We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable meal”

The Coppice at Lanner
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Lanner
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Coppice at Lanner was bought by the Keltek Cornish Brewery in January 2013 and 12 months later it has been transformed. Fitting of new roofs, a complete programme of redecoration, a brand new cellar and numerous changes to the interior of the building including installation of wood burning fires and the addition of a 4 barrel real ale stillage at the main bar (with three extra hand pulls for even more real ales) mean that the pub can now offer up to 11 real ales and ciders at any one time. A new menu released in November 2013 has evolved the already high standard of cuisine with unique and interesting signature dishes including specialist grills, fish and ethnic dishes inspired from around the world. In recognition of "the good old days" of the 1960s the pub menu now also features generously portioned, traditional basket meals (but with a 21st century menu selection) which are a very cost effective way of feeding larger families on a budget. The brewery is about 5 minutes' drive away from the pub so no beer miles! The Coppice at Lanner has a very large family bar and a lounge bar (called George's Bar) as well as a separate sports bar with two pool tables and darts as well as BT Sport on a large screen. The pub is very family friendly with large gardens, open air kiddies' adventure playground, outside dining when weather permits and baby changing facilities with all the necessary accessories. Special events such as weddings, business meetings and birthday parties can be booked to make use of the ample facilities at The Coppice.
truro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

After a meal here 4 years ago we vowed never to come back, however having heard there were new owners and after reading the recent trip advisor reviews we decided to visit for a sunday evening carvery, We arrived and were greeted in a friendly and polite manner by the bar lady, my glass was dirty but they apologised and gave me a new one immediately, we sat outside to have our drinks, there were several well behaved children playing whist their families finished their meals. We were called in for our carvery, there were 2 choices of meat, 6 vegetables, new and roast potatoes and yorkshire puddings, plus plenty of hot gravy and sauces to go with the meat, The food tasted as good as it looked, the beef was very tender and tasty, and I particularly liked the lovely peppery mashed turnip and the cauliflower cheese! Yorkshire pud wasn't to hubbys taste but as his mother is from yorkshire and made the best yorkies in the world we will say no more! we thoroughly enjoyed our meal (which we didn't have to pay for before we ate Mark RR!) and left feeling extremely full and satisfied and in the knowledge that we will return again for a decent meal and a warm welcome.

This place was really run down before new owners took it over, they must have spent a huge amount of money cleaning and redecorating to make it a clean and inviting place to visit, but they are getting there! I am sure it will become popular again, us locals need to give it another chance. A little bit of constructive feedback for the owners; the fabric mats on the bar could do with replacing as they were a bit old and not very clean.

We will be back to have another carvery and try some of the other meals too, thanks for a lovely evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TruroJbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    27
    11
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fully recommended! ”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We visited the coppice mid june.
The staff were friendly and chatty.
The owners were fully involved in the running of the bar and in the kitchen which these days is unusual! But Nether less they also made their customers welcome..such a lovely couple.
The food was lovely and presented well.
Fully recommend The Coppice. We are certainly going to be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The food here was outstanding, the best meal we have had on our two week holiday. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debtay1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Don't write many reviews but had to review this place, worse food I've had the misfortune to be served don't waste your time or money, no wonder you have to pay for the food before you eat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartH475, Director at The Coppice at Lanner, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We have a genuine policy of continuous improvement and so we have thoroughly investigated these comments as usual but have concluded on this occasion that this is an unfair review which is simply not an accurate reflection of a genuine experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A vegetarian can eat at the carvery!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Headed in on a Sunday evening with not a lot of other options thinking I might have to make do with vegetables. Found to my delight a knowledgeable young chef ( local lad who has chosen to stay) told me all the vegetables , the yorkshire pudding AND the gravy were veggie friendly to accompany a nut/veg patty. The highlight was that I could have all the trimmings mint sauce, horseradish and cranberry sauce. An excellent half of local beer was the perfect beverage choice.
My only caveat was the piped in muzak when there must be good local music to play on CD etc.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coppice at Lanner also viewed

 

Been to The Coppice at Lanner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing