We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Melody

wood bungalow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
wood bungalow
Your private pool awaits!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
wood bungalow
Your private pool awaits!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Estacion de Cartama, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MudassarG...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Melody for 5 nights and the entire stay from start to finish was remarkable. David and Margaret greeted us and helped us with our luggage and showed us everything around the log cabin.

We were 2 adults and 3 young children. The kids loved the pool which had privacy all around. The view from the pool to the mountains was tremendous. There were milk, bread, eggs, cheese and deserts for kids in the fridge which was included as a Welcome pack. The kitchen was packed with all the necessary cutlery. David and Margaret were very helpful, kind and always on hand to guide us. The cabin had gardens all around with lime and orange trees. The cabin was spotless and we had our own parking space to park our car. The terrace outside the cabin was an added feature as we would spend an hour or two at the end of the day to wind down after the kids had gone to bed.

The property was only a short drive of maximum 30 mins from Malaga airport. Prior to our arrival the owners emailed us very clear and simple directions to the property from the airport. David gave us wi-fi key which was very helpful when trying to find attraction places on the internet.

The surrounding was quiet, calm and peaceful and we felt very safe. We would recommend Case Melody to anyone wishing to visit Spain. David and Margaret are wonderful people and they never let us feel like guests. They took care of us like we were part of there family. In short space our kids were very attached with Margaret and felt sad upon leaving. We wish to visit Malaga again in the future and would only stay at Casa Melody.

Our kids were saying that the plaque outside David and Margaret's villa reads 'A lovely lady and an old grumpy man lives here'. It should certainly say "A lovely lady and a lovely man lives here"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, Privacy and location of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
great to have you stay Margaret david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen2Lions
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“30 mins from Malaga, 5 mins from the village of Estacion, but still manages to feel 'off the beaten track'”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I've stayed at Casa Melody a few times now, over several years. Each time I return the owners have made a few little improvements (steps up from the drive, and a great new brick built BBQ), and always keep the 'cabin' in great condition. It's fully equipped, so if you feel like cooking, it's got all you could need. It sleeps 5 comfortably.There are also games, and TV with English channels to keep kids occupied - if you can tear them away from their very own pool!

Margaret & Dave know the area very well and can give you suggestions for day trips, or even further afield. Malaga is about half an hour's drive away (but is do-able by the local train) and Torremolinos beach about 20 minutes. There are inland lakes to enjoy quite close by too.

If you want to chill and spend a few weeks in real Spain, you can't go wrong here!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
thank you for your review margaret david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julian H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and friendly and an ideal place to explore”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with friends at Casa Melody, and really enjoyed it. The weather was lovely and the pool was ideal to cool off and to relax by. David gave us very clear directions to the property - we had hired a car at Malaga airport.
We did a few day trips, and one afternoon we went to Malaga on the train - the station is a 15/20 min walk from the property - and came back on the last train having eaten in a lovely restaurant and had a few glasses of wine.
The local village is OK and the restaurants and cafes are friendly and much more Spanish than you find down by the coast, but for me the main attraction was to go out for amazing days out, and to come back to a comfortable home away from home.
David and Margaret made us feel very welcome. We arrived quite late and so they got a few bits in for us from the local supermarket, and we paid them back later on. On our first night I couldn't believe how peaceful it was and the stars were beautiful.
We stayed for a week and had four trips out and two days lounging by the pool. Lovely!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
thank you for booking with us we hope to see you again in the
future kind regards margaret david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie B
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The perfect property for those who want peace and quiet but also accesibilty to the coastal resorts”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This May three friends and myself stayed at Casa Melody and loved it!

The pictures of the property do no suggest Casa Melody to be a typical Spanish villa but you will not be dissappointed. The wooden chalet / bungalow comfortably sleeps 5 guests and we were provided with everything for a great holiday. There was an abundance of clean towels for the poolside and personal use, plus box games, DVDs and books. Ample crockery and utensils were provided and there was even a brick built barbeque.and a washing machine - perfect!

The owners David and Margaret were lovely, they have their own house within the same grounds but were unobtrusive and when we sought their advice and recommendations where absolutely charming and helpful.

Casa Melody is slightly off the 'beaten track', some 20 minutes drive from Malaga and Torremolinos so if want want hustle and bustle that was easily reachable but on the other hand the Andalucian countryside is on your doorstep. We just loved the private pool and during most of our stay relaxed on site with a couple of trips to the nearby small town of Cartama Estacion which has excellent rail links to Malaga.

Highly recommended - well done David & Margaret!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace & quiet and private pool
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
thank you for your review hope to see you again kind regards
margaret and david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home "the perfect holiday in the sun"”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you want a restful & relaxing holiday away from all the hustle & bustle of life then Casa Melody is just the place for you.

We have been coming back here for approximately 10 years, this is a gorgeous location with beautiful views of the Andalucian countryside, a perfect setting to soak up the Spanish sunshine.
One of the main reasons for returning year after year is because of the lovely owners Margaret & Dave, we always get a wonderful welcome, they are a lovely couple and go out of their way to ensure we have everything we need to enjoy our holidays.

The accommodation, pool & gardens have everything you need for an enjoyable self catering holiday, and if there's anything you can't find then you can be guaranteed that Margaret or Dave will come up with the goods or be able to advise the best place to find it, a true home from home, exactly as the write up & photos show.

We would advise you to hire a car, it's not essential as we have stayed here in the past & did not hire a car & still had a wonderful holiday (Taxis from the airport cost around 40 Euros) and you can walk to the village shops & bars (approx 20 minutes).
But if you want to spread your wings then there's some beautiful locations to visit, from the lakes at El Chorro (about an hours drive), to mountain villages e.g., Mijas (30 minutes), or the miles of sandy beaches along the costa del sol e.g. Torremolinos (25 minutes), alternatively you can jump on a train from the village & enjoy city shopping & sight seeing in Malaga city itself.

We've had many great holidays at Casa Melody & plan to have many more :-)

Phil & Lisa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2014
thanks for your reveiw kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willstar...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed here for a week, I felt totally recharged by the time of my departure. Exceptional cleanliness, quiet location with easy access to local towns/ shops and a warm but unimposing welcome from the host couple. The villa has everything you'd find at home. If you have use of a car you can easily visit some of Andalucia's highlights or use the great rail network. I hope to go back again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil setting and the hosts
Liked least: Departing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2014
thank you we hope to see you again
kind regards margaret david
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David F
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy Times”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Really enjoyed the stay here. The owners were V helpful. Lots of interesting stuff nearby but I spent a lot of my time at Casa M just relaxing by the pool as it's so peaceful there. V Clean as well. I went with friends but it could just as easily suit families. Enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet if needed.
Liked least: there wasn't anything to dislike really
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review hope to see you in the future
kind regards
Margaret David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing