We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it, would highly recommend!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Penas Arriba
Ranked #1 of 1 Lon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We took the Brittany ferry to Santander in May 2010, then travelled just over an hour along the coast and along an amazing valley road lined with towering rocky cliffs to Lon on the edge of the Picos de Europa National Park. This family run small hotel, bar and restaurant is situated in a very friendly rural village, with an amazing view down a leafy valley. Our room was beautifully decorated with doors opening out onto the flower-lined balcony. I cannot speak highly enough of the AMAZING food served in the restaurant downstairs. It is local, wholesome fare, served with cheese and honey produced in the village. It is also expected that you sample the delicious wines and liqueurs brewed by the hotel owner himself!!!! It says a lot that every night we dined, we were joined by other english tourists staying in the area, this place has a great reputation. The nearby town of Potes has lovely restaurants (if you want a change from the hotel) and many facilities. Definitely not to be missed is the cable car ride up the mountain at Fuente De, just up the road. Also worth a visit are the coast town of San Vicente de la Barquera and the Parque de Cabarceno, a massive zoological park housed in a quarry in Obregon, near Santander. There are also many walking trails around the beautiful rugged countryside, though a knowledge of spanish is essential for directions/instructions as you wouldn't want to get lost!
Be warned, the owners do not speak a lot of english, and we were only beginner speakers of Spanish, so we were saved by the presence of the hotel's Russian manager/waiter who spoke english among a number of languages, and we able to help us communicate with the owners.
Altogether a lovely, authentic, adventurous, off-the-beaten track experience!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach8981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 135 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las vistas las aportan las habitaciones superiores, las nuestras eran laterales (de dos camas)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank javquiros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandretamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Que prueben en otro hotel de Lon,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: La 105 tenía vistas a la montaña
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose Ignacio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank 87mana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lon
0.7 mi away
Posada Las Espedillas
Posada Las Espedillas
#1 of 2 in Camaleno
35 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
761 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hostal Remona
Hostal Remona
#1 of 2 in Espinama
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Infantado Hotel
Infantado Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ojedo
208 reviews
1.7 mi away
Posada Laura
Posada Laura
#1 of 2 in Turieno
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Casona de Baro
La Casona de Baro
#1 of 4 in Camaleno
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Penas Arriba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Penas Arriba

Address: Lon s/n, 39588 Lon, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Lon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lon
Price Range: £38 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are at the foot of the Picos de Europa, in the Valley of Camaleno. The hotel, built in a style of stone and wood , typical of the Cantabrian mountain, has 15 modern and full-equipped rooms with private bathroom and spectacular mountain views. We are in an ideal place to visit the main attractions of the area as Potes, Fuente De and its cable car or Santo Toribio de Liebana place. In the sourrondings of our hotel you can make many mountain routes of great beauty and of different levels. Another of the strengths of our inn in our restaurant where we cook dishes of Cantabrian gastronomy as "Cocido Lebaniego", cheeses, meats like lamb, pork or beef and various fish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Penas Arriba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing