We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Relaxing Place”
Review of Cortijo Prado Toro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo Prado Toro
Certificate of Excellence
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Relaxing Place”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A lovely, quiet, well thought out place in a stunningly beautiful area. We've been twice and will certainly be going back. We have stayed in two of the apartments, which are separate and you can stay blissfully unaware of the others. We were in the Atico this time, which suited us, with its private terrace offering both sun and shade. The walks are varied and wonderful, and the views are indescribably beautiful. Highly recommended, although there is a temptation not to tell anyone else about it, just to keep it to ourselves.

Room Tip: Each apartment is different, offering separate options which might suit some visitors more. Check ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SGharpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
73
99
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etna, NH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Cortijo Prado Toro is a paradise. Our apartment was lovely, the pool area an oasis with lovely flowers, a gorgeous view, and superb walking in the area. The owner, Ludet, is extremely interesting, kind, and helpful. What more could anyone want?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank suzEtna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etna, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Cortijo Prado Toro is a beautifully constructed and designed establishment, lots of fine stonework and gorgeous, well cared for landscaping. The views are large and delightful, the units comfortable and accommodating. We enjoyed staying there so much 2 years ago that we returned again late May/ early June of this year (2014). The host, Mr Ludet, was pleasant and extraordinarily helpful, even helping me fix a bent part on my car, assisting us with groceries, advising us on some great hikes. If you're looking in this area of Spain, do consider this place!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, Cumbria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have stayed twice!

We booked this through a travel agency the first time we went and were not sure what to expect. On arrival we were shown to "El Atico" - the roof top apartment with stunning panoramic views over the Alpjuharras. The whole setting is superb - so quiet and relaxing, only 10 mins by car from the local village of Pitres (30 minutes walk).

This year we phoned the owners direct (Ludet Honig) and booked with them - they speak several languages very well, and this time we were staying in "El Patio" with its private courtyard, again a beautiful little apartment.

All of the apartments are furnished in a very stylish and attractive manner, the whole property is surrounded by lush and well tended gardens and the swimming pool has the greatest view, perched on a ledge overlooking the whole valley.....

It is difficult to write down all of the great things, all I can say is that it was way beyond our expectations and we were stunned by the whole package.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pleione73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Everything about Prado Toro exceeding our wildest expectations. Our apartment was private, spacious and beautifully constructed in traditional Alpajarra style. It was very efficient for the self catering traveler and included a kitchen and a patio with gorgeous views. The GR -7 was 150 meters from or back door. Our multi-talented host, Ludet, connected us with some pristine local hikes and best restaurants within minutes of our retreat. Peaceful, relaxing and rejuvenating.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

These apartments are designed in a style which accords with their rural location in the Alpujarra foothills of the Sierra Nevada. We have stayed here on several occasions and were happy to return last month.The accommodation is comfortable, well-appointed and always clean. Whilst there is much to see in the region generally and as much in the immediate surrounding area, we can think of no better location should you want total seclusion in spectacular surroundings. Whilst always respecting your privacy, the owner is a wonderful source of information on the local area and for general assistance should you you require it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

If you're looking for a rural mountain getaway, this is the perfect place. It's family owned and run. The owner is friendly and helpful, has good local knowledge and didn't bat an eyelid when we arrived very late (1am) after a long journey. The setting is stunning (but pay for damage waiver insurance on your hire car for the unpaved road), with the mountain scenery stretching out before you. The apartments are built in a traditional style, which we found charming. They had all the facilities we needed, but don't expect a hotel room - think of it as a small home from home.
Our 4 year old enjoyed exploring the paths nearby with us and swimming in the pool, but be warned that it is 2.5m deep throughout, so not suitably for anyone nervous in the water. We cooked ourselves meals and watched the sun go down some days, others we ate in local restaurants, sometimes paying as little as €10 each for a delicious three course meal.

I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitres
4.1 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
16.7 mi away
La Almunia del Valle
La Almunia del Valle
#1 of 9 in Monachil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.9 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo Prado Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo Prado Toro

Property: Cortijo Prado Toro
Address: Calle Real s/n | Alpujarras, 18412 Pitres, La Taha, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Taha > Pitres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Pitres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cortijo Prado Toro is situated in the Natural Park of the Alpujarras , on the southern slopes of the National Park of the Sierra Nevada, Spains highest and most dramatic mountain range in the province of Granada. The historic white villages of "La Taha" are within easy reach. The main town of the Taha, Pitres, is less than 10 min away by car. The Cortijo (country house) faces south, towards the Mediterranean, at an altitude of 1.450M, opening up breathtaking views of unspoiled natural countryside. On clear days even extending to the Rif mountains of North Africa. Cortijo Prado Toro is a delightful quiet place set amidst stunning country side. Hidden courtyards and patios provide sanctuaries of shade and greenery, whilst secluded terraced corners offer privacy in the sun. Weeping branches of mature willow trees form bowers of tranquility, and the gentle murmer of a spring or fountain never seems far away. Only birdsong or the muted clanging of distant goat bells is likely to disturb the silence of this quiet mountain retreat. The architecture of the buildings, designed and restaured with the help of "Donald Gray", an authority in traditional Andalusian architecture, is in the traditional Alpujarran style with much care taken on the detail. The individually designed and decorated apartments, all separated from eachother to provide absolute privacy , are all furnished to a high standard and combine simplicity and luxury with elegance of another era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cortijo Prado Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing