We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“What a bargain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Purchased a Travelzoo offer for £99. Dinner, bed and breakfast and a cocktail. Could not find the place with our "out of date" sat nav so telephoned the hotel. We were given explicit instructions and a very nice gentleman directed us to a parking spot and had an umbrella ready to take us to the entrance to the hotel. We had Room 1 - a lovely room and large bathroom. Cocktails were perfect and the food at dinner was exceptional. We opted for the full English breakfast which again surpassed expectations along with the cereals, fresh fruit and yogurts - just perfect. We visited two National Trust places which are close by, Attingham Park and Sunnycroft - both well worth a visit. Hope we get another offer from Travelzoo as we would return just for the food and the excellent service by the staff. Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 1 - first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    16
    9
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
52
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a remarkable establishment! Although the exterior and immediate location may lack charm,
once inside it is an absolute gem. Food, rooms, service and cocktails were all exceptional and memories of a birthday weekend spent here will be treasured for years to come.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from pub close by will be best on a Saturday night when there is loud music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the positive words. We value feedback so much. See you again soon hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Popped in last Saturday evening for a cocktail before getting the train to Birmingham. We both had drinks from the 2 for £8 and couldn't find fault. Also tried a selection from the tapas menu. Again faultless.
The nicest bar in town by far.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tribrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We're happy you enjoyed your cocktails. We now have a great Tapas menu. Come along and try it out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here for one night in November 2013. A really good location, close to the station. The room was lovely very modern and clean, and some lovely personal touches. A good standard of biscuits, still and sparkling water, everything was fresh and really clean.

We booked in, there were lolly's and mints to pick at.

The Bar area was clean and mood lighting really gave a great and relaxed atmosphere. The cocktail menu was extensive, and we tried quite a few different ones. Each one was prepared fresh and had different fruits and signatures to them. Perfect.

The evening meal was exceptional, and really good value. The staff were attentive and caring. The dinning area was pleasant and intimate.

The beds were comfortable and pillows ample and plump.

We opted for the continental breakfast, there was plenty of choice and the fruit salad, was fresh with lots of different fruits.

I would definitely recommend the hotel. We will be going back thats for sure.

The only down side at first it appear the parking was limited, but actually there was space, and the area is covered by CCTV.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cemeaescutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the positive comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Me and husband stayed here and I can not fault the place.
The cocktails were amazing the food was superb and the staff were the best I have ever encountered!!!!
Beautiful hotel and room.
So good I have paid for my parents to go there as a Christmas gift

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aitch81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the positive comments. We hope your parents enjoyed their stay too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed for one night in November the room was lovely very modern and clean. The food in the restaurant was very good and the cocktails were amazing, but what really made our trip was the service the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was fantastic. I would definitely recommend the hotel and will be back.
Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moo9598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you book with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed her for two nights and had a great time! Hotel isnt overly big so you get the personal touch and service. Rooms nice size and very clean, bed was really comfy! Food was amazing!! Home cooked gorgeous food with something for everyone! Special thanks to James and Rachel for making us feel very welcome. We definitely hope to return!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haribo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Always good to get positive feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
1.4 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#3 of 21 in Telford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms

Property: Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms
Address: The Parade, Wellington, Telford TF1 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to a key train station, with a very sophisticated and smart cocktail bar and lounge, this small boutique facility is unique to Telford, offering top quality service and products for your stay, whatever the occasion, business or pleasure. Bookings for Friday and Saturday night !!! Please be advised that we are a town center located hotel and there are surrounding bars and clubs and might be a bit of music intrusion in the rooms and for this reason we supply ear plugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms Wellington, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing