We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lord Nelson Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swan Hotel(Telford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
47
99
43
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
99
43
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanb bexcellent value for moneytown centrefull englishminute walktea and coffeea bit tiredwould stay againold buildingstaff were really friendlytoastexcellent breakfaststayed here for nightsgood nights sleepa lovely stayrear
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here through an amazon offer, we were pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews. Our room was spotless and the breakfast was excellent! Piping hot and freshly cooked. Great base for exploring the local attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our first impressions of the Lord Nelson Hotel were not great. Firstly couldn't find our way in. When we did get in, realised how shabby the hotel was. Brown and beige walls, (possible white at some point), fraying carpet and loose and wobbly floorboards. Room not too bad, although not very well lit, so again looked a bit dark and dingy. Bed comfortable, but woken up at just past 11pm by the TV coming on by itself. This happened two nights running. Asked about this when checking out and was told that there was a problem with a local mast that had recently been erected and therefore messes with everyones TV. Would have been nice to have been warned!
Breakfast was average, not much choice, and disgusting sausages. All in all, an average place to stay for touring Ironbridge and Blist Hill Victorian Village.

Room Tip: We had a room at the side of the hotel. Not very well lit. No knowledge of any other rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nermal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently had a 2 night b&b stay here on an Amazon Local deal. After reading some of the reviews we weren't at all sure what to expect! Yes......some areas very definitely need a massive upgrade, and it certainly seems a strange way to run a hotel....But...we had a really nice room(9) with top quality bedding on a comfortable bed, fluffy white towels (changed on the 2nd day) and lashings of hot water. There was a hospitality tray in the room and it was spotlessly clean.

A more than adequate breakfast was served both mornings by a very pleasant lady, and the hotel owners were also pleasant and friendly! Extremely handy for Wellington town centre, and only a few minutes walk from a superb Indian restaurant.

So much could be done to improve the general ambience of this place both inside and out, and it seems a shame to leave it as it is!

Room Tip: Room 9 was really very nice!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanddLeighGtrMcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a voucher for this hotel and went June 20th. We had a very nice stay in room 4. the room was very clean and towels changed each day. Breakfasts were very good Tasty and Ample amount. For the price paid We could not fault it at all. The staff that we saw were always polite and friendly. There was a car park at the rear this was an added bonus. Thank you a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We only saw room 4. although on the front we had no problem with noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

As other reviewers have observed:
It was difficult to make a reservation using a voucher
The hotel was locked even though we arrived during the time they were 'open'
The customer service was non existent
The breakfast was greasy and cheap
The cleaning left matters to be desired, including the toilet brush. YUK!

In addition
They were 'between chefs' so were unable to offer diner.
The bar was not open to the public and was dark, frequented by a few bar flies. Very unwelcoming

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5050maggie5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews