We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility with friendliness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tranquility with friendliness”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

A place to relax by the bay surrounded by the best Australian flora and fauna can offer. Greg and Jan are excellent hosts and have created a haven of regeneration. Breakfast is supplied enabling it to be had at your convenience.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lifexplored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodsieShoalhaven, Owner at By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
Thanks John and Sue. Much appreciated. Hope you had a good trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in apartment #2 very well equipped with all basic items including hot plates, fridge, microwave,electric blankets and a good and efficient reverse cycle air con.
Breakfast provisions left at the door at 8am were ample and of good quality.
We could do our laundry after 7 days on the road and our host was good enough to bring in the washing from the clothes line when they were dry as we were on a boat cruise finding dolphins. We were very fortunate that our host gave us a discount voucher for the cruise which made it great value and a very memorable experience spotting 50 to 60 dolphins. We highly recommend this B & B and would definitely return if we were in the area again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cl069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our two nights here. Greg and Jan make you feels at "home" and go out of their way to ensure you have everything you desire. We placed our order each night and breakfast was delivered for us to cook ourself the next morning. Food quality was wonderful; room was very modern and clean; location was perfect. Greeted daily by local kangaroos. I would highly recommend any couple stay here and I would stay again in a heartbeat!.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We spent a wonderful Easter at this upmarket B&B. The apartments were very roomy, modern and fitted out with all that you would need. Greg & Jan were fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome. The sunsets were amazing, the beaches were beautiful and pristine and there was an abundance of wildlife with kangaroos visiting most mornings and evenings and a black cockatoo chewing pine cones in the tree in the back yard. I haven't mentioned the views yet which were absolutely lovely overlooking the inlet. Having never been to Jervis Bay previously I fell in love with the area and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sideways12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Jan and Greg are wonderful welcoming hosts.
They provided a wealth of information on the local area, pointing us in the right direction for great walks, pub lunches, restaurants, golf and dolphin watching.
The accommodation is self contained, spacious with everything we needed.
Definitely a place we wish to return to.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friendsinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We just spent 4 great days at this upmarket B&B in the Jarvis Bay area. Jan and Greg are fantastic hosts and the apartments were lovely with everything you would need. The sunsets were a highlight as was the local wildlife. It was a really excellent way to spend Easter with close friends.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie1724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Arrived to a warm welcome by Jan who was kind enough to tell us more about the area. I haven't been to the Jervis Bay area in about a decade and it was refreshing to know that the beaches are still as pristine and secluded as ever.

The breakfast selection was wide. Be mindful that the bacon slices on the South Coast are larger than that in Sydney. Ask for three slices, not six. It was more than enough for two people. Fruit was freshly cut everyday and the bread was homemade.

We stayed in the Greenfields apartment and it was very well kept. King sized bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. I personally think that there should be an exhaust fan above the stove area. Due to poor weather, we were unable to make use of the BBQ, so a lot of our cooking was done indoors. Although I love the smell of bacon, I had to open up all the windows and doors to move the smoke and smell out of the apartment for fear that we would set off the smoke alarm. A portable clothes airer would have been nice but we made do by hanging our damp towels and clothes on chairs.

We had neighbours on either side of our apartment. We bumped into them on occasion and they were very nice. We couldn't hear any conversations through the doors, just the occasional action movie. The wet weather kept us indoors but still head to the beaches... you're going to get wet anyway.

I cannot stress enough how kind and hospitable Greg and Jan are. They work hard to maintain the place and they make you feel so at home. The area is so quiet and there is a good sense of community among the locals. Speaking of local, during your stay, you must give the local pizzeria a try. It's just down the road from the B&B. Apologies, I forgot the name but there's a menu in the apartment (it's white with blue text). We tried a large House Special with garlic bread. It was delicious. The pizza had a thin, crispy base with just the right amount of topping. If you're feeling super lazy, you can have it delivered but it's only about a 10-15min stroll or 2min drive from the apartment.

We returned home yesterday after our three night stay with heavy hearts. We really enjoyed the chilled, laid-back lifestyle of the South Coast and are already missing Jan's hospitality and Greg's sport stories. I have no hesitation recommending By the Beach B&B to my family and friends. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluJayC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanctuary Point
3.8 mi away
Dolphin Shores Hotel
Dolphin Shores Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay n Basin Lodge
Bay n Basin Lodge
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
The Edgewater Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Sanctuary Point
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
Dolphin Sands Jervis Bay
#2 of 6 in Huskisson
151 reviews
5.6 mi away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
260 reviews
5.8 mi away
Huskisson Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments

Property: By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments
Address: 260 Greville Ave, Sanctuary Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Jervis Bay > Sanctuary Point
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sanctuary Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your By The Beach B & B Self-Contained Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing