the perfect place to return to and relax in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabbycat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Nestled in a small, white village perched on a mountain with views that never end, Casa Ana offers a sweet spot to lay your head at night. Anne is a visionary who saw possibilities in this property and turned them into reality. And she takes good care of her guests. Rooms are comfortable with good beds and linens. Food, be it breakfast, a packed lunch or a three course dinner is amazing along with a superb wine selection. Views are stunning and the hiking is outstanding. There's lots to see and do and Anne will help you find just the right direction to take. We stayed for a week and enjoyed every minute.

Room Tip: Each room is unique; all are comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed at casa ana for two nights. We had a warm welcome by the owner, Anne. The bed&breakfast is in a very small village in the alpujarras. For a restaurant you have to walk to the nearest village (15 minute walk) or drive to the otter villages in the area. From casa ana you can walk directly through the beautifull mountains and small mountain villages. We have had a great stay at the casa!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liekej85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Spent 8 wonderful days at this great place. Everything was terrific and included a delightful cordon bleu evening meal cooked by the entertaining Wes. Anne is a lovely host and could not be more helpful. If you know the La Taha area then this is a wonderful place to explore its delights further. If you don't know La Taha you should - and this is a fantastic place to begin your discovery.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanBrine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitres
3.4 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
91 reviews
3.4 mi away
Meson Poqueira
Meson Poqueira
#2 of 3 in Capileira
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Puerta Nazari
Puerta Nazari
#2 of 3 in Orgiva
76 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Fragua
La Fragua
#2 of 2 in Trevelez
47 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ana

Address: Calle Artesa 7 | Ferreirola, La Taha, 18414 Pitres, La Taha, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Taha > Pitres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pitres
Price Range: £59 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ana is a historic village house in the mountainous Alpujarra region of Andalucia. Once a family home, with a wine press, olive store, barns and a goat shed, the property was lovingly restored between 2005 and 2013. It provides comfortable, quiet accommodation with 8 en suite bedrooms, dining room, sitting room, a Moorish courtyard garden and several south-facing terraces. The style is simple and traditional - chestnut roof beams and terracotta floors - but with modern comforts, including underfloor central heating in winter and rain showers. At Casa Ana we provide delicious breakfasts using local produce - fresh oranges from village growers, local honey, eggs, bread, hams and olive oil. Picnic lunches are also available. The house is located in the mountain village of Ferreirola (population around 28), near Pitres. The village has fantastic views of the Trevelez river gorge, and is a wonderful base to go walking, explore the Sierra Nevada National Park, visit the traditional white villages of the Alpujarra or take a day trip to Granada or the Mediterranean beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Ana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing