We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'd be Surprised!”
Review of Lord Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lord Nelson Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You'd be Surprised!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had read some mixed reviews but went with an open mind. We arrived late but got a friendly welcome and we were immediately shown to a front facing room (3) that was newly carpeted and furnished with both a double and single bed. There was a new TV and a clean and simple shower room (with shower gell) and an electric shower (so no hot water doubts). OK, the mattress was a bit lumpy but the linen was crisp and quite new too. The breakfast room was neatly laid up and a very efficient lady provided both attentive service and a very good fried breakfast. Juice, cereals, toast and plentiful coffee completed a much better than average breakfast. Night 2 saw a repeat - even fresh towels and an equally good breakfast. We had a voucher and the value was amazing.

Room Tip: room 3 - pleasant outlook, spacious and new furnishings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noggins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    98
    42
    13
    16
See reviews for
25
124
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel a bit shabby but room was nice and clean .Had a lovely evening meal but breakfast was let down by the cheap and nasty sausages they use otherwise an ok stay. Plenty of parking space and in a good location to visit Shrewsbury

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zigzag74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcs
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Room was fine, although shower was very very weak. Also a mirror in the room would have been nice as only mirror was in bathroom, which is not great for hair straighteners. Breakfast was good, but was disappointed we could not have evening meal in the hotel due to apparently the Chef walking out, maybe they should have tried to get an agency chef? In easy walking distance to town. Not great selection of eating places in town but blimey the drinks in pubs were cheap.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettieWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Basic, functional accommodation. Okay location for nearby places of interest, but glad of GPS to find it. Hotel generally rather shabby, an uninspired adaptation of a nice old building. Room clean. Traditional breakfast, generous portions. Had an Amazon Local Deal voucher, may not have felt like good value for money if paid full price. Nothing bad about it but nothing special either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BhamUK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Part of an Amazon Local deal to explore Iron Bridge and National Trust Properties in the local. Unsure of what to expect (given some of the unfounded poor comments on this site) but more than pleasantly surprised. Friendly welcome, ample car park and quiet location. Checked in to room - whilst compact it was, clean, tidy- ample storage space, tea and coffee making facilities, small bathroom with shower (more than adequate). Excellent breakfast with ample serving and nothing to much trouble. Appears evening meals now available and whilst we did not partake they looked excellent value. It does what is says on the tin and given the prices this would seem to exceed the cost/value. Would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AceBhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We stayed here after getting the deal on Wowcher.
We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel.
Parking at the rear was spacious.
The bedroom though small was comfortable, bed a bit bouncy but comfy.
We had to turn the heating off as the room was very warm, which is not a problem.
The included cooked English breakfast was tasty and ample.

This was probably a posh Hotel once but is now just a large B & B with a small bar.
I would visit here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greywolfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Hotel looks a bit run down from the outside but the room and en-suite were clean. The bed was also clean but well worn.
On the plus side there is ample car parking, the staff were friendly and the food plentiful but basic
.Probably reasonable value for money but doubt if we would stay again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
3.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
1.5 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Telford Shawbirch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
546 reviews
3.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
6.3 mi away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson Hotel

Property: Lord Nelson Hotel
Address: 11-13 Park Street, Wellington, Telford TF1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lord Nelson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lord Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Hotel Wellington, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing