We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Came for dinner and cocktails, first impressions weren't great as the location is not good, but do not let it put you off! Inside is friendly clean and great atmosphere. We ate from the tapas menu and were impressed with all 8 dishes we chose! Between 4-8pm selected cocktails are 2 for £8, and even after that they are still fairly priced! Overall a great night! Good food and drinks and great service! Very happy!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tasmin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriages-Wellington, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Tasmin,

Many thanks for your very kind comments and we look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future for more food and cocktails.

Regards, Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Came here via travel zoo offer as a break to celebrate my 30th birthday with my hubby. An absolutely fantastic boutique hotel, from the moment we arrived the staff made us feel welcome and service was 5*. Food superb and cocktails out of this world. Only negative is rooms too hot. Definitely booking a return trip :).

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank MarcandAimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriages-Wellington, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Marc & Aimee,

I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you was made to feel welcomed by our team.

Many thanks for your very kind comments and we look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards, Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Booked in by work - slightly apprehensive when I arrived due to location but in the grand scheme of things it was fine. You don't stay in Telford for the beaches. Once your inside you totally forget about the location as decor and service great. Rooms spotless and breakfast superb. Best point of the visit - certainly the cocktails.....

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dillonc1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriages-Wellington, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Many thanks for your very kind comments with regards to our hotel and its great to know that you enjoyed our cocktails. They certainly are hit with both the hotel guests and regular customers.

We look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards, Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Booked on travelzoo dine and stay deal, as previous reviews state, the location does look quite off putting upon arrival. Its sittuated down a side alley next to the bus depot and to the rear of a supermarket. However once inside you forget all this as the wine bar area is tastefully decorated, and the staff, what can I say, an absolute credit to the hotel!. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the we're very polite and attentive throughout. The dinning room was again quaint and well presented, and the food was excellent with good sized portions. There was a slight delay with our main meal, however we were offered a complementary drink for the delay. There was some noise disturbance from the pub below the wine bar, however this did not affect our nights sleep. The rooms were spotless as was the entire hotel/wine bar.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1which meant that all the other guests walked passed, however as there are only 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriages-Wellington, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Many thanks for your very kind comments with regards to your stay with us here at Carriages.

Your comments regarding the décor of the hotel, attentiveness of our staff and presentation of the food that we serve within our restaurant are all kindly accepted.

We look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards, Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here using a Travel Zoo voucher for £89 to include a welcome cocktail, 3 course meal, bed and breakfast. We thought this was fantastic value for money considering the high standards we experienced.

We were very impressed with the food, hotel and service. Nothing could be faulted there. Our room was also very well appointed, just a little warm - they could definitely do with installing air conditioning!

The only reason we wouldn't go back is because of the location. The hotel would be better placed in a trendy area of town with other cocktail bars and night clubs rather than tucked down what looks like a service alley behind the train station. We were unfortunate to have a delivery entrance opposite our window which was in constant use early in the morning, but it was too warm to shut the window.

I would still recommend the hotel to others in the area, but would just make them aware of the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the service/delivery area opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the-n-team-2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriages-Wellington, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Many thanks for your very kind comments with regards to our hotel and your stay earlier this year.Its lovely hear that once arriving in the hotel you feel as though nothing could be faulted and that it was 'fantastic value for money considering the high standards' that you experienced'.

With regards to your comment regarding the location, I can only apologise and hope that in the future you will reconsider visiting us here at Carriages, where you will once again be able to experience our 'fantastic' hotel.

Regards, Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a wonderful 2 nights at this hotel. Food was delicious and the welcome was very friendly. Nothing was to much trouble to any of the staff. The rooms are cleaned to an excellent standard. The breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of hot or cold options. Just opposite the railway station for regular trains to Shrewsbury. No noise heard from the train.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriages-Wellington, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Julie,

Many thanks for your very kind comments with regards to our hotel and its great to know that you enjoyed the food served in the restaurant and that our staff we more than willing to meet your needs throughout your 2 night stay.

We look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards, Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for one night, upon arrival I was treated by Alex, who in my opinion was a great ambassador for the hotel.
The hotel was of excellent standard inside and all of the staff were incredibly helpful.
Upon arriving at the hotel I was a little concerned by the appearance and the situation, as its a little bit off putting but once inside you forget this.
You will see that from all of the of the reviews there is a noise issue at the hotel late at night and I have to say that it certainly is true, so as per the previous guests review you would be best suited to take some ear plugs!!
All in all quite good value and great service ensured an enjoyable break.
Thanks to all of the staff..... Owner please note that the staff make up for any shortcomings and really do serve you as an employer.
NOTE- Don't let the noise issue put you off

Room Tip: Possibly ask for a room off the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank light095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriages-Wellington, Public Relations Manager at Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Many thanks for your very kind comments with regards to our hotel and the service you experienced from our staff during your stay. I will pass your comment onto Alex at my nearest opportunity, and agree with you 100% that he is an excellent ambassador for Carriages.

We look forward to the great pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards, Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
1.9 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#7 of 21 in Telford
574 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
1.4 mi away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#5 of 21 in Telford
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
999 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
6.6 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms

Address: The Parade, Wellington, Telford TF1 1PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: £93 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to a key train station, with a very sophisticated and smart cocktail bar and lounge, this small boutique facility is unique to Telford, offering top quality service and products for your stay, whatever the occasion, business or pleasure. Bookings for Friday and Saturday night !!! Please be advised that we are a town center located hotel and there are surrounding bars and clubs and might be a bit of music intrusion in the rooms and for this reason we supply ear plugs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms Wellington, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing