We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Place to Eat and Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Place to Eat and Stay!!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I cannot recommend this place highly enough... we went on a travelzoo bargain price of £89.00 for the two of us for bed breakfast dinner and two cocktails which was an amazing find for me lol. We entered by the back door which is the front door for this cocktail bar and rooms establishment as there is a thriving pub on the lower ground floor too. On the night we stayed a sunday there were just ourselves and one other couple staying over so we got excellent service but i imagine that would be the case anyway as they have very high standards the staff have to meet so it seems.. and they do! We were shown to our room by Alex who was a lovely young man very polite offering to carry our case for us. The room was delighful, modern, freshly decorated it seemed in neutral shades with a wonderful rainfall shower and ample en-suite area. The bed was even comfier than ours at home and my poorly back that had suffered so badly on the stiff bed of the b and b the night before had chance to recover on this memory foam mattress. Bedding was spotlessly clean and the tv had a good choice of channels. Nothing was too much trouble for Alex who waited on us and the other couple at dinner. The food was superb and enough to satisfy the biggest appetite.. the tiger prawns were especially tasty!! The two cocktails went down smoothly followed by a few more lol.. on retiring to bed we realised we were close to the church clock as it chimed every quarter hour but it was strangely comforting. The odd noisy reveller could be heard as you are in a town centre so if you want country quiet then this isnt for you but we both slept very well and very comfortably. Even though it was a hot muggy night with the bedroom window and bathroom window open it created a lovely cool breeze. We couldnt hear the pub at all in our room so no disturbance there. Breakfast was served up to 10am a rare treat as normally the limit is 9 to 9.30am and again this was a super filling full english breakfast with plenty of toast and starters of cereal fresh fruit and fruit juices. We ate so well we could hardly move to go and pack our bags lol. Val the lady who waited on us during breakfast was so welcoming and helpful and just like Alex made us feel totally at ease. We checked out at 11am having had the most wonderful anniversary break there... one of the best overnight stopovers i have ever had and i have been to many in this great land of ours over the years with some really awful experiences and some great ones.. this ranks in the top three thats how impressed we both were. Highly highly recommended even at full price!!

Room Tip: Any room would be a good choice as they are all of the same excellent quality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriages-Wellington, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Andrea,

Firstly, thank you very much with your extremely kind words with regards to your stay at Carriages back in June this year, to celebrate your anniversary.

Your comments which represent all aspects of the hotel are accepted with many thanks and i will be sure to pass them on to all departments, as I'm sure they will be very pleased to read what you have to say about your stay here with us.

We look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    17
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
53
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

What a great find, stayed two nights and ate in the hotel both nights, the food is fantastic, a very talented chef! The room was superb, really clean and the staff were so welcoming nothing was too much trouble the lady that was on breakfast duty was a joy, and the young men behind the bar were so helpful and dont get me started on the cocktails just lovely, please dont be put off by the outside facade once you are inside its very chic, we are already planning our next trip many thanks

Room Tip: The rooms are warm and if you are above the bar below you may not be able to open the window so ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammijoAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriages-Wellington, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words with regards to your two night stay with us at Carriages.

Its so lovely to hear that you enjoyed the food served within our restaurant, your accommodation for the duration of your stay and also the cocktails and service you received within our bar.

We look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Big thankyou to everyone at carriages for making my 3 month stay feel like a second home! Stayed weekly with business and staff were always top notch, very friendly and always ready to help in anyway. Cocktails were built and tasted perfect as was the tapas for tea.
The rooms were always cleaned to very high standard with all the extras. Beds very comfortable and the shower was brilliant and the breakfasts were always highly looked foward too.Would definitely recommend to couples for a romantic weekend as the prices are very reasonable for the level of service and class carriages has.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdr2o3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriages-Wellington, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words with regards to your stay with us at Carriages.

We look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards, Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a lovely boutique hotel and restaurant with very attentive staff. However, we stayed on a Saturday night and below where we stayed unbeknown to us is a pub with a disco that goes on until 3am with everything that entails. The rooms are compact and very warm, but we were unable to leave the bedroom window open due to the noise, which could also be heard through the floor. Despite the fact we were within hopping distance from Wellington Train station the trains did not disturb us. Woke up feeling very un-refreshed and looking very tired. Breakfast was wonderful and plenty of it - a shame about the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms noisy at weekends when pub below holds disco until 3am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the review. In relation to your comment reference noise levels, we unfortunately are centrally located in a town centre. We're glad you made positive comments reference the hotel and services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed overnight while on business. The food was superb. Great menu with plenty of choice. Staff couldn't help enough and even bought the cases from the car for me. Nothing was too much trouble.
Really relaxing atmosphere, everything was spot on.
Room was exceptionally clean with the usual provisions.
Really couldn't fault anything. Left with the best full English breakfast inside me knowing that lunch would not be required during the day.
I will be visiting again and i look forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for the positive feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forwarding to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Brilliant place, stayed over night as in Telford for business. Food was great and really tasty and the service was very friendly. Will be staying again when in Telford again.

Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phithomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for the kind words. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is by far my favourite place to go in Telford at the moment. Unfortunatly Telford doesn't have much to offer in the way of 'nightlife' & then I was introduced to Carriages by a very good friend and was wowed by the sophistication of the building & the service from the staff.
My friends, partner and myself have now visited there on several occasions to celebrate birthdays, Christmas or just for a lovely night out. The last time we visited Carriages was Valentines night, where we were greeted as normal by the very friendly & efficient Rachel . The ladies were presented with a complimentary glass of champagne with lovely red floating heart strawberries ( very nice touch!) & Bthen of course we were able to order from the earlybird cocktail menu (before 8pm) 2 for £8. There are always peanuts on the table & we often get little complimentary nibbles, which again is a really lovely touch & very good customer service. My girlfriends & I had a night out with tapas & cocktails just before Christmas , which was great, very reasonable & plenty of it to go round.
This is in a great location just next to the train station & always worth a visit if you are going into Shrewsbury for the evening or for cocktails before trying one of the Indain restaurants in Wellington. All in all , a very relaxed, contemporary feel to the whole building, great service, great food & even better cocktails, what more could you want?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarriagesTelford, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed Carriages! You'll have to check out our Tapas and Brasserie menu soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
1.4 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,189 reviews
3.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#12 of 21 in Telford
545 reviews
3.8 mi away
International Hotel Telford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms

Property: Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms
Address: The Parade, Wellington, Telford TF1 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to a key train station, with a very sophisticated and smart cocktail bar and lounge, this small boutique facility is unique to Telford, offering top quality service and products for your stay, whatever the occasion, business or pleasure. Bookings for Friday and Saturday night !!! Please be advised that we are a town center located hotel and there are surrounding bars and clubs and might be a bit of music intrusion in the rooms and for this reason we supply ear plugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms Wellington, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing