We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth stopping here”
Review of classicalView

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dana Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
classicalView
Ranked #1 of 7 Dana Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not worth stopping here”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stopped here only to cage dive in Mossel Bay (which was excellent) but wouldn't recommend staying in Dana Bay (or Mossel Bay): bit of a warren with little else to make it worth visiting, given that beaches are omnipresent along the coastline. The guesthouse was average overall. Double rooms shouldn't be advertised as such when it's actually 2 single beds: that's a twin room with no gap between the beds. Big difference. Would that make a double with a single added to it a king??
Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorleyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barolobub, Inhaber at classicalView, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dana Bay is a small, charming village situated a few kilometers from the center of Mossel Bay in a nature reserve and is not as suggested “a bit of a warren with little else to make it worth visiting”. Dana Bay does in fact have a couple of pub/restaurants that are worth a visit as well as having two of the most magnificent beaches where one can walk safely for miles. If one is looking for bright lights and night life maybe Ibiza would be a better choice, but for people looking for a safe, idyllic, peaceful place to stay there is no hesitation in recommending Dana Bay.

I would also like to dispute the comment “wouldn't recommend staying in Dana Bay (or Mossel Bay):” This review makes Mossel Bay sound like some remote back-water in the middle of nowhere where there is absolutely nothing to do, but go cage diving ( which is a great experience ! ). There are in fact many things one can do as a tourist. For the sporty there’s Scuba diving, rock climbing, abseiling, dune riding, sand boarding and horsebackriding to mention just a few.
If you are into culture there are two most interesting museums and three game parks with organized game drives.
A big cat zoo can be seen nearby, the Jukani, and you can take a walk with lions up close and personal or take a three day hike on the Oystercatcher trail, you can even view the countryside from the air on one of the many helicopter flights organized from Mossel Bay. Take a trip around Seal Island. Hire a yacht or high speed wave rider or take a leisurely sunset cruise. Deep sea fishing for those who want, as well as whale watching from June to October. You can go mountain biking, surfing, play badminton, tennis or bowls, again, just to mention a few. For the golf enthusiast there are two famous eighteen hole golf courses and all but a short drive from Dana Bay. Most certainly worth recommending. And if that still is not enough to experience, there is a casino close by and the Barnyard Theatre.

I get the feeling that people who write this sort of review have not done their homework and therefore are not aware of the possibilities on offer. No wonder that they are disappointed, but grow up, do your research and stop gripping about the Mossel Bay area, because it has so much to offer.

And the room- or bed situation in the classicalView is: Guests who stay only one night are usually hosted in one of our downstairs rooms with twin beds as this saves them the trouble of carrying heavy luggage to the first floor for such a short stay. However, should any guest indicate to us that they are dissatisfied with the bed arrangements in their room we will do all we can to offer them an alternative room more suited to their taste, which is available on the first floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    23
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
286
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon while we did a trip of the garden route. The house itself is beautiful, wonderfully decorated and incredible views. We had a very warm welcome and our hosts simply couldn't do enough for us. They were so helpful and helped us plan day trips, recommended good places to eat. The room was lovely and we arrived to balloons and champagne! Beautiful views, and a breakfast to die for! We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Andrea and Gottfried were wonderful hosts and the rooms were excellent and very comfortable. Nice showers, excellent bed, and very quiet. We stayed two different nights and were very, very happy to stay there. Mossel Bay is a very short drive away and ClassicalView ended up being a perfect launching point to beaches and other day trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nebbya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

On a two week tour of the Cape region of South Africa we had one night at Cassical View. It wasn't long enough. The Austrian owners were very welcoming and showed us to our room. We were a little tired after a five hour drive but the view of the ocean from our room, complete with performing dolphins soon woke us up. The room was beautiful , clean, stylish, lovely bedding, well stocked mini bar. Faultless. In the morning the breakfast was five star (thanks Rene) everything we could have wished for ...and more. My only complaint....we didn't stay longer but then I blame the tour manager - me!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Strauss room.....superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintandJoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed only one night in the beautifully appointed Mozart Room at the Classical View Guesthouse. The room was modern, chic and spotlessly clean. It had a very comfortable bed and we had a wonderful view of the ocean from the balcony. The infinity pool on the deck was a beautiful place for us to relax and unwind at the end of the day.

Our hosts Andrea and Gottfried were helpful and friendly and made us very welcome. We were also fortunate to arrive on an evening when Gottfried was cooking. We were invited to a marvellous fish meal and I tasted my first white oysters which were truly delicious. Breakfast the next day was equally good. It was a most relaxing stay which we very much enjoyed. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This place is heaven sent, the owners are so lovely and hospitable they are a wealth of information and have literally thought of everything when it comes to catering to your needs.
The house itself is stunning, the rooms well appointed, breakfast out of this world.
But the absolute icing on the cake is the fact that you can lie in bed or sit on the balcony and watch the dolphins swim past in the beautiful bay, for this reason the place is priceless!
You do need a car though because Dana Bay is a residential area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rennie-Brewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This hotel was the most beautiful we stayed in on our trip along the garden route. The rooms, the infinity pool, the house itself and the view were all gorgeous. There was a well-stocked honesty bar and a shuttle service to local restaurants, a winning combination! We saw bush boks in the grass area in front of the house, something that happens often according to the owners. We had a beautiful balcony that we sat out on in the evening and enjoyed the view. The breakfast was wonderful- all delicious and home made- a yoghurt and muesli cocktail, fresh fruit, cured meats, bread and cheeses, a cooked breakfast and a freshly cooked pancake. Lovely! My only criticism is one that was down to our personal tastes which was that the bed was far too firm and we didn't sleep well at all. This may suit others perfectly though- we do have a fairly soft mattress at home. We loved the golden retriever who pads around the place and loves a cuddle, too!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumph_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Bay
18.4 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
338 reviews
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
5.5 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 52 in Mossel Bay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
5.6 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 52 in Mossel Bay
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dana Bay B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to classicalView? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about classicalView

Property: classicalView
Address: 32 P. Mellifera Street | Mossel Bay, Dana Bay, Mossel Bay 6510, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay > Dana Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — classicalView 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The classicalView is the ideal location for your stay on the Garden Route, regardless whether you prefer peace and relaxation or want to see the sights the region has to offer. Enjoy our pool and sunbathing area and the magnificent view over the ocean. Start your day with an unhurried, wholesome and delicious breakfast on the patio or dining room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
ClassicalView Dana Bay, South Africa - Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing