We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we were expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samson Beach Chalets
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Point Samson
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed in the deluxe 1 bedroom chalet and found that the room didn't match the photos. The photos give the impression of a large, spacious living/dining room, and when we walked in we were met with a smallish, cramped looking living/dining room. I'm thinking the photos we viewed are for the deluxe 2 bedroom chalet. Perhaps a couple of extra photos on their website with labels would help guests to make informed decisions. The bedroom was nice and spacious, with a second television, so we spent our time in here instead.

Also, for the price you pay here, I expect to be wowed when I walked in to a room. There are obvious scratches in the paint work, and exposed cables to the television, and old wall fittings that are still visible. I've stayed in places in the Pilbara that are half the price and have been met by flawless rooms that look outstanding. A bit of tender loving care to the rooms would be appreciated as first impressions last.

The parking bays also need to be addressed. For the first two days we were able to park in the parking bay directly in front of our chalet and just assumed that this was the case (as it is in most places). However, on the third day we came back from the beach to find someone else in the bay, and all the surrounding bays occupied. I spoke to the manager about it and was informed that the parking works on a "first come, first serve" basis, which is ridiculous. I counted the number of available bays and found there were only 13 possible places for large cars to park, and some of these require tricky reverse parking. If the chalets were at full capacity (15 chalets, two of which are double meaning they should accommodate 2 cars) then the people at the sorry end of the "first come, first serve" policy would find themselves parking outside of the compound. Perhaps bays can be allocated to chalets to make the parking a bit more sensible, and the miners can be asked to park their vehicles in the outside parking lot as they don't need to worry about vehicle security (since the cars belong to the mining company).

The internet in the rooms also needs to be fixed. Having to go outside every time I want to check my email is a bit annoying. The WIFI advertised on the website was one of the clinchers for me booking this place, and was just another small let down in a long line of small let downs.

Overall, its ok, but we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bodian_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointSamson, Manager at Samson Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Bodian-au
Thank you for your comments on our chalets.Although we dont like to hear them we know if we act positively on them our chalet experience will be better for all.
We are sorry if you found our photos and lack of description misleading on our website for the chalet you booked.We will put new photo's up and add in a actual square meterage for each bedroom and kitchen area to counter that.
We dont try and wow anybody with our chalets we just try and give a good clean comfortable chalet with high end products at a reasonable price point.We are sorry we failed you.
We use a painter/plaster from Karratha who has been touching up our chalets in the past month (in between running off to other jobs) but never got to the one you hired.We can assure you we want to present a well maintained product to our guests and strive to do so. As you can imagine we need a chalet to be empty for three days or so for plastering/sanding and painting to take place.
I can understand your frustration with the internet working better outside than inside.We are in the process of upgrading the wireless internet and have received a quote from Telstra to do just that. However they have been reluctant to give us a written guarantee that it will work better in all areas than it does now.
We understand what you are saying about the designated car bays but we still feel the first come first served policy still works well for us. Sometimes we have three or four guests stay for several months in our larger chalets and they have no car at all (they are bussed everywhere) and if they had designated undercover car bays they would be wasted. The car park is very rarely full and indeed our first two bedroom chalet has a undercover two car bay you probably didnt notice that is accessed from another street.Some guests also prefer to park on the verge as their vehicle is then in their range of vision.
You may have noticed other reviewers are quite taken with our chalets and have deemed them the best they have stayed in.
We just have to accept the fact we can't be loved by everyone but we wont stop trying.
Happy travelling

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

After a month travelling around West Aus encountering different levels of accommodation, we were very happy with our 1 bed apartments. Clean, well appointed and beautiful gardens. In fact very well appointed with bath robes, plenty of towels, the best guest laundry we have seen as well.
The very friendly helpful manager made our stay even more enjoyable.
The pool was covered with shade which made for enjoyable swimming.
We wished we could have stayed longer and would recommend these chalets as they were up in out top 2 accommodation places in our entire trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrisbaneCazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointSamson, Manager at Samson Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

Thankyou Carolyn for your lovely comments about our chalets. I am pleased to hear you have us in your top 2 pick of your WA holiday. We have just had our star rating review and we received our 4.5 stars again with positive comments about our 'Emma Blyth' original artwork that we are in the process of putting in all our chalets. We have recently purchased new washing machines (no longer coin operated) for our guest's laundry making washing machines free which is an added bonus for our guests. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in WA and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom chalet at the Samson Beach chalets in november 2012 for 3 nights. We needed a place to stay, coming up from Tom Price and before flying from Karratha to Broome. As Karratha does not really have anyplace nice to stay and is ridiculously expensive, we decided to go to Point Samson since it is located an easy 60 minutes drive from Karratha. Point Samson is expensive as well, but at least it has a beach. The chalet was very nice, good quality furniture, very complete kitchen, great private outside area (with an outside shower). The only thing that really bothered us was the enormous amount of flies that kept landing on us. It must have been the season or something in the wind or the tides, but as soon as you sat outside about 20 flies landed on your face and a couple of dozen more on your body. It actually kept us from sitting outside after a while.
The little resort is very pretty, the chalets are close to eachother but you don't really see your neighbours. There is a pleasant swimmingpool with shady areas, and deck chairs near the pool. There is a laundry (which you have to pay for). Across the street is a tavern and bistro, very convenient for take-out food or having a drink at the bar. The fish and chips are fresh and delicious. Also across the street is a little convenience store, it has the basics, but for real shopping you have to go to Wickham which is about a 10 minutes drive. From the chalets you can walk to honeymoon cove, a pretty little beach with nice swimming.
The chalets are serviced every day (which I think is a bit much for a self-contained unit, but it is nice to get fresh towels every day).
We had the one bedroom chalet, because we found the two bedrooms a little too expensive. In the one bedroom the living room couch turns into a bed (quite large actually) which sleeps surprisingly well. I have to agree with another traveller about the wireless internet, reception is very poorly, we had to sit outside with our iPad in the air to get some online action. This could be improved upon I think.
All in all a good place to stay (except for the flies but that's not the management's fault I think).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MoniekEindhoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointSamson, Manager at Samson Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thankyou Moniek for taking your time to post your lovely comments regarding our chalets. We are currently in the process of upgrading our WIFI system but due to our remote location it is not always an easy or fast process; we understand how frustrating it can be especially at the moment with the flies. Thankyou for your great photos and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Our chalet was clean, spacious with quality ammenties and a full kitchen. It also had an excellent outside area, which given the temperatures in the 40's, we made good use of. The wireless internet, however, was intermittent at best, which was disappointing. I was not able to use the safe in the unit, and the manager (although pleasant and helpful) was not able to operate it either. There were no suitcase racks. When we arrived at 3.30 pm on a Saturday the office was closed with our paperwork in a basket outside. It would have been helpful to have an instruction book with the oven, as you needed to set the clock before the oven would work.

These were all minor issues, but it is attention to the details which earns the "5" rating from me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointSamson, Manager at Samson Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Hi Janet, Thankyou for taking your time for your comments, all feedback is important to us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Due to the size of our business we are not always able to meet guests to check them in, all rooms have a guest info pack and in the pack is information regarding how the oven works. As I am relativley new here, it had never come to my attention on how to fix the safe if a previous guest had locked it, thanks to your findings that the safe was locked I am now able to rectify this situation if it occurs again. Janet we are contsantly upgrading our chalets and you will have noticed the digital Samsung flat screen Led Lcd TV'S just installed and we are currently having a major original Emma Blyth art work commissioned for above each bed head. Our next concern will be the upgrading of the free wireless internet and the luggage racks to each room. I hope to see you again should you travel to the Pilbara in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Of all the places we stayed on our trip in W.A. I think that the Point Samson Chalets were the best.The photos on the website do not do them justice. We stayed in a one bedroom chalet. It had everything you needed, large fridge, dishwasher, outside electric barbeque, huge television,comfortable lounge.etc. We stayed four days and it really finished our trip fantastically.
Nice swimming pool that we did not use as it was just a little to early in the season weather wise.
Very handy to the pub and only eating place in town!

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the road are probably more private as far as the outdoor areas of the units are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bonnie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointSamson, Manager at Samson Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Hi Bonnie, Thankyou for your lovely comments regarding our chalets, especially the comment about our chalets being the best for your trip in WA. It was a shame that the weather wasn't quite warm enough for you to enjoy the use of our beautiful pool. We hope to see you again if you return to WA for another holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed the 1 night as a getaway from Karratha for our wedding anniversary and very happy that we did. Not only is this the best in Point Samson I think it is better than anything available in the Karratha area. We stayed in ensuite room looking over the ocean (Sable 1). The room was very nice and clean with a comfy bed, digital tv ,small fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Is pretty much motel style but definately done with better style.
There is no restaurant on site but Point Samson Tavern is 100 m away and serves cold beer and good food. There is Tata's restaurant 5min walk away that has great food but a bit expensive even by Pilbara standards.
The only time we spoke with any of the staff was on check in/out and the manager was nice and freindly.
Lastly the price, at $250/night this is pricey but still one of the cheapest available in the area where very average rooms can be up to $300 or more, as such well worth it.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pirate63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointSamson, Manager at Samson Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Hi Pirate, Thankyou for taking your time to write your lovely comments about our chalets. It's nice to hear your thoughts about us being the best place to stay in the area, including Karratha. It is also nice to hear you had a lovely meal at the Tavern which is so close to us. We take pride in our prices as the are very competetive for what you would recieve any where else in the area. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here on a weekend in June. Found the keys in the basket routine a bit odd, but checked in OK. Stayed in one of the larger chalets with a seperate bedroom, 8yo daughter slept on the fold out bed in the living room.

The rooms are modern and well presented. Flat screen TV's in both rooms, well appointed kitchen and a great outdoor area with outside shower, and access to a huge grassed area surrounded by immaculate gardens. It was very relaxing sitting down at the outdoor setting and having a few pre-dinner drinks.

My daughter and I tried out the pool, nobody else around at this time of year. The water wasn't too cold and the pool and surrounding areas were spotless. I imagine it would be a very popular place to hang out during the summer months.

We ate at the tavern over the road. It's very popular and the service was great, although I ended up getting a very ordinary peice of Barramundi, I should have stuck to the fish and chips.

The only let down for us was the state of the tiled floors. They appear clean enough, but when it's time to climb into bed, you discover your feet are black. The floors obviously get swept, but I don't think they see a mop very often.

The other disappointment was the noise that comes from outside the tavern after closing time. Unfortunately we were very close to the tavern carpark, thankfully seperated by a high limestone wall, but the loud mouthed drunks take their time going home. (An RBT down the road would net some interesting results.) I realise that the chalet owners can't do much about this, and during the week it's probably not an issue.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TQ30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointSamson, Manager at Samson Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Hi TQ30, Thankyou for taking your time to post your lovely comments on tripadvisor. Due to the size of our business we are not always able to meet the guests to check them in. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed our grounds and gardens to relax in, including the cleanliness of the pool area. It was a shame you had an issue with the tiles, I can ensure you all rooms are mopped after checkouts, but your comment has helped me towards putting new procedures in place to prevent this problem. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Samson
24.1 mi away
Karratha International Hotel
23.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Ranges Karratha
23.7 mi away
Best Western Karratha Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
ibis Styles Karratha
ibis Styles Karratha
#4 of 7 in Karratha
170 reviews
9.1 mi away
Point Samson Resort
Point Samson Resort
#2 of 2 in Point Samson
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samson Beach Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samson Beach Chalets

Address: 44 Bartley Court, Point Samson, Western Australia 6720, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Point Samson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Point Samson
Price Range: £108 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning architect designed chalets offer the natural beauty of the area with the intimacy, privacy and personal touch of a small luxury property. We have a range of accommodation from the 1 or 2 bedroom self contained chalets to our 1 bedroom ensuite chalets. Relax in our tranquil surrounds,go fishing, walk along the beach or take a swim in our pool. We offer free WIFI, daily housekeeping, free laundry and a selection of snacks and cool drinks in our mini bar. You will find the beach, Tavern and General Store all in a minutes walk. The Reception is open 24/7. We are happy to assist you anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Samson Beach Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samson Beach Chalets Point Samson, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing