We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was terrible! the website is a total con!!!”
Review of Apollo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apollo Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wamberal
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The first room thry put us in STANK! they charged me $130.00 for the night, as a socalled special, the photos are nothing like it when you arrive, trust me do not stay here, ever! it was disgusting!

Room Tip: no tips, do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

we stayed at the apollo many years ago it was 5 star and beautifull so we decided to have a 1 night stay in a spa suite we arrived to unwelcoming staff and a dirty room it was just horrible we asked for a refund and it was given

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Staying at the Central Coast for a weekend basketball competition for my daughter. After playing 3 games of basketball returned to our hotel room late that evening, with an exhausted daughter desperate to have a hot shower, but there was no hot water!!!! Tried to phone reception but the phone in our room was not actually connected. Went to reception but it is not staffed at 11pm at night. Spoke to owner in the morning and asked for partial refund but he kept saying he would come to room and check that there was hot water. Of course the water was hot in the morning. For $190 a night, you are paying for a very run down and outdated hotel room. There is a much higher standard of accommodation in this area for similar cost.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I grew up just down the road from Apollo. It used to be a 5 star resort with a 5 star function centre. The front desk lady was very nice. There was barely anyone staying there, the place was a ghost town. We went to our room, it was a bit outdated but it was cosy, large and had coffee, tea etc. the beds were large and comfortable. The TV had FOXTEL. The only issue I had was the mould growing up the tiles in the shower, or it seemed like mould, it could have just been old tiles. I showered with thongs on just in case. Everything else was clean and the grounds were well maintained. The next morning the lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful. I know the place seems like its in the middle of no mans land but the beach is just down the road. You really need to have a car if you are going to stay here. That's pretty much the rule of thumb for any place on the Central Coast though, everything is just spaced out.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 32foreva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Close to all facilities and MOST importantly accommodation RATES are VERY VERY reasonable. Warm and friendly staff who are willing to help in any way. Resort has many facilities including conference rooms and comfortable lounge and entertainment areas. A Chinese restaurant (freestanding) is right next door and offers an excellent range of different Asian cuisines so there is no need to drive anywhere allowing a great night without the need to watch out for the breathalyser. Several strip shopping centers are within a 10 minute drive. AND don't forget the little fruit store just nearby. It provides some of the best and cheapest fruit and veg i have found anywhere. Would definitely recommend this Hotel/resort.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We booked a courtyard room and were told it was enclosed and pet friendly. Upon arrival at 1pm were told it would be an additional $10 if we wanted to book in 1 hour earlier and worst of all, the courtyard room was not enclosed and was more like a tiny patio. We had driven all the way up and were given no apology from the manager. We were very disappointed at the un-professionalism and arrogance.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I am not fussy and having travelled far and wide have stayed in some less than perfect places. If you want a south-east Asian backpacking experience on the Central Coast at the cost of a proper hotel room then stay here, otherwise do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere.

I needed a room as I was running a half-marathon at the Entrance early the next day and everywhere else was booked out. I saw the bad reviews and thought 'it can't be that bad' but it is.

It's kind if creepy too with comings and goings throughout the night. Plenty of insect life in the rooms and everything is just old, tatty and a bit grubby.

Having said that they did lend us a toaster free of charge (old, tatty and a bit grubby) and the TV worked fine. Did not risk the Lantern restaurant but it's cooking odours permeate the premises.

Stay away if you can.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nathan6406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wamberal
2.2 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,079 reviews
5.9 mi away
Quality Inn The Willows
Quality Inn The Willows
#5 of 5 in Gosford
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Gosford
Ibis Budget Gosford
#3 of 5 in Gosford
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Forresters Beach Resort
Forresters Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Forresters Beach
76 reviews
2.5 mi away
Terrigal Sails Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Resort

Address: 871 The Entrance Rd, Wamberal, New South Wales 2260, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wamberal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wamberal
Price Range: £67 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Apollo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing