We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Staff in a Great Location”
Review of Hotel Urune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Urune
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Muxika
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel and Staff in a Great Location”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The owner and staff exemplify the wonderful Basque hospitality while providing exceptional service. This is an old farmhouse in a gorgeous rural setting that was very well renovated - the rooms and common areas retain the old world charm with tasteful modern touches and additions. The bathrooms are modern, the beds are very comfortable and the owner provided us with ergonomic pillows upon request. Breakfast and dinner were well done and whole fish a la plancha were provided by the owner when we asked ahead of time. They even set up a table for us outside. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    25
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
60
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Elegant, rural, tasteful and absolutely beautiful place. So relaxing. Room 14 excellent with 2 kids- it has a double bed and 2 twins. My kids played soccer in the field. Breakfast is okay- not the best I've had but certainly worth getting to not leave in the morning. We drove to the coast and hiked the hermitage San Juan de Getxxxxxx (can't remember the Basque name- but it's cool). I was considering staying in Mundaka and so glad we didn't- we drove through it and it was fairly uncharming, loud, cramped.

The beds are kind of hard- like almost everywhere I have been to in Spain.

Room Tip: Room 14 great for travel with kids- two level with double and 2 twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank descalzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Urune provides the perfect location to relax and unwind in a calm and quiet setting high in the Basque hills. Wonderful to return to after a day's sightseeing in Bilbao, Vitoria or San Sebastián. Rooms are well designed and the food suggests simple yet delicious home-cooking. I cannot recommend Urune too highly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartland, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Hotel Urune. We could not have liked it more. The location is fantastic on an agricultural hillside just south of Guernica, the town boomed by Franko in 1937 and the inspiration for the famous Picasso painting. The views from the hotel and along the small road that leads up the hillside are marvelous. The building is a handsome old stone farmhouse which has been thoroughly and attractively renovated and modernized. Our room, number 11, was on the second floor (by American standard way of counting levels) in the corner with windows on two walls and attractive views from both. The beds are new and excellent and the bathroom is comfortable, clean and has lots of hot water. Breakfast was somewhat typical of hotel food, but certainly good. The manager/owner, Alberto, was great, giving us good advice about long walks in the countryside, including one that took us to the top of a nearby mountain for a local celebration of Basque nationalism. While on that walk we had dinner in a small mountain town. The restaurant is named Gorozika and the meal was excellent. Overall our stay at Hotel Urune and a few days stay in Bilbao at Mirohotel gave us a very favorable and memorable experience, one that we would gladly repeat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed one night in the suite which was very comfortable, with views over the mountains. Everyone was helpful and genuinely friendly which combined with a great location meant for a relaxing experience. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dominic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Although this hotel is not the easiest to find (SatNav at the ready) the search is very worthwhile. The owner and staff are very welcoming and the room myself and wife occupied on the first floor was of good size and very clean. Disappointing that the tv was not set up to receive English channels, which when it's wet outside, (and in November it often is) would have been appreciated. The meals were very well prepared, presented and plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very stylish hotel, thoughtfully and expensively renovated with wonderful staff and views; peaceful, great views; very good breakfasts to the sound of cow bells. Go. Its a haven and only a 25 minute drive to Bilbao; or even better: 20 minutes to Azurmendi!

Room Tip: they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HamishBru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muxika
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aldori Landetxea
9.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio Urgoiti
9.0 mi away
Apartamentos Mundaka
Apartamentos Mundaka
#1 of 3 in Mundaka
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hotel Gametxo
Hotel Gametxo
#1 of 2 in Ibarrangelu
114 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Katxi
Hotel Katxi
#1 of 1 in Morga
66 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Zubieta
Hotel Zubieta
#1 of 5 in Lekeitio
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urune

Property: Hotel Urune
Address: Barrio Txakale 8, 48392 Muxika, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Muxika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Muxika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Urune 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Urune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing