We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome view and great ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dana Bay B&B Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dana Bay B&B Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Dana Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome view and great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

DanaBay B&B Guest House is perfectly situated, central to lots of activities to do and see, and a very comfortable place to stay. With the serene surroundings, and the absolutely gorgeous view, this is the perfect choice for a breakaway

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JolindyDreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosselBayDanaBay, Owner at Dana Bay B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Jolindy,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review - we sometimes forget how blessed we are to have such a lovely establishment and live in a location of this nature!! We love to share the total package with guests from all over the world!

Take care - we wish you an awesome Christmas and the most prosperous New Year ever!

Kind regards

Ronell & Quinton Dreyer
Dana Bay Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
105
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay @ DanaBay guest house,wil keep on coming back to ur place,because of its cleanliness,Ronells friendliness makes u feel @ home,best food*Ommelette our favourite*the place z so quite and sorrounded by nature,good 4 distressing and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Koleka & Joseph Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosselBayDanaBay, Owner at Dana Bay B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Koleka and Joseph,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review - it makes us so happy when our service is appreciated over and over. We would love to welcome you back at our guest house and make your future stays as memorable as in the past!

Have an awesome Christmas and Prosperous 2014

Kind regards

Ronell & Quinton
Dana Bay Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the self catering apartment and thoroughly enjoyed it. We just wanted a midway point from Cape Town to explore Oudtshoorn (Cango Wildlife Ranch) and Tsitsikamma/the garden route. The location was perfect for these outings so we weren't moving to a different hotel every night.
The self catering apartment has 2 rooms and 1 bathroom, and they provide every possible kitchen utensil you could possibly need. They also have a BBQ grill, but we never did use it. The area is very quiet, and the sunsets are gorgeous from the apartment.
Quinton & Ronell were lovely hosts, and I was so grateful they shared some rice with me when I came back with a camera that had gotten wet and needed to leave it in rice. I really truly appreciated their kindness and would love to go back there!
P.S. I believe somebody else mentioned this is close to Gansbaai for shark diving... It is 3.5 hours from there, and apparently Mossel Bay has its own shark diving so you could go there instead. The drive from Dana Bay to Gansbaai is so long at 4am!! :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joy_loves_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosselBayDanaBay, Owner at Dana Bay B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi Joy and Brian,

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for the lovely review! I sincerely hope that your shark cage dive was worth the early morning trip. I am so sorry that you were unaware of our own shark cage dive in Mossel Bay - we thought it was a personal preference and part of your itenerary. I contacted the previous guest that got the towns mixed up and requested that she change it.

We would love to have you back as our guests - have a wonderful Christmas and take care in the new year!

Best regards

Ronell and Quinton
Dana Bay Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night at this wonderful B&B situated in the smaller town just a few miles from Gansbaai. We were given a very warm welcome on arrival and advised as to the best places to visit in the short time we had. Our room was spacious and very well equipped, with a balcony and sea view. We were given a very hearty breakfast that was delicious.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosselBayDanaBay, Owner at Dana Bay B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Angela and Stephen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review - mostly appreciated. We trust you will have memorable stays all over South Africa and that you would be back to enjoy our lovely country!

Kind regards - we would love to welcome you back as our guests at another time!

Quinton & Ronell
Dana Bay Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for one night in this wonderful place and wished to stay more.... The view is just breathtaking, the breakfast served at the balcony is splendid. The rooms are very well equipped and highly pampering. We warmly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Didi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosselBayDanaBay, Owner at Dana Bay B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
So good to hear from you and thankful that you had a safe return home! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review regarding your stay at our guest house - we would love to have you back as our guests!

We trust you had an awesome, rewarding and memorable stay throughout South Africa and that you will look forward to your next vacation in our beautiful country!

Take care until next time!

Warmest regards from Dana Bay

Ronell & Quinton Dreyer
Dana Bay Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Everything was of excellentquality and service. Cannot complain about a single thing. Hosts were very friendly and helpful. View of sea is fantastic , even saw some whales. Breakfasts were very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosselBayDanaBay, Owner at Dana Bay B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Maurice - thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review we really appreciate your effort. We trust you had a lovely flight back home and that you enjoyed your stay in Dana Bay. We also want to wish you many happy years in your new home that you purchased while staying at our guest house.

Take care until next time and please pay us a visit when you are settled in.

Kind regards from Dana Bay!

Ronell & Quinton
Dana Bay Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Guest House was extremely well appointed, with excellent views of the sea. We also had a bush buck visit us. Staff were excellent and helpful at all times. Would recommend to anyone. Not too close to major shops but if you have your own transport, it will suit anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerryvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MosselBayDanaBay, Owner at Dana Bay B&B Guest House, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear Gerry and Gareth,

We trust you had a pleasant stay overall during your recent visit to South Africa and also thankful that you had a safe trip home. We would like to thank you for the lovely review - it is most appreciated and be sure of our best service always. We would love to welcome you back as our guests should you decide to have another trip to this area.

Take care until next time!

Best regards - Ronell & Quinton
Dana Bay Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Bay
18.4 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
5.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
4.5 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 53 in Mossel Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bar-t-nique Guest House
Bar-t-nique Guest House
#3 of 53 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lilies & Leopards B&B
Lilies & Leopards B&B
#3 of 7 in Dana Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dana Bay B&B Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dana Bay B&B Guest House

Property: Dana Bay B&B Guest House
Address: 34 P. Mellifera Street, Dana Bay, Mossel Bay 6510, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay > Dana Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Dana Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dana Bay B&B Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guesthouse offers luxury accommodation at affordable rates. We offer both B&B and Self-catering and our location makes it the perfect base to explore the magnificent Garden Route and Klein Karoo during day trips. Peace and tranquility at its best if offered at our guest house with the most spectacular 180° unobstructed sea view. We invite you to become our guests and enjoy great hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Dana Bay B&B Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dana Bay B&B Guest House South Africa - Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing